We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place you don`t wanna leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow
Ranked #14 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

After some negative experience last year we decided to give this hotel another chance. This time it was just wonderful!!! We spend here short weekend break (9-10 of January). Surrounded by care and attention all of the staff we felt here extremely comfortable and easy. From the moment we came in till departure everything was really great.
The room is very spacious, tastefully decorated and has all you can wish. The palace style hotel in a landmark Stalin Tower is very new and clean.
The staff is very polite and helpful.
Special thanks to hotel GM Mr. Henriksen for special care and assistance with pre-arrival claims which had been fully compleated.
Breakfast and service in the Executive Lounge are unbeatable. They served us even when we had overslept and arrived 40 minutes after the finish of the breakfast.
Fitness centre with huge swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and lot of another amenities is must to be visited after long day or just for a pleasure.
The New Year decorations, Chrismas Trees and white Rolls Royce in the hotel lobby are just wow!!!
This is really luxurious hotel for sophisticated travellers.
In the late evening is great to go to the 29th floor of the hotel in beautiful Buono restaurant. To sit near large panoramic window, eat slowly and watching down to see how the huge night city glimmering with its countless lights...

We will definitely come back here again! Because you don`t wanna leave from here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fedor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

When you walk into the Radisson Royal Moscow, it feels more like walking into a high class shopping centre or 'Mall' which is a little un-nerving after passing through metal detectors and guards. But once inside you know this is for the wealthy to stay in.

The mini Moscow model looked beautiful with the changing lighting.

Once up to our rooms which are accessed after using your key card to gain entry to the floor buy going through another set of glass doors, you know this hotel is 5star! The room was cosy, comfortable, and decadent in decor. The bathroom too was marble, warm and lovely.

I wasn't here very long but managed to get a brief session in at the gym. This gym is the BEST gym I have ever been in, in a hotel, followed closely by a massive off hotel gym and sports centre in Philadelphia. Fresh ice and sliced orange water points are dotted around the gym which has from treadmills to free-weights, to matts and medicine balls. With state of the art gym equipment this gym is extremely clean and modern.

Breakfast had pretty much all I could've wanted, with friendly waiters and waitresses.

I ate in 2 of the restaurants, the Veranda restaurant and Farsi restaurant.

Veranda restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine. I shared a large fish dish with vegetables with a colleague,the food here was very good with fine red wine. However nothing about this hotel or restaurant is on the 'cheap' side. The price is very much reflected in the food and service.

The Farsi restaurant serves Iranian food. I unfortunately didn't enjoy any of this food. I opted for a lamb dish with rice. The sauce was supposed to be a kind of sweet fruit like sauce with hints of coconut, unfortunately when it arrived it looked like something after it had already been digested which was quite off putting and the lamb was meatball shaped and tasted very dry. The saving grace for this restaurant was an array of amazing fresh fruit juice non alcoholic cocktails and delicious Iranian tea (which tasted and looked just like Turkish tea) with sugar sticks. The setting is created in an 'exotic' way with the waitresses made to dress in a traditional Iranian way but the layout looked more to me like a set of a medieval film in a swimming pool like room shape with uncomfortable seating positions. The Veranda restaurant was much more to my tastes.

The WiFi is a little annoying as it frequently cuts in and out throughout the hotel, requiring frequent re-logging in. for the level of this hotel, this should be something they can make a lot better.

This hotel is for those with the money to splash out, and once inside you do feel safe. I have been to Moscow twice now and I can say this hotel is definitely the place to stay if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and it is certainly dramatic if nothing else. The negative comments left by other reviewers are not entirely unwarranted as the current manager has inherited many of the original staff from the Hotel Ukraine (its former name) days. The common areas are very dramatic and the restaurants serve some great food (although admittedly the service could improve and prices can be sky high). The location is not necessarily ideal and although only 10 minutes walk from the local metro, it is not so easy to find (maybe that's just me). If you treat this hotel as part of your Moscow experience, you will love this hotel (faults and all).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel was gorgeous and wonderful. The rooms were spacious. Floors of marble and parkay share the decor with beautiful flower arrangements and a Rolls Royce in a side showroom. One must see the beautiful diorama of Moscow Revolution/Red Square.

The staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous, and dressed very nicely. The best breakfast I have ever had was presented as buffet style. The bakery section not only had tasty breads, but there were gorgeous ornate loaves. Other offerings include a wander small salad bar, hot dishes, juices galore, yogarts and cheese, fruits in and out of season, and a chaf's grill that can make anything desired.

We did not take advantage of the spa, but we did try both resteraunts. The Iranian restaurant, Farsi, is spectacular. Its Meatbal Soup with walnut and apricots is to die for; it is like having relaxation and satisfaction a bowl. The only complaint was the wine, it had soured. Farsi could use a wine vat storage system like is used at Aida's Wine Bar in Columbia, Maryland, USA.

The Italian restaurant on the top floor has good food and a magnificent view of the city. Again, with nice decor, it is a great way to spend an evening.

All in all, this is a great hotel. As one of Stalin's Seven Sisters building, this building is gorgeous inside and out. Beware though, bottled water is very pricey. Other than the water, I have no regrets would stay there again at the first opportunity. It is only a 45 minute trolley ride to the Kremlin.

Lastly, be patient when checking in at the desk. World leaders also stay there and it may take a while for your bags to get to your room. I suspect some some security action was being performed.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the ower section have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Fantastic place - except the rip off restaurants. They are ridiculously expensive - as is the minibar. Good value for the rooms - but the 40 euro breakfast is certainly not worth it. Good location and views.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredrikLebowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed here for three evenings. If you want to experience a Soviet Union feeling and stay at an Moscow icon than stay here....so that you can say you did. But, if you are looking for a welcoming, authentic, high-end customer service experience...well, not so much. The hotel is huge. Don't get room 578 unless you want a postage stamp without a view. The breakfast buffet at the Veranda Restaurant is quite good but the other venues very average.

The staff is not hostel but certainly is not going to knock you over with high level customer service. Too many begrudging moments.

The location's value depends on what you are doing in Moscow. Its not terrible but it is not a location for walking. It's more a location for 900 ruble taxi rides.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radisson_royal, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear CGCx,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
The room you booked is a classic room. We only have a few rooms in this category and is the smallest category rooms we have. These rooms are for single travelers only, who are looking for a value deal with 5 star amenities.
It is unfortunate that you did not find our service to the level, we expect it to be. We continuously train and follow-up with our associates to deliver true 5 star services. We have many committed associates who work hard to improve the service perception of Russia, and tirelessly is dedicated to help and coach their colleagues.
I am of course saddened to read that we did not live up to your expectations and suggest that for your next stay in Moscow contact me directly for your booking.

Best regards
Jesper Henriksen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I was here for 4 nights with my group from the Middle East, where the service standards are "... what more can I do..."

We were sceptical about the service and attitude in Russia ... and we were not wrong.

The hotel is a class apart, manificient and best part - it is one of the 7 sisters of Stalin Buildings.

The rooms are decorated with taste and aminities are good.

But when it comes to service, there a lot left to be desired.

We had organized lunch at the Persian restaurant. They left me with a feeling that I was not welcome and did a very wrong thing by taking my group to their restaurant.

The only staff I felt comfortable and I believe suitable for such a hotel was Nazarova Olga.. but there is not much she could do to support us.

Over all the service level needs an overhaul... once done, this is a magnificient hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room which faces the courtyard and above 6th floor... preferably close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radisson_royal, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear jamil A,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
I am happy to read that you appreciated our unique hotel hosted in one of the Seven Sisters historical landmark.
Your unfortunate experience in the Farsi restaurant, with is run by a 3rd party operator, is highly unfortunately. I will convey your observation to the management.
For the overall service approach in the hotel, we continuously train and engage our associates to embrace genuine hospitality. We do see progress everyday and have many committed associates who are dedicated to deliver 5 star services.
Please accept my apologies for the unfortunate experiences we have encountered and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future booking to the Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow.
Best regards
Jesper Henriksen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#20 of 327 in Moscow
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,320 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 327 in Moscow
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow

Address: Kutuzovskiy Av., 2/1, Bld. 1, Moscow 121248, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Moscow
#4 Business Hotel in Moscow
#9 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £79 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among hotels in Russia, the Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow boasts landmark status in the heart of the capital city. This elegant Moscow hotel was built between 1953 and 1957 as part of Stalin's Seven Sisters project and showcases Soviet Neo-classicism architecture.Gaze over the Moskva River and Moscow skyline from the most breathtaking luxury hotel in town. The newly refurbished 497 guest rooms and 38 serviced apartments offer unrivalled comfort and pay homage to the historic nature of the building while featuring top of the range amenities. The convenient location of Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow on the Moskva River embankment and a small fleet of river yachts provide a unique opportunity to take excursion and entertainment boat trips right off the doorstep of the Hotel. The custom designed snow white restaurant yachts run regular two hour trips from the hotel along the most picturesque sights of the historical centre of Moscow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Royal Moscow Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing