We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel”
Review of Sretenskaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sretenskaya Hotel
Ranked #90 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked through a Russian agency I often use when I am in Russia (www.Moscow-hotels.net) very easy to use and efficient.

A lovely little hotel not far from red square. The hotel is ideal for central Moscow you can walk into REd Square in about 20 minutes or take the metro and be there in 10 and 5 of this is the walk to the metro station. Once on the metro you can get to most places in town. Some of the stations are worth a visit just for themselves.

I had stayed here before on a previous visit to Moscow. Rooms are clean with shower and toilet. The room looked over the winter graden which is lovely with plants and running water. However, the room was far too hot so had to sleep with windows open and the central atrium area is rather noisey with voices till midnight.

The dinning room does breakfast and its decoration is lovely traditional Russia design with lots of bright colours. Breakfast within the room rate and a good selection of cerals, cheese, ham eggs, fruit, juice and coffee/tea.

The staff were very firendly and helped sorted where to go and see the sites, a bit difficult as most things were shut due to the election. They also sorted out a car and driver for a day to take me on a business trip out of town. Was also going to get this to the airport but they suggested to get the train as the traffic in town was horrible that day!!! It took me a little over an hour to get out to the meeting but nearly two 1/2 hours back!!!

Lovely hotel and much more freindly than a big international one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    68
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
50
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very nice little hotel in the city centre, conveniently located, close to 3 different metro stations and in a walking distance to Boulevard Ring. The interior is in Russian style - look through the hotel photos (sometimes things look much better at the pictures but this is not the case - the hotel and rooms really are as they presented at the photos). Rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a junior suite with windows to the interior garden (ask for such orientation, otherwise you may be disturbed by street noise if you have light sleep). The interior garden is marvelous with running water, gold fish and a lot of green plants, so you feel like you're not in Moscow winter but somewhere in the warm tropicals (and it is not about tropical temperature :)) Where you can have tropical temperature is sauna (which is for free, but you have to book it at the reception). If you like sauna I'd definitely recommend you to visit it to have a rest after the whole day of sightseeing.
The breakfast was very good, they had a variety of hot dishes (including delicious pancakes with meet).
So to summarize, I'd recommend this hotel if you could afford it (as it is rather expensive), but anyway if you stay there you'd enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the windows to the interior garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We loved this hotel - it was our first time in Moscow, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They went above and beyond for us, allowing us to use their adapter as we had forgotten ours, recommending places to eat and giving directions, and we even received a present for New Years from them! The breakfast is SO good, with a wide variety of food and pleasant atmosphere, the restaurant is beautiful, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are big and clean - what more could you ask for in a hotel? We can't praise them enough.

Also, the hotel is an easy 20 minute walk to Red Square, and countless restaurants, attractions, nightlife etc. Close enough to be accessible, even in the snow, but far enough away that it isn't loud. We didn't even hear any noises after we went to bed on New Years Eve!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the indoor restaurant, if possible - the roads in Moscow get very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralooelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Quite a good little hotel located conveniently close to the Metro and within walking distance of Red Square. Rooms are a good size, if a little dated on the decor. Bathroom was good, and spotlessly clean throughout. Staff friendly and speak English very well. Quirky bar/restaurant in the atrium with a forest theme complete with streams, a fishpond and trees, probably looks better in the summer, a bit dark in the winter. Beer is good though and food OK, if nothing spectacular. Would stay again, price is very reasonable for Moscow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The positives are that this is a comfortable hotel just off the central area with good access to metro lines and restaurants. I had probably the biggest room in the hotel (19) as I had booked a junior suite and it was kept spotlessly clean the whole time I was there. The bar area is fun and the alchohol prices reasonable but the TV is for the benefit of the bar staff and service is generally unsociable.
Negatives - Food - the breakfast was limited and static so that after 5 days you begin to want change - (good coffee though). Although they advertise a restaurant to 11, I tried to get food at 10pm and was told cold sandwiches only. The indoor pool is not for swimming it is a jacuzzi for the sauna (not tried).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risottofungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

That was a pleasure to stay here, hotel has an interesting interior - lounge with a nice patio (complete with running water). The place is cozy with some luxury, rooms are clean and the facilities are all in place for a restful stay.
Great location near a Metro and 20 min to Red Squre

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooky_pusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

spotlessly clean, very comfortable and quiet - I slept very well the whole time I was there. The shower worked extremely well (unlikely experience of some other reviewers) and it had very strong air conditioning. Excellent breakfast included. Short walk from metro - between five and ten minutes. The staff were helpful. I got a very good rate for a single room at the weekend - prices went up considerably during the week but that is normal for Moscow. Restaurant and bar included in hotel and the free wifi was also great (if a little slow at times). Close to ATM's, shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel - it's not easy to find anything remotely affordable in Moscow and I think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suecamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Philistine
Garden Ring Hotel
Garden Ring Hotel
#284 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Tverskaya
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#77 of 313 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Philistine
Gallery Avenue Hotel
Gallery Avenue Hotel
#92 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Godunov Hotel
#103 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Kadashevskaya Hotel
Kadashevskaya Hotel
#48 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Patriarch Ponds
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
#64 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sretenskaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sretenskaya Hotel

Property: Sretenskaya Hotel
Address: Sretenska St., 15, Moscow 107045, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Moscow
#71 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#77 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sretenskaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sretenskaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sretenskaya Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing