We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down”
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #88 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Olde world charm, huge hotel room compared to some. Free wifi that seems to work! (It's a bonus!!!!)

That's where the positives stop....
Aircon just seems ineffective. Perhaps it's all the dust? Too high on the wall for me to attempt a remedy! Tried to sleep at 28c....
Lots of minor damage to the hallway and room. Tired cupboards that wobble when you place anything on them (placed my case against it to stop it from collapsing). Old TV, couldn't watch USB stuff on it, as it's CRT
Use of fridge for personal items not possible unless you pay the 3000p deposit for the minibar.
No ice dispenser
No water dispenser - now this one is important as you cannot drink the tap water without boiling it first, there's no jug, no ice and no access to the fridge, so you are stuck with their suggestion.... Call room service and pay...
Mmmmmmmmmm
ALL other hotels we have stayed with in Russia have at least had a fridge you can use in room and water dispensers! Not really good enough especially with no ice, no air con that worked and only choice - paying!

Staff have reasonable knowledge of English, however mention Ice and they screw their face up at you....

We got a room at the end of a very long hallway. Leave the lift then walk a further 5 minutes on the same floor to your room. Thought this may have made it a quiet room.... Nope.... If double glazed then still noisey.... Loud cars, motorcycles, etc... Add to heat of room and a good nights sleep is not really possible in mid summer....

There is better available... Arbat House we stayed in at beginning of trip with excellent service, although they ran out of water on the last day....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rudo1ph72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. We appreciate your comments, and hope that you will give us another chance to be of service.

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

You would have read about how centrally located this hotel is from everything that a tourist needs to see in Moscow. That's very true. But the street also has a couple of great restaurants - try them out!
As for the hotel, it looks like it has not been updated since it was built. It is perfectly adequate and functions well. But the fit-out is very old, the carpets in the room a bit tired and the furnishings look like something from your grandma's house. That aside, the staff were friendly (for Russians) and polite. They even gave me free Wifi and a packed breakfast when we had an early check out.
Overall, a perfectly adequate hotel, clean and comfortable if you turn a blind eye to the dated furnishings and fit outs.
If you want to use the in-room save, you need to ask for the safe key from reception. Same goes with ironing - there is a special ironing room on the 4th floor which you need to get a key from Reception to use.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Budapest hotel. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention.
We value and appreciate that you have chosen our hotel, and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely, Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Usually stay in Moscow on business in the Milan Hotel or Holiday Inn. These are quite expensive. This time stayed in Budapest hotel to cut down travel time to meetings. Very central. 20 mins maximum to Red Square by foot. 10 minutes to the metro. Very cheap for central Moscow. The whole hotel is tired and in need of an up lift. My room was okay. Small but functional. Sealant and grout in bathroom dirty and old so could do with a freshen up. Aircon in room which was good, Breakfast okay. Had all the basics. If your rate excludes breakfast do not pay. It is not worth the 800 RUB they charge. Overall the hotel was reasonable value for money.

Big down for me was the staff. I found them not particularly helpful. When I first tried to enter my room it was clear the door had been double locked. I had to get reception to send security up. He unlocked the door but then insisted on me giving him a tip. The only way I could get him out of the room was to pay him 50RUB. If he had provided a service I would not mind but he was simply putting right an error on the part of the hotel. For this reason I have given the hotel a rating of 2. Would otherwise be 3.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest!
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service. We provide. We hope that you will give us another chance to be of service.

Sincerely, Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Bolshoi Theater is just 5 minutes walk from the Hotel and 10 minutes to the Red Square, Kremlin, St. Basil's Church, Gum Shopping Center. It's clean but needs some refurbushings. For breakfasts it offers assorted kinds of breads, warm & cold cuts, fruits, yogurts & juices. Accessible to tourists spots.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mismhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ksenia M, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Budapest Hotel.

Your comment is very important to us and we do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Budapest Hotel and making your stay most enjoyable.

Kind regards
Ksenia Marshavina
Budapest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is right by the Bolshoi, a short talk to the Kremlin and Red Square and has pretty good transport links. It's in a fairly quiet street so you feel a little away from it.

Reception staff were friendly. The porter was reaching an age where I felt bad handing over my luggage to carry (I wanted to help him!) and he didn't speak much English - but was perfectly friendly.

On the other hand the facilities brought new meaning to the word average. The rooms are large. The carpets tired and tatty. The curtains reluctant to close. It might have been glamorous sometime around 1959 outside the USSR or 1981 inside the USSR and perhaps if it was given a deep clean could have its glamour restored. Breakfast was edible but absolutely no more than that (and no less either). The bar was like the set of an eighties TV pub drama but bereft of punters. The corridors and rooms a strange mix of Soviet stone and Marriott-wannabe carpets with the standard USSR shiny silky salmon curtains. Somehow, though, it did have a little, tiny bit of charm. Not enough to make me wish to come back, but definitely enough to ensure I had no regrets about staying here.

It was fairly clean - and a plus in old hotels - there WERE enough power sockets in sensible locations to charge phone and laptop.

It's the kind of place you can enjoy if you take the trip relatively slowly and downmarket and don't have peripheral stress. Whatever you do, don't combine a glam five star with this hotel as you'll feel you made a mistake. Don't do a rushed business trip through here otherwise you'll get frustrated by averageness. Take it easy, lap up the feeling and you could enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ksenia M, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us.
We are sorry to know that our service was not at the level of your expectations. We are constantly on research and improvement of our service and would be glad to see you again in the Budapest Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ksenia Marshavina
Budapest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Moscow, 5 minutes for Kremlin and Bolshoi Theater. I had a big room, with a big bed. The carpet was rather dirty; the windows were wooden with flaky paint. The noise from the street made problems in the night. The bathroom was clean with a good bath. The waiter service at the breakfast was excellent, food in a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogdanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ksenia M, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you so much for choosing Budapest Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will share your opinion with all relevant staff members.
Please, accept our apologizes for the inconvenience caused by the noise in the street. Budapest Hotel is situated in the centre of Moscow, and Moscow is a city with a full of live, and sometimes we aren’t able to control the noise in the street.

Sincerely yours,
Ksenia Marshavina
Budapest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights as part of a group tour of the city and then St Petersburg afterwards. The reviews I have read are largely unanimous and I concur as well. To be fair our room was a corner suite and therefore quite spacious. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the TV OK, and the bathroom quite acceptable. The weather was hot and the air conditioner worked well.
We only had breakfast which was fine, a decent selection of hot and cold..
We didn't use the bar, or the attached hotel for evening meals or spa fitness facilities.
The décor is old fashioned, wood furnishings, and brown/cream wall coverings. We agreed we wouldn't want to stay in those surroundings for a week say. However the main thing is that we found the hotel clean and comfortable.
Unless you stay at the Four Seasons, Marriott, Metropole, Ritz Carlton or other worldwide hotel groups you won't be closer to Red Square and Kremlin than the Hotel Budapest. I was at these destinations in 10/15 minutes..

Room Tip: Our room was 520 which is a front room overlooking the street. The street has one or two bars and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us. We very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely yours,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Kamergerskiy Hotel
Kamergerskiy Hotel
#92 of 327 in Moscow
108 reviews
Tverskaya
Peter I
Peter I
#36 of 327 in Moscow
656 reviews
Tverskaya
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
#89 of 327 in Moscow
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Godunov Hotel
#121 of 327 in Moscow
144 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard by Marriott Moscow City Center
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#77 of 327 in Moscow
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Address: Petrovskiye Linii St., 2, Moscow 127051, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £62 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budapest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Hotel is excellently located in the very heart of Moscow, just steps away from the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters, Red Square, the Kremlin museums. The hotel was built in 1876 by the architect Freidenberg and now it is a cultural value of Moscow city. The Hotel has 116 rooms, including 51 Standard Single, 20 Standard Double, 37 Deluxe and 8 Premium Suite. Each of them is individually designed and decorated. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioned, a bathtub or a shower, telephone, satellite TV, a mini bar, safe box, a hairdryer, Internet access. All rooms are 100 % non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing