We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuskovo Estate

Kuskovo Estate
Ranked #18 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This astounding estate, once a summer residence, comprises a central palace with a magnificent ballroom, several smaller buildings, each impressive in its own right, and a huge park complete with French gardens, ponds, lakes and sculptures.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Crown Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

After we had visited museums after museums and churches after churches in St Petersburg and Moscow, this place was a refreshing change. There were many wedding couples taking pictures and hardly any tourists. We spent five hours here. Our tour operator booked us a guide to tour the palace. Frankly speaking, this was the least enjoyable part, not because the guide did a poor job, it was because we visited many more impressive palaces in St Petersburg. We then spent one and half hour strolling around the garden and the lake. It was relaxing and pleasant to walk around this beautiful place without any tourist crowd and to sit on one of the benches watching sceneries change color in sunset. We also attended the "Baroque Capella" concert. The music was so good even our 12 year old boy sat still for the whole session. Hard to describe with any words. This place is a paradise. It is the favorite of our family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GOAL_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    106
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Grotto out of Seashells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This estate was built by Sheremetyevo a rich merchant who never lived here. Airport named after him. He built many buildings on the grounds of various architectural designs. The most inertesting is a grotto that the inside is entirely covered by seashells and glass. All of the frescos and artwork is done this way. The estate has magnificent grounds for leisurely walking. It is a bit out of the of the city and it helped that we had a private tour guide and utilized her car. In addition to the etate the drive to and from exposed us to more of Moscow and its environs life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mengerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really beautiful, a little tricky to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The park and the old palace are truly enchanting.  Nestled in front is an old lake with a small island.  In the back is an outstanding sculpture garden.  I advise to leave enough time, perhaps and hour or so, to make your way through the tour inside the palace.  Our visit gave a true taste of Russian history and culture.  Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,566 reviews
683 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
“Very pretty when you eventually find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We decided to visit the Kuskovo estate and stupidly relied on our guide book to get us there. Unfortunately this just mentioned a tube station, so off we went..could we find the Kuskovo estate after exiting the tube?? Well only after an hour of wondering around very lost. I would therefore highly recommend establishing your route before you set off.
Once we found it, it's a lovely collection of buildings surrounded by a very pretty park. We were fortunate enough to be there on a hot day and it was a lovely atmosphere with people sunbathing, picnicking and strolling around. Once reaching the main buildings we decided not to buy a pass for them but just wonder round the gardens. This cost a bargain 40rbls each and was money well spent. The gardens aren't the best kept but the buildings are very picturesque and they are dotted around everywhere. A real mixed of houses, temples, statues etc. An unusual setup but very interesting to wonder around.
If you want to get out the city centre for a morning or afternoon, then I would definitely recommend this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A leisurely walker's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Kuskovo is the former home of a Russian merchant and aristocrat who, if memory serves me, married a member of a dance or circus troupe and moved out of Moscow to avoid the gossiping classes. The house is wooden but is so well constructed that it appears to be of stone, with a very attractive lake to the front which was once used to recreate famous naval battles in miniature at parties. The grounds around the house, and the other buildings, are beautiful, and there is a lot of walking to be done in the surrounding woods.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuskovo Estate also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Kuskovo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing