We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropol Hotel Moscow : Hotel Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Ranked #12 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Metropol Hotel Moscow : Hotel Heaven”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This simply is an exquisite hotel with splendid service especially from guest relations sherpas, Yana and Anastasia and the servers connected to the coffee lounge (bar). Staff are highly, trained, have great English skills and are immeasurably hospitable in a way that is friendly, non-intrusive and culturally sensitive. As a frequent user of the coffee lounge area, splendidly decorated with a neo-classical look steeped in marble, added with dashes of oriental central Asian trimmings, I feel like some kind of potentate given the great service and this glorious ambiance. It was even further appreciated when I stayed a few nights. The room was lovely, and the spacious passage ways to it made one appreciate the roomy way in which the hotel was originally built a hundred years plus ago that so many modern hotels are unable to duplicate. The restaurant is also an another experience out of a fairyland story. You need to see it to believe it. It is majestic.I also enjoyed the pool and sauna. I am a critical thinker who is not afraid to be direct about what is unsatisfactory. So I appreciate that some of the readers of this review will feel that I have been hypnotized by staff or think I might be an overly complimentary person. I assure you that I am not. If you like the very best modern service with a nice classical touch and great decor of a hotel perched between the Bolshoi theatre and the Kremlin,, then come to the Metropol in Moscow. It is hotel heaven.

Room Tip: Make sure you are n the quiet side f a light and music show is on that evening and you are an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions here on TripAdvisor. We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your kind compliments, it's always a pleasure to know that our guests recognize our efforts.

Looking very much forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,016
    662
    167
    65
    31
See reviews for
428
739
267
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Metropol was a great experience which prompted me to finally sign up for tripadvisor to write a review. It was beautifully decorated like a winter wonderland. I had read in a review that the rooms were small, but I thought it was quite large and very comfortable. The location is perfect and the staff is terrific. Especially concierges Tatiana and Anna were exceptional. They were able to score me a ticket to the Nutcracker at the Bolshoi on Christmas Eve and a very reasonable price. They also assisted me with getting train tickets (delivered to me) for my next leg of my trip and making a hotel reservation. First Class all the way, I would highly recommend this hotel. The only negative was that it was hard to enjoy the pretty lounge at night because both nights there was a private party in the restaurant and the music was very loud.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel Moscow! Our wonderful concierges Anna and Tatiana were thrilled to read your warm compliments dedicated to them. Thank you very much!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Never experienced such a smiling, loving and caring hotel personnel :-) genuine smiles from the personnel made my week in Moscow an extraordinary fun experience and made me feel at home!

Thanks for a great stay!
Martin

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your gracious words of praise which make me feel even more proud of our wonderful staff members! It is always the great honor to read such a great reviews, thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My stay at the Hotel Metropol was the best hotel experience I have had in 30 years of business and leisure travel. That is saying a lot since I am both a frequent business traveler and when it comes to leisure travel comforts, a bit of a princess. Superb location, service, and facility.

The hotel is in the perfect location: directly across the street from the Bolshoi Theater, adjacent to Red Square, and a 10 to 15 minute stroll (in heels!) to the Kremlin Palace. I had what is classified as a standard room and it was spacious and quite lovely. The hotel feels Russian - and there were all kinds of surprises like a photo gallery of famous guests. But modern amenities were first rate. Best quality wireless internet connection I have had outside the USA. Restaurants and lounge (with special drinks and casual food - delicious) were wonderful. I recommend the blinis.

I was here in December and the entire lobby was decorated like a winter fairy tale. And the service is #1. Guest services (the lovely Nina Fabolotskaya) gave me a personal hotel tour at check in, took photos of me in the winter wonderland, and I guess from my passport information knew it was birthday & gave me a lovely card and a Russian doll! Concierge services were outstanding as well. For example, they called around and found a health club with a 25 meter pool close by where I could get a day pass and swim laps.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel Moscow! We are thrilled that you had such a great time and are grateful for your compliments. It is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with remarkable service and anticipate your needs, as these are two of our primary goals.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights, standard room very adequate & comfortable, Unlike some Russian city hotels this one has true 5star aspects .Particularly the dining. Make sure you get breakfast in the room deal, true 5 star, champs, cavier & harpist at breakfast.
However the best point is location, a few minutes walk to Bolshoi Ballet, just across from Red Square, just over road from shopping centre & many quality food outlets. Very close to Red Square metro.
Enjoyed our stay & staff were very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your impressions f your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel! We appreciate your kind compliments about our location, breakfast and of course our wonderful staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the Metropol Hotel, and I can only say: Wooaah! This is a well located hotel (5 min walking distance to the Red Square, more if you take pictures every second) and has an amazing interior. We had a superior room, it was big, and well arranged. The hotel itself is beautiful, and being a couple of weeks away of Christmas/New Year, it was "fairy tale" decorated. As mentioned by other reviews, the staff is very helpful from the reception to the concierge, including the bar. The plus was the surprise birthday present to my wife: a Matryoshka doll, so sweet. Finally some little things as the free water bottles, postal services and registration service (for the immigration) make the difference.
Some tips: Check the 3rd and 4rd floor for the pictures of various personalities (my personal favorite, being French, was Depardieu & Pierre Richard, idols from my youth) and if you can have sneaky pick at the Boyarsky Zal, a beautiful hall with a Bear!
If we have the opportunity to go back to Moscow, we will stay there without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and of course for rating us with five stars! It was a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Metropol fairy tale and therefore eager to return!

Looking very much forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We just spent 4 nights at metropol and we are so excited to return later in the week after a trip to st Pete. We are from Chicago, have never been to Russia and came to visit a friend working in Moscow. To start, the location is fabulous. llThe staff at hotel metropol- starting with Nina- effortlessly made us feel at home- like an oasis.. We loved our room- old world elegance with a renovated bathroom, great bed, great views. Little things like providing complementary bottled water as needed, having our Nescafé in the morning made a big difference in our leisurely starting the day. The concierge was awesome helping us figure out the logistics of getting to the train station this morning and boarding the train. It exceeded our expectations- the service and value can't be found at this price in Chicago or New York. It rocks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this extremely flattering review and for rating us with 5 stars! I was very glad to know that you had such a fabulous stay at the Metropol and still keep warm memories of your first trip to Russia. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff, it's always a great pleasure to know that our guests recognize our efforts.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Moscow and to the Metropol Hotel!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol Moscow

Property: Hotel Metropol Moscow
Address: Teatralny Proezd, 2, Moscow 109012, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Moscow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Business Hotel in Moscow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropol Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five-star historical hotel in the very heart of Moscow. Maximum proximity to the main sightseeings of the city: Bolshoy Theatre, TSUM, GUM, Red Square and others. The incredible beauty of the exterior of the building.'Metropol' Hotel is a hotel-museum with 800 units of antiques in halls and suites. One of the most beautiful restaurants of the city - 'Metropol' restaurant - is located here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropol Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Moscow
Metropol Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing