We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quiet safe location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katerina City Hotel
Ranked #219 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good quiet safe location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights in this hotel on our first trip to Moscow. Very safe to walk around and hotel on canal side. Free minibar snacks of water, orange juice, chocolate wafers and snacks a nice touch. Also free slippers, toothbrush, razors, body lotion etc on reception to just help yourself, great idea. Grab a free map at reception and enjoy the sights as the metro only 5 minutes away. Huge choice at breakfast. Choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank catcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    316
    99
    16
    5
See reviews for
115
220
92
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great central location and handy for the Metro. It has very friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean and functional. Request a canal view room if possible. Free snacks and water / orange juice in the minibar is a real bonus. The hotel breakfast is also very good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina_Cronstedt, Владелец at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Stephen B,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback! Very glad you found our location convenient, staff - friendly & efficient. Thank you for mentioning our snack-bar and breakfast.

Look forward to welcomng you back!

Best regards,
Natala Sadyrova
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good hotel for Business trips, but not much fun.
Room space is OK, rooms are clean, bed is good. But some details made the stay just decent. Less TV channels were working properly day after day and the AC was very weak.
Breakfast is nice. Restaurant is OK if you can't go out.
The location is interesting if you are working near Paveletsky train station. It's a few minutes walk from the metro and the train station (with a direct link to Domodedovo airport). But otherwise, not much fun places around.
Anyway, it's good value for the money in Moscow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina_Cronstedt, Владелец at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear SergeBlanc,

thank you for the review of the hotel. Great to hear that you found that was good value for the money.
We really had problem with 4 TV channels, but glad to say that it's been solved by now. Please accept my apologies for inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,
Natalia Sadyrova
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms fantastic location at junction of Moscova River and inland waterway
Nice restaurant with excellent service, metro station is a short walk 10 minutes
Ideal location to explore Moscow away from city centre

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Polytechnic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Walking distance (30 mins) from Red Square and 10 mins from the circle line, pleasantly situated on a canal.

Free early check in, good breakfast, good packed lunch.

Sharp and attentive front desk.

Avoid the hotel's egregiously priced in house taxi.

Dine at Dorian Grey - outstanding Italian food.

Room Tip: Road works are a constant in Moscow - avoid road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

No, I know this isn't a "little hotel", but it feels as such (on the positive sense of the term). The lady at the reception was extremely friendly and polite. The colors at the lobby are warm, and there are a few tables to drink or eat something. I had dinner one day, and the food was quite good and the choice pretty big for such a small area.
A few small TV's hanging at the bar, give it kind of "cosy" feeling.
The rooms weren't too big, but big enough, and you get a complimentary drink and a couple of small snacks for free at the minibar
Breakfast was more than decent, and the room shares the same warmth as the rest of the hotel.
The only minor point is the gym. The treadmill is VERY bad. So bad that I managed to "break" it this morning. First of all, it's hard not to slip on the moving belt, then it gives inaccurate speed reading, and after running 30 min at 14,5 km/h (no, I'm sure it wasn't more than 12km for real) it just stopped and a strange smell came out of the device, I guess something broke, so definitely not a hotel for runners
Btw, forgot to mention the location, very good. Relatively close to the center, next to the river and still a quiet street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina_Cronstedt, Управляющий at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Athlet,

thank you very much for such a positive review! Very glad that you found our staff friendly & liked your dinner in the lobby bar.
I am sorry for the situation with treadmill, hope we have it fixed very soon.

Best regards,
Natalia Sadyrova
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days and was overwhelmed with the customer service and hotel itself. Since I am a young adult traveling with my parents, we needed a room large enough for three people. The room we got was practically a "suite", it was so spacious. There was a sliding door separating my room from my parents' room. Each room had its own tv and comfortable bedding. I appreciated having my privacy. The room had incredibly large marble window sills looking out at the famous canal parallel to the hotel. It was a beautiful sight both in the morning and the evening! The room had plush robes and slippers ready for us to change into when we arrived. Also, there is a mini fridge stocked with snacks and drinks free of change. They'll even restock it. Such a nice touch! The breakfast was delicious and kept us full until mid afternoon...we didn't even need to stop for lunch. The location is I'm a quieter area which was nice. The metro is within walking distance. I feel so lucky to have stayed here :) If my family or I ever plan another trip to Moscow, we'll definitely be staying at the Katerina city hotel! Don't miss you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina_Cronstedt, Управляющий at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Alex K,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! Glad you liked the free mini bar as well as the breakfast.
Thank you for your detailed review, hope to see you again soon!

Natalia Sadyrova
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Zamoskvorechye
Mercure Moscow Paveletskaya
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina City Hotel

Property: Katerina City Hotel
Address: Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115114, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#21 Family Hotel in Moscow
#23 Business Hotel in Moscow
#94 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Katerina City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina City Moscow
Hotel Katerina City
Hotel Katerina Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing