We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD FASHION AND GLAMOUR HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OLD FASHION AND GLAMOUR HOTEL”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel is full of old fashioned glamour with marble floors and early 20th century furnitures. The location is excellent at walking distance from Red Square, the Kremlin and the major shops. If you have the possibility, upgrade to the Kremlin view : unforgettable ! With the dobble windows system you will never heard the heavy traffic. You have to be prudent with the bathroom if you use the jacuzzi, it may be slippery. The staff are efficient, helpful and polite.
Overall the experience was excellent and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angeltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your resent visit and for your review. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

With best regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    377
    122
    40
    26
See reviews for
217
459
123
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel was amazing, it's location, the staff service and breakfast choice.
OK, it was one of the more expensive hotels that we have stayed in, however, it was perfect for visiting all of the sites, the staff members, from the receptionist, bell person, concierge and doorman, were so helpful and polite, it made for the perfect stay.

Everything is within walking distance and there are so many delicious restaurants near to this hotel, if you do not want to pay a higher price to eat, then take a walk down the road to one of the many restaurants near by. We had booked a room with a view of the Kremlin & Red Square and it WAS worth every penny.

Thank you to all of the staff concerned.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view, it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel has the perfect location in Moscow. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous.

I used one of my suite night SPG awards and overall the room was nice, however there was no complementary coffee or any way to warm water for tea.
According to all the signs I was in a non smoking floor, however the minute you step out of the elevator you could smell the heavy cigarette smoke.

Overall the experience was excellent. My idea of providing feedback is for you improve on those areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone as you could not ask for a better location in Moscow.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the street but never heard the heavy traffic. It was nice to have a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We highly appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in Hotel National.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

When it comes to decent hotels in Moscow, we didn’t have much choice. Since the city is very expensive, the hotels are not cheap either. The National, however, had a competitive price, therefore we didn’t hesitate to try it. Also, who wouldn’t like to try a hotel in which Lenin himself used to stay.

After a very troublesome and complicated arrival (caused by the city), we were greeted by professional staff (who, unlike other people in Moscow, spoke English), explained everything and shown the way to our room.

The public spaces in the hotel look rather nice – the antique furniture, statues and the grand staircase create the right flair that you expect from the National. Although the furnishing is old, it’s still well preserved and you don’t notice any signs of wear unless you look very closely.

Since we previously communicated with the hotel staff, we were promised to get a nice room with a lot of sunlight. And that is exactly what was given to us. The traditionally furnished room had a wall-to-wall window and was located on the highest floor. We didn’t have red square view - the room overlooked the neighboring Ritz-Carlton and a bit of the Tverskaya street. Furnishing looked very luxurious and grand, the size was more than enough and the bed and linens were amazingly comfortable. What amazed me the most, however, was the soundproofing. Apart from the bedroom and bathroom, there was a little entrance hall separating the room from the main hallway. It means there are 2 doors between you and the hallway guaranteeing that no noise will disturb you. Also, the double windows let absolutely no noise in, although Tverskaya is probably the busiest street in the whole city. The bathroom was also very nice, it could look a bit more elegant, though. All in all, the room was excellent.

The hotel also offers a little pool and whirlpool on the top floor, both of which offer a great way to relax after exploring the city. There is also quite a nice view from the pool, so the whole spa is an enjoyable place.

Last but not least, I would also like to comment on the location. As many other reviewers suggest, it is perfect. I think there is no better location for a hotel in Moscow. The National is right in the middle of everything. It’s just across the street from the Red Square (meaning the Kremlin, St. Basil’s Cathedral, GUM and some other sights) and the subway station is right next to the entrance. If you don’t have much time to see the city and central location is therefore very important to you, look no further.

Unfortunately, the only really good thing about our stay in Russia was the National. It was the only place where we felt good and welcome. I’m sure that in case we visit Moscow again, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackkk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. It's well located for both Red Square and local Metro stations.

The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds, curtains that create a dark room and all of the rooms that I have stayed in have been near silent (the three criteria that I have for a good sleep!).

Breakfast isn't cheap but there is a wide selection of dishes, including eggs cooked to order and when was the last time that you had breakfast whilst looking into Red Square...?!

Breakfast is also served in the bar (simple options, lower cost).

I've eaten a few different meals in the bar area and so long as you choose carefully the price is ok (for central Moscow) and the quality has been good.

Bar drinks are very high (£20 for a glass of wine.......).

My only gripe is that smoking is allowed in the bar (there is a room to the side of the bar that is non-smoking).......standard for Moscow/Russia at this time.

There are many eating and drinking options with a 5-10 minute walk, most of which will be much cheaper.

Central Moscow is very expensive.......reset your expectations and choose carefully and you won't be surprised.

This is my preferred hotel in central Moscow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for your detailed review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was at the level of your expectations.

We are happy to be your favorite hotel at the center of Moscow and always looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,


Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Rooms: The room was nice - especially for what I paid(8,000 RUB, roughly 240USD). I knew going in I would not be receiving the best room at that rate but I was pleasantly surprised by the room I received(expected a 3rd floor closet at that rate). I was in the back corner top floor. If you book a classic non Kremlin view room you will be towards the back and thus as high a floor as possible is recommended. The room was 4 star but small, functional for two adults without a problem. The furnishings were top notch and left nothing to be desired. The classical area of the hotel is very nice but the newer I believe back section was good as well.

Common Areas: All of the common areas are 5 star clean. I am surprised at how clean it was when you factor in the weather and dirt being dragged in. The lobby bar was nice for a beer with a Christmas tree etc adding to the mood. The classic stairway was nice for some photos. The Ritz and Park Hyatt are more of the western mega chain feel than the National (Giant lobby's etc). I felt the National was just as high of quality and with a better history.

Location: The location simply can not be beat. It is at Red Square and walking is no more than 2 minutes. The area is very safe and is very heavily filled with security as one would expect so close to the Kremlin. I never once felt unsafe at anytime of day or night. The location is amazing, plain and simple nothing compares from what I saw - although Metropol was a very solid location as well.

Service: The service was very very good from the ever friendly doorman whom provides weather updates and is always welcoming to the bar staff. I do not speak Russian but never had a problem communicating. They were very friendly and accommodating. The room was always made up spotlessly and turn down service was nice. All of the staff I encountered were nice.

Concierge: The concierge and her staff are top notch and made reservations for me. The two different women I dealt with spoke english very well and went out of their way to help me. They are an A+ staff. From arranging car service to general dinner items or directions they were great.

Breakfast: Expensive. I enjoyed it once but at 55USD a person I didn't feel the need to do it more than that. There is champagne included so having a few mimosas balanced the cost to me.

General Tip: Ground floor left hand side of the GUM is a grocery store. You can get beer, soda, champagne, etc for 1/6 the cost and food for cheap as well.

Overall: Highly Recommend- This hotel reminded me of the Royal Hawaiian in Hawaii. It is classic - not old or dated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PadresDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We are genuinely happy to know that you had enjoyed so many aspects of your stay in our hotel and our service was superior your expectations.

We highly appreciate all your comments and looking forward to see you again.

With best regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
262 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The location is perfect, right in front of red square. Service is adequate but not the white glove you would expect from a "Luxury Collection" property. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive (US$50 per person) so unless it is included and you don't want to pay additional US$100 per couple each day just to have breakfast, you may have to have a very basic breakfast at the cafe which is also expensive (US$20 per person) and they charge when you want an extra cup of coffee.

The decoration is outdated, pictures hanging on the wall of mediocre quality. There are better options in Moscow.

Room Tip: Ask for Red Square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to know that our service was not at the level of your expectations. We are constantly on research and improvement of our service and would be glad to see you again in Hotel National, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

With kind regards,


Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing