We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulent makeover of an historic Soviet building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow
Ranked #8 of 310 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Opulent makeover of an historic Soviet building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Huge (500+ rooms), opulent hotel that is a good example of modern Russian taste. It was originally one of "Stalin's high-rises" and the Soviet stars and hammer and sickles that adorn the building contrast with the Rolls Royce dealership and expensive shops inside. My room was large, plushly decorated and well equipped and had original Soviet era art on the walls. The breakfast buffet was good and the Italian restaurant on the 31st floor has wonderful views over the city but is not cheap - beer is around €10 a glass. Staff are very friendly and helpful and most speak good English. Location is not great but it is only a 10 minute walk to Kiveskaya metro station and around 45 minutes to Red Square along Nov Arbat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    254
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
130
300
74
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Situated in one of Stalins’ Seven Sisters, the hotel building itself is very impressive. This was my first business trip to Moscow and when I saw the building, before I knew this was the hotel, I thought this was some kind of palace.

The service level was very good and I was immediately checked in and given a free upgrade thanks to my EBG.

Since I arrived quite late I decided to have a quick snack in the lobby bar before going to bed. I ended up having a perfectly cooked Kobe steak and a domestic beer and the pricing was ok.
.
The view from my room was not the best (street view), but the room was well sized with a big bathroom and a separate lounge part. You could not hear anything from the street outside or from some other room, completely sound proof exactly as it should be in a 5-star hotel. The WIFI (free of charge) was very fast and reliable all over the hotel i.e. in your room, in the elevator, in the lobby bar etc.

I did not go for the breakfast (even if I’ve heard it’s fantastic) since I thought it was a bit too pricy (and not included in my room rate) so I had the in-room one instead. It was very good and fresh and I wasn’t able to finish it all.

All in all: I can warmly recommend this hotel and, if I don't decide to try out some other hotel next time, I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

The place looks expensive, and makes you feel somewhat like on a day tour to a palace. Prices are tremendous, and absolutely not worth. Service is very good, however they lost my credt card inforamation that I gave them at check in. They even had a copy or print of the card. Luckily we solved that out, and I hadn´t been charged twice.
The hotel location is good jsut for the Arbat and Smolensky areas, it´s quite far to the main center streets, like Tverskaya and Kitay Gorod small streets (those are a must - they´re very old and pretty). All in all the hotel is good, but you expect more from a hotel of such class.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thrudywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rd_royal, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your most recent stay with us, as it assists us in our constant endeavor to improve our services and create a better experience.

First of all my apologies for the inconvenience with your credit card.

Having been awarded Winner of Russia’s Leading Luxury Hotel at the World Travel Awards 2010 was due to our motivated team of 1300 employees obviously this level of service does come at a cost which is in line with our competitors in the five star segment.

I discussed your feedback with our team and it would be a great pleasure if you give as another opportunity to redeem your impression, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Wolfgang Nitschke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I ordered theater tickets, and they sold me them for a triple price. OK, I don't mind if they add some commission, like 15 or 20 percent like hotels normally do, but they charged me triple price!!! I could read the original price on the ticket despite they tried to scratch it off. That's really disappointing. And they expect a tip from you like twice a day, for every word they say to you. Location is so so.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rd_royal, Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for communicating your impressions on our service, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us get better. Your experience certainly is not in keeping with how we treat our guests.

For last minute reservations we very often have to buy tickets from reselling agencies who charge a commission on top of the ticket price. Definitely the hotel is not charging for such services as the Concierge Services are complimentary for all our guests.

We highly value our company policy to provide Yes I Can! service which is aiming 100% guest satisfaction. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that we truly apologize. We will definitely review the list of our partners. The entire Concierge Team looks forward to welcome you back and hopes to exceed your expectations during your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Andrey Korystov
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Service, rooms all five star quality. Wellness centre well worth a visit with a pool any swimmer will love! Spa quality very good, room quality brilliant with good quality and amazing attention to detail. Only two issues price of food and the level of security. One tip, take dinner on the river - brilliant way to see Moscow at night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfromScotland59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

A truly unique experience, it is like staying in a piece of history!
Despite the oppulence of the lobby the rooms are really restful, with hand painted furniture,comfy beds, the softest towels I have ever seen and stunning original works of Art. The Italian resturant in the spire is delightful, full of candles, flowers and off course great views, and if you stick to pasta not that expensive. The pool is amazing
I would definately stay here again, The Ritz Carlton could be any where in the world this hotel is true Moscow!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debramackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Great hotel in Central Moscow - beautiful building. Room are quite 'chintzy' but very comfortable. The service in the hotel is great. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Good and free wi-fi. Good location for both touring and for the Moscow City busienss district.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynecom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 310 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow

Property: Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow
Address: Kutuzovskiy Av., 2/1, Bld. 1, Moscow 121248, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#4 Business Hotel in Moscow
#5 Family Hotel in Moscow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among hotels in Russia, the Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow boasts landmark status in the heart of the capital city. This elegant Moscow hotel was built between 1953 and 1957 as part of Stalin's Seven Sisters project and showcases Soviet Neo-classicism architecture.Gaze over the Moskva River and Moscow skyline from the most breathtaking luxury hotel in town. The newly refurbished 497 guest rooms and 38 serviced apartments offer unrivalled comfort and pay homage to the historic nature of the building while featuring top of the range amenities. The convenient location of Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow on the Moskva River embankment and a small fleet of river yachts provide a unique opportunity to take excursion and entertainment boat trips right off the doorstep of the Hotel. The custom designed snow white restaurant yachts run regular two hour trips from the hotel along the most picturesque sights of the historical centre of Moscow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Royal Moscow Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing