We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel stay BUT an experience to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sovietsky Historical Hotel
Ranked #71 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Historic Hotel Sovietsky was fabulous, exactly what we wanted – an imposing Stalinist structure steeped in history of the USSR. It would have been so easy to have booked into a modern hotel with all the services one has come to expect – but do have done so would have meant we missed a priceless opportunity to step back in time.

The ambience of the place is quite breathtaking, the white marble sweeping staircases, the green marble pillars, the wooden panelling along the long corridors and the red carpeting throughout, the large portraits of past leaders, the chandeliers and original lighting.

The twin room was clean and comfortable, a very high ceiling, lots of character from the intricate window and door locks, to the very functional bathroom - Who needs air conditioning when one can open the large wooden windows.

The lounge and restaurant where excellent, valuble free wi-fi (not in the rooms though) and friendly staff. The ‘all you can eat’ buffet breakfast was to die for – omelettes cooked to order, fruit & salad, porridge, meat and cheese, sausage – coffee, tea, orange and apple juice….. and as much black Russian bread and butter as one could eat.

The hotel would not be in the best location for some – but for those with a little sense of adventure it’s perfect. 15 mins walk from the Dinamo Metro Station & 3 stops to Red Square.

Not just a hotel stay BUT an experience to remember

Paul R

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulRobinsonDPCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is nice in appearance but in a lackluster neighborhood. Restaurant and included breakfast were good; front desk staff was helpful but not too pleasant. Don't take a room without air conditioning in late May--it was hot and stuffy. And the a/c in the room we moved to did not work right, even after a technician came up and worked on the unit and assured us it was fine. That resulted in a second, late-night change of rooms after we returned from our evening's activities.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Haubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The stunning parts are the humongous marble staircase, the details in the corners, and the weight of history in this relic from the Soviet era. There are marble columns in the lobby, red carpet runners with intricate soviet-era designs throughout the hallways, and truly remarkable ceiling decor everywhere you look.
The stuffy part, at least when I was there, was the lack of air conditioning despite the promise of it in the hotel materials, the non-working status of the wifi and the ATM in the lobby; and the aged feelings of the rooms. While nice in size, the beds were on the small side and very basic in comfort; there were newer toilets and sinks put into otherwise well used and patched-up bathrooms, and it was necessary to keep the window open for temperature control throughout the night. Breakfast was provided in the lobby, and had plenty of choices - some quite good.
Overall, the historical thrill of staying here makes up for the lack in creature comforts. and I would have given 4 stars were it not for the lack of wifi and AC when otherwise advertised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MetteBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed one week for business and tourism and had a great time. Hotel is communist fancy style with Stalin picture, great halls and huge rooms. Two blocks from Dinamo metro station makes it easier to go around. Magnificent breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonardo_Sadcovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Finest soviet architecture and horrible soviet service (we went for breakfast at 7am, according to the hotel policy, only to find out that it will be served after 11am...). The monument to the past, all bad and good, might appeal to history lovers, and that was the reason we booked it. And that was worth it. But for pleasure seekers this isn't a good match.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13alex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is a typical retro hotel, marble staircase, drapes and curtains everywhere, pianos playing during meals... The rooms are OK but not something special, you can't call this retro but rather dated, it is just old, and relatively bad maintained, especially as regards bathroom . The choice has been to keep the original decor and atmosphere, Breakfast is of extensive and of good quality. A little bit out of the historical center but it was well situated for my stay in Moscow
.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were in Moscow for a business trip and stayed here for 9 nights. The first night we went for dinner at the hotel restaurant and waited two hours for our food, which finally came after we complained. This did not improve with subsequent visits.The food was fine but the menu is very limited. I called room service one evening and they just hung up on me. I asked for an ironing board and iron and was told it was not available but they would iron my clothes for a fee. Their hotel guide clearly states that they supply these items. The staff at the front desk were friendly but the rest of the staff seemed angry and distant. The hotel it self is need of major repair and looks quite seedy. The location is out of the way and to take a taxi anywhere is horrible because of the traffic. A 20 minute ride easily can change to 2 hours.The room was large with a nice bathroom. The linens were fresh and clean. I would never stay here again. It should have a rating of 2

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadenolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Hotel Brighton
#32 of 326 in Moscow
249 reviews
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#77 of 326 in Moscow
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maxima Panorama Hotel
#65 of 326 in Moscow
571 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Ibis Moscow Centre Bakhrushina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovietsky Historical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovietsky Historical Hotel

Address: 32/2 Leningradsky Prospect, Moscow 125040, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#61 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £47 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovietsky Historical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sovietsky Historical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovietsky Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing