We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in the area but don't make a special trip”

Old Arbat (Stary Arbat)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Private Tour: Moscow City Tour and Scenic River Cruise
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Private Photography Tour in Moscow
Ranked #55 of 2,423 things to do in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If you're in the market for tacky souvenirs, stroll down this cobblestone street, which retains elements of its once elegant past, but is now mostly souvenir stalls, performing artists and outdoor cafes.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you're in the area but don't make a special trip”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This a strip/ pedestrian mall of about 3 blocks that was a mixture of western food options, tourist shops and a few 'Russian' things like a theater. It's a happy place with street performers and some artists but it is for the tourist dollar. One thing that did surprise me is that there are many shops selling the same tourist memorabilia - but they are not all priced the same, so it does pay to shop around!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    321
    212
    82
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK for a casual tourist stroll”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nothing real special here from either a historic or tourist shopping perspective. Street performers are working the street, there are a variety of souvenir stalls and the like. If you're looking to buy something Izmailovsky Market is much better.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth the stroll”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Old Arbat is a nice and lively street, full of bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. We had a good time, bought some memorabilia (is you eant to get some souvenirs, this is the place) and had lunch at this wonderful soviet restaurant but I can´t remember the name. Nice place to visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Queencitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well worth a stroll”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I spent a good few hours wandering down here. Some tacky shops but some that sold some good memorabilia. A few bars and cafes to stop and have a drink in and a particularly wonderful soviet restaurant which we cannot remember the name of (it has apparently been mentioned in time out magazine). Well worth a visit as it shows another side of Moscow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hull_jolly_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Couldn't see what was so special.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited the Arbat on a sunny Sunday morning in October. I really couldn't see what was so special, Lots of tourist shops, various artwork for sale, but no real atmosphere. We just went off to the nearby attractions instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Arbat (Stary Arbat) also viewed

 

Been to Old Arbat (Stary Arbat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing