We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moscow Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katerina City Hotel
Ranked #167 of 335 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I feel very comfortable and at home in this hotel. It is clearly professionally managed and the hospitality standards are very high. It authentically conveys a warm and welcoming ambience. The staff are attentive without being obsequious. It is a most pleasant change from the process obsessed artificiality of the big chains. The only critiicism I have is of the airport transfer. It is quite expensive compared to a corporate taxi, therefore my expectation was that I would be conveyed in a reasonably comfortable car rather than a hard riding little hatchback.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have a very pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannamcspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Close to subway (And train station) (about 5 min walk) you can use that train station to get to the airport. make sure you know how to walk because not a lot of russian people speak english.
breakfast really good. lot of choices. Rooms are small but very clean. Free wifi in the hotel. really worth your money. if you sepend some more money you will be closer to the Red Square. But the subway is so cheap so i didn't really care.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m-town2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here in February for a few days and recently returned for a week. The visa support process was made simple and efficient, managed via email, and although we changed our booking a couple of times, this was no problem. The location is excellent; five minutes walk to the Metro and a railway station where you can catch the Aeroexpress straight to Domodedovo airport. I was in Moscow to do research for a book and found many of the staff speak excellent English and were very pleasant and helpful in responding to my questions. I disagree with other reviewers who say the hotel is 'quite far' from Red Square. If you enjoy a thirty minute walk, you can follow the canal, which the hotel overlooks, and you will find the Kremlin easily. In fact, the canal is a really useful navigational tool if you intend to wander around the city. You'll always find yourself back at the Katerina - for a great Honey & Pepper vodka in the bar! Love Moscow. Love the Katerina.

Room Tip: Large rooms have their own saunas - well worth the extra if you are visiting in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiderbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This place combines reasonable rates with the service level close to the western standards. The rooms are small but sufficient. Everything is new and clean. The restaurant is not five star but surely not bad. I stayed overnight only and did not have a chance to check their fitness room, but they do have one. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, a good place to stay if you are in Moscow for business.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AlexD-ROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Considering we're in Moscow, where all hotels are terribily overpriced and can be very upsetting at times, Katerina City Hotel is a good business one. Do not expect a real "4 stars", it is quite simple in fact, and located quite far from the Red Square. If you're in Moscow for usiness, though, I would recommend it: very clean, excellent free wifi in all the areas, restaurant (food is ok) open until 12 pm, bar open all night, very friendly and multilingual service (not so easy to find in Moscow, according to my experience).
I didn't have time to enoy the gym and sauna, so I couldn't say what they are like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalita_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have stayed here before but this is my first review of the place. Hotel is not so new any more and is showing signs of wear. Nevertheless, its well located for a large amount of businesses (not for tourists), has good [small] conference facilities, strong free wifi and efficient staff. Restaurant is ok with a good choice at breakfast. Rooms are a little utilitarian and spartan, towels a little thin. Mini bar (soft drinks|) is free. Room also has a safe. Prices very reasonable for Moscow. All in all a good, few frills business hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Katerina City Hotel and found it a great experience. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and give you advice on all things Moscow. The hotel is spotlessly clean, does a excellent breakfast with plenty for all tastes and the mini bar in the room is a nice touch. After a long day visiting Red Square, The Kremlin and all the other sites its we found it just nice to rest our feet for a while and order some food via room service. There is a good choice on the menu and the local Russian dishes are a must. The location could not be better with Red Square about 30 minutes walk or 2 stops on the Metro which is about 5 minutes walk. Also a train can be caught direct to Domodedovo Airport from the same station for just over £6. We would certainly have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family and next time we visit Moscow we will definitely be staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view over the river and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Peking Hotel
Peking Hotel
#71 of 335 in Moscow
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina City Hotel

Address: Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115114, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#23 Business Hotel in Moscow
#93 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Katerina City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina City Moscow
Hotel Katerina City
Hotel Katerina Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing