We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check out the reviews, you get exactly what you expect. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #81 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check out the reviews, you get exactly what you expect. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

TLP Kumar says my review experience practically word for word - very accurate. However I would clarify the hotels response to use of the pool - we were given the impression we could use the facilities but were asked for 400Rub which we refused to pay.
Overall a good hotel, but could do with a freshening up.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and comments from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. I would like to clarify, that all guests of Budapest hotel have free access to fitness center of Peter I hotel in weekends, in weedays it will cost you 400 rubles per person/day. We very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    215
    154
    46
    23
See reviews for
61
142
68
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC/Paris
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is located 15 minutes walking from the Red Square and in the middle of a neighborhood hosting a very large numbers of restaurant and bars. Compared to many other hotels around the price are quite correct in particular of one book some time in advance and use internet deals. We stayed here for 10 days and really enjoyed it. The personnel is really helpfull and speaks English and even French. We had a small problem with the AC which was solve quickly. The room are very spacious. Even though the bathtub/plumbery is not completely recent the hotel is clean.
My colleagues who were staying there as well enjoyed it even though one suffered a bit from some noise coming from a club next to her room. The breakfast was ok. We recommand it overall and I believe we will come back next time we pass by Moscow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention.
We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. We look forward to your return visit at Budapest hotel!

Sincerely yours,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friends' selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, I believe. I thought it looked tired from the photos that I had seen somewhere before traveling, but I really enjoyed this hotel, its staff, our room, the breakfast, and amenities. There is a small cafe on the main level with coffee, tea, sodas, beer, but no wine and no hard alcohol. I believe the free wife is in the cafe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention.
We do appreciate your warm feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Budapest hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Budapest Hotel! Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Free WiFi and breakfast were great. The location is really convenient being so close to the Bolshoi and Red Square. The staff were really helpful and friendly making our time spent in Moscow very special!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us. Our staff works hard each day to make sure our guests are well taken care of. We value and appreciate that you have chosen our hotel, and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Best wishes,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Most Hotel options near the Red Square/Kremlin/Bolshoi are 5-star & quite expensive, even by the high Moscow standards. Which is why the Hotel Budapest is a good option for tourists wishing to stay nearby, & is also close to the Metro Station. It is an early 20th-century European palatial building with over 100 decent-sized rooms spread over 5 floors, with a few Suites & even a Conference Hall.
It has a Breakfast Buffet on the 3rd Floor, & two bars, the one on the ground floor Lounge is very convenient to meet guests over a drink or coffee/tea.

The room we got was fairly large, with a small foyer & an attched toilet. There was a window overlooking the street. The Room was furnished with solid wooden furniture including a King-size Bed, a wooden Almirah & a study Table/Chair. The Carpets & Curtains needed changing but were clean enough. There was a Mini-Fridge, a mini-TV with CNN/BBC & other Russian Channels, Hair-Dryer etc. The AC was a blessing as this was peak summer & we were sweating ! There was free WIFi Internet access for 3 days, the access code got from the front desk. No complimentary drinking water or tea service in the room, though. The Bathroom was clean & modern, though the Shower Stall was really small even for non-Russians, & the Mirror had no lamp. There was no shaving mirror either.

Guests have access to the Indoor Pool, Turkish Hammam & Fitness Centre at the adjoining St. Peter's Hotel, on payment. There are several restaurants around the Hotel, so there are ample dining options just outside.

Room Service was patchy, as the phones weren't answered a couple of times when we rang, but pre-ordered morning coffee was served on time. The Breakfast Buffet was decent, with both hot & cold options, & a choice of omelette/scrambled or boiled eggs, with sausages & a variety of breads & fruits. The old Doorman, the barman & the waitresses were all quite helpful, though seemed unsmiling may be because of the language barrier with us.

All in all, a reasonable option for tourists wishing to stay close to the major Moscow sights, even though it would only be 3-star by usual west-European standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to minimise the noise from the Men's Club/Disco on the street at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLP-KUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We highly value views, opinions and comments from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. We are pleased to inform you that all guests of Budapest hotel have free access to fitness center of Peter I hotel in weekends, which you can reach through the 3rd floor of Budapest hotel. We very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfauntie
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were three women staying in Budapest hotel for three nights in late June. We had booked and confirmed a triple room but on arrival it was nowhere to be found, however the front desk people worked really hard, showed us a variety of alternatives none of which was suitable. After an hour they found us the room we had booked. They did handle the problem well but I wish it hadn't happened as we wasted over an hour dealing with the problem. Having said that the hotel was comfortable, clean, well staffed. It is a little "tired" but the location cannot be bettered. A five minute walk to Bolshoi and the exciting pedestrianised areas. A ten minute walk to Kremlin, Red Square, Gum and maybe fifteen minutes to Pushkin Museum.Moscow is expensive but Hotel Budapest does the trick for economy in the perfect location.Breakfasts were plentiful and good. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The Azerbaijan restaurant " Gapashka" on the same street is divine!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sfasuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We certainly apologize for the problems that you experienced on arrival and really appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Olde world charm, huge hotel room compared to some. Free wifi that seems to work! (It's a bonus!!!!)

That's where the positives stop....
Aircon just seems ineffective. Perhaps it's all the dust? Too high on the wall for me to attempt a remedy! Tried to sleep at 28c....
Lots of minor damage to the hallway and room. Tired cupboards that wobble when you place anything on them (placed my case against it to stop it from collapsing). Old TV, couldn't watch USB stuff on it, as it's CRT
Use of fridge for personal items not possible unless you pay the 3000p deposit for the minibar.
No ice dispenser
No water dispenser - now this one is important as you cannot drink the tap water without boiling it first, there's no jug, no ice and no access to the fridge, so you are stuck with their suggestion.... Call room service and pay...
Mmmmmmmmmm
ALL other hotels we have stayed with in Russia have at least had a fridge you can use in room and water dispensers! Not really good enough especially with no ice, no air con that worked and only choice - paying!

Staff have reasonable knowledge of English, however mention Ice and they screw their face up at you....

We got a room at the end of a very long hallway. Leave the lift then walk a further 5 minutes on the same floor to your room. Thought this may have made it a quiet room.... Nope.... If double glazed then still noisey.... Loud cars, motorcycles, etc... Add to heat of room and a good nights sleep is not really possible in mid summer....

There is better available... Arbat House we stayed in at beginning of trip with excellent service, although they ran out of water on the last day....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rudo1ph72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. We appreciate your comments, and hope that you will give us another chance to be of service.

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Budapest hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Peter I
Peter I
#40 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Tverskaya
Kamergerskiy Hotel
Kamergerskiy Hotel
#86 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Tverskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
#58 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Godunov Hotel
#107 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Tverskaya
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
#82 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard Moscow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Property: Budapest Hotel
Address: Petrovskiye Linii St., 2, Moscow 127051, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Budapest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Hotel is excellently located in the very heart of Moscow, just steps away from the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters, Red Square, the Kremlin museums. The hotel was built in 1876 by the architect Freidenberg and now it is a cultural value of Moscow city. The Hotel has 116 rooms, including 51 Standard Single, 20 Standard Double, 37 Deluxe and 8 Premium Suite. Each of them is individually designed and decorated. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioned, a bathtub or a shower, telephone, satellite TV, a mini bar, safe box, a hairdryer, Internet access. All rooms are 100 % non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing