We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Moscowian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Ranked #11 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“The real Moscowian experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

All the world that counts has been here and there must be a reason. The reason is that looks like a Royal palace, elegant and classy, most of the people sleeping here charged their bill on their company and the place is really few steps from the beating heart of Moscow. The desk services (concierge + reception) and the security are not so friendly especially the security service staff treating you like a dangerous criminal. Rooms, corridors and the morning breakfast are amazing. At night there are "easy girls" standing near the elevator approaching every male customers, shouldn't they be stopped by security or there is a "joint venture"?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierluigi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Pierluigi O,
I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your last stay with us in October, 2013.
As you probably know there was a management team change in 2013 and the hotel's reconstruction will start in the nearest future. Since the last year we did a lot to improve the quality of service and to bring our hotel to the new level. Security company was aslo changed and for the moment we protect the privacy of our guests from certain type of visitors you mentioned in your review.
I truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back at the Metropol so you could see these positive changes yourself.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at a.fedotkin@metmos.ru

Kind regards,
Andrey Fedotkin
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    663
    167
    65
    31
See reviews for
429
739
267
1,116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well,actually it is in the square next to Red Square ,in fact only five minutes walk to the Kremlin wall. The location is perfect for sightseeing and also just a few minutes from the subway train station, The hotel is a kind of living museum with a fascinating history.
The staff here are first rate as is the buffet breakfast. You will be looked after like a new born babe by beautiful,friendly and efficient hostesses.
Our room,though a little dated of course and a bit musty was spacious with an interesting view .
Fortunately smoking is no longer permitted so the room odour will improve with time. Minor point.
Moscow is a wonderful city to visit and I would definitely love to stay here again..

Room Tip: Higher rooms looking towards the Kremlin wall or other interesting places are recommended but be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FossilInfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for rating us with five stars! I am happy to know that you appreciated the hotel's location, view from your room, buffet breakfast, our staff and service. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the overall experience however I am sorry to know there were few issues that did not meet your expectations.
If you have any questions or special requests for your future stay with us please don't hesitate to contact us at gr@metmos.ru
I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Metropol Hotel!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, really close to the Red square, metro line and wonderful restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I definitely would stay there next time I came back to Moscow.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank virgilio_caetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for rating us with five stars! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, the staff and our service.
If you have any questions or special requests for your future stay with us please don't hesitate to contact us at gr@metmos.ru
Looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The third time I've been in Moscow, but first in the Metropol Hotel. The receptionists were great and very helpful, since this was my first time not in business. I'll definatly come back! Thanks for the good times!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Leonardo,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure for me to know that you had such a great time with us, that you enjoyed your stay and therefore eager to return. If you have any questions or special requests for your future stay with us please don't hesitate to contact us at gr@metmos.ru
Looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, with great histories.. The hotel suposed to be non smoking, but there are still many residues left behind. The towels are hanging right behind the toilet bowl, I guess they didn't change them if the towel were intact, so the last tenant's smell will rest in the towel, that's include the bad cigarette smell. Nevertheless, don't know how it penetrates, the wall mount hair dryer has strong cigarettes smell, do you like your hair perfumed with cigarette? Maybe you can ask Metropol how.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Silverwood0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to wrire and post your review. I would like to express my sincere apology for the inconvenience which you experienced during your recent stay. I have already shared your comments with our team and we will do our best to fully satisfy your expectations during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at j.peretrukhina@metmos.ru.
I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to improve our standing, with you, and impress you by visiting us again.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the Metropol for a short visit, just a few meters away from the Bolschoi theatre, from the Red Square and Kremlin. It is easily accessible within 1 hour 15mn from the 2 main airports via Express trains and metro connections.
I can highly recommend this property for travellers who are looking for a more authentic hospitality experience than what you would receive in the majors international hotel brands.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_in_style1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Metropol Hotel during your recent stay in Moscow and for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind review and it will be pleasure to share it with all our staff members.
Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've stayed at the Metropol Moscow a few times now. It's an older hotel, had it's great times during the cold war it seems, but it still is nice.

The location is great, a five minute walk from Red Square, St. Basil Church, Zoom (shopping), etc.
There is a nice little bar in the bottom of the hotel.

I personally like being there, it somehow gives you that atmosphere of it's historic glory. Prices seemed fine too whenever I stayed.

If you don't expect something super luxurious, but want to be in the center, then this is for you.
I'll stay there again when in Moscow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idealizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for rating us with five stars. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and therefore eager to return.
If you have any questions or special requests for your future stay with us please don't hesitate to contact us at gr@metmos.ru
Looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol Moscow

Property: Hotel Metropol Moscow
Address: Teatralny Proezd, 2, Moscow 109012, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Moscow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Business Hotel in Moscow
#11 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropol Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five-star historical hotel in the very heart of Moscow. Maximum proximity to the main sightseeings of the city: Bolshoy Theatre, TSUM, GUM, Red Square and others. The incredible beauty of the exterior of the building.'Metropol' Hotel is a hotel-museum with 800 units of antiques in halls and suites. One of the most beautiful restaurants of the city - 'Metropol' restaurant - is located here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropol Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Moscow
Metropol Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing