We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco Polo Presnja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
Ranked #51 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Hotel is located in a nice area, not too far from downtown and really close from some of the best restaurant in Moscow.
Hotel is not new, rooms are "old fashion" but clean. Watch out with the minibar, prices are really high....
In any case is a good hotel if you are travelling for job.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank ASacchi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great staff, Breakfast Very Good. Excellent location, fantastic hotel. The Dom Pedro Bar and Entertainment Restaurant Serves good food but is a bit pricey. The advantage is it is open 24/7 so you can get a meal anytime of the day or night. Comfortable large bedrooms nicely decorated and good Bathroom. Nice outdoor Patio area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is not a four star hotel. It might just make three stars on a good day.
Terrible outdated decor, poor service (terrible breakfast)
Management need some serious training. Smiling staff and a warm welcome go a long way.
Lack of thought (wifi has a 16 digit code that you need to enter every time - how difficult can it be to simplify this?)
Bottom line - nobody really cares about the hotel and it does not strike me that they want to do better. Maybe get ome western management. This hotel harms the brand.
Good location but better hotels can be found in Moscow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinmanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Located 10 minutes walk from Pushkin square, the hotel is well placed for tourists and business folk alike: both the airports and the sights/business areas are easily reached by public transport. The room was first rate by any standard. I found the staff both friendly and efficient. My sole complaint, poor tv reception, was fixed within a few hours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very nice hotel in a very key place in the center of Moscow, with access to most of the main tourist points.
Very kind attendance, and in a walking distance from many interesting restaurants in a very pleasant district of Moscow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel was well located at a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro station, and the red square was at the next metro stop. This is why we chose this hotel.

The hotel looked very nice and clean and so did our room. The various shower products provided every day in the room were very high quality compared to most hotels of this price range.
Room cleaning service paid attention to our needs by providing a second blanket in the room (one is a bit small for a double room).
Internet worked well in our room, and the ATM in the lobby was very convenient.

On the other hand we experienced several problems with the service:
- When I asked at the front desk where was the restaurant, they indicated the direction to one of the two restaurants, without mentioning there was another one with other prices and menu. We only discovered it later by ourselves.
- We ordered a taxi to go to an other hotel, we gave them the hotel name and said it was near the city center. In the end the taxi took us to another hotel 5 minutes to the SVO airport, because we found out there were two hotels with the same name in Moscow. But why did they pick the one at the airport while we told them it was near the city center?
- On one afternoon we left the "don't disturb" card on the door while we went out for two hours. Before leaving, we did remove some of their bottles out of the minibar to put our own food. When we came back, we were surprised to see that they did enter our room to remove our food from the minibar to take their bottles back in! We found strange that the hotel did enter our room without asking (room cleaning was already made in the morning).
- When we checked out (we already paid the bill the night before because we had an early taxi in the next morning), the girl at the front desk won't let us go without checking our room. We said we were very surprised about this, she said it was standard procedure. I must say I never experienced it ever in many hotels all over the world. And while they were checking the room, we were paying for the taxi... It took between 5 and 10 minutes.

In the end we have a mixed feeling about this hotel. The room and hotel itself were great with no downside, but the poor service at the front desk and this feeling that they don't trust their customers wasted a bit our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stitch137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

How can I criticize this hotel knowing that this is an old guard turned into a modern hotel wannabe.
I have no idea how many stars it has but I will rate it fairly as a 2 star hotel on a good day. Probably a 3 or more in Russian standard.
The staff only got friendly after the manager heard my complaints. Small but so many. I had to go and fetch an adapter, if you don't speak Russian their English is below average so some words can get misunderstood. Something happened as I said and everybody turned friendly.
I was invited so my host chose this hotel. You don't disagree with "free" I have no idea what it cost but it is too much. The rooms are small and the bed is a single bed even when the reservation says king. Maybe a lonely king...
The good part is that you are in a lovely part of the city, Moscow is a lot of fun with very extreme people in it, some that snob foreigners as ignorant imbeciles and some will go out of their way to help. A Russian trait I find, so dig in and find the right people they are full of soul and great drinkers of Vodka and everything else.
Don't forget to give yourself plenty of time to go back to the airport and wear a gas mask as the roads are crowded and congested and polluted by the cars and trucks, I bet it makes more sense to take the train back. Next time... Arrive on time or they will be delighted to sell you another ticket for lots... Russia is expensive with no relationship to value. I think they use it to separate the serfs from the blue blood but if you are American or Singaporean you are going to scream from the pain. Hahaha. It's only money....

Room Tip: It's ok for few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jopin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Patriarch Ponds
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#296 of 327 in Moscow
330 reviews
Presnensky
Peking Hotel
Peking Hotel
#72 of 327 in Moscow
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#77 of 327 in Moscow
549 reviews
Presnensky
Hotel Gentalion Moscow
Hotel Gentalion Moscow
#144 of 327 in Moscow
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Presnja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Presnja Hotel

Address: Spiridonyevskiy Lane, 9, Moscow 123104, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Patriarch Ponds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Moscow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#42 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#49 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £57 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Presnja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Presenja is a comfortable four-star boutique-style hotel located right in the very heart of Moscow near Tverskaya street in a respectable, quiet and secure area close to all business centers, offices and embassies. The hotel has a very nice and comfortable lobby bar, summer terrace cafe, and a cozy restaurant offering international cuisine. There is a business centre, health club, 24-hour room service and reception with friendly staff providing most personalised service. Conference facilities for up to 150 pax is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marco Polo Presnja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Presnja Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing