We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OAT TRAVEL”
Review of Sretenskaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sretenskaya Hotel
Ranked #93 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“OAT TRAVEL”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights as part of an OAT TRAVEL extended tour. Very nice and smaller hotel with personnel service. 15 minute walk to town center. Grocery, resturaunt, banking all within minutes of the hotel. Would recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    68
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
51
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Sretenskaya Hotel is delightful in many respects. Not too big, lovely Russian decorations in the dining room, attractive indoor garden, friendly staff and well-appointed rooms. The drawback is that you do have to walk some distance to reach it. The nearest metro station is not too far away, but it is not on the most convenient line. It's a good 15- to 20-minute walk from the hotel to Teatralnaya and a little more to Red Square - perfectly do-able though tiring at the end of the day. Our room was spotless, and the linens and towels were first class. Fine breakfast buffet, though the accompanying soundtrack was much too loud. We thought it was expensive for what you get, but that is Moscow all over. Wifi was free but did not work in the room, so we had to go to the lobby or the indoor garden to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We picked this because we didn't t want to stay in a chain hotel or one of the big block types. It had lots of character, particularly liked the winter garden area. Pretty breakfast room with excellent range of choice. Comfortable big room with good wifi Decor a bit drab 70s ' fifty shades of brown'! We found the staff helpful and friendly. Ate there twice in the garden, good honest fare. Bit of a hike to Red Square although not a bad idea after all the hearty Russian food! Would recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireJandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Small hotel in old part of Moscow. Walking distance to Red Square, Kremlin andTrains. Rooms are quite spacious and Bathrooms are well equiped and cleanThis is my second stay. Both times I had a problem with the airconditioner but they were quickly fixed. Internet is free. Breakfast was included in rate. It was ok. The staff are most helpful but their service is not delivered with a smile, which is typical of Moscow. There is a small bar in an enclosed tropical surrounding, anything except beer is expensive but it is comfortable. Smoking is very common in hotels in Moscow. You need to ensure you request a non smoking room.
If you are visiting Kremlin/ Red Square suggest you get there early as the queues for entry to some of the exhibitions can be very long.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked this hotel because they offered free visa support for guests. So the price of that is included in the cost of the room. We couldn't make it to the hotel because my travel partner had gotten hit by a motorcycle. We knew that it was too late to cancel the hotel and get any money back so we just left the reservation as-is. They then came around to charge us BOTH another 3000 rubles ($95) for not showing up. This is rather distasteful since we already paid for the room and weren't going to get a refund anyway.

Also, I should note that we found our later on that the hotel shares a building with an escort service called "Pretty Women." I would avoid this hotel if you don't want encounters for prostitutes and the men who seek them. I don't even want to think about how many of those frequenting the escort service probably use the hotel for their dates.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Seamonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I've been twice to the Sretenskaya, first time on February 2012, and second time on May 2013.
The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable, and to has the advantage of being very Russian, not globalized, Russian customers, Russian food. One tip of advice is, at least in winter, not to take rooms that overlook the interior tropical garden. Since in winter rooms are very much heated (to the point of being freakingly warm), you want to have the possibility of opening the window for some fresh air. (Which you can't do if you overlook the interior tropical garden: you would get more heat and the noise of the bar). But, overall, a nice, comfortable Russian hotel, very well located, not too expensive. One added bonus since my first trip: staff now smiles and speaks a but of English. Desk people nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomaMurena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trstena, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Where to begin? At the beginning...

So, we have arrived to the hotel, which is not far away from an metro station - approx 10 min of walk. Checking in was OK, quite fast. We have been given a room as requested - twin, non smoking. First surprise was, that there was only one person to help us out with our luggage - they have no lift in the hotel - so we had to pick part of our luggage ourselves and take it to 3rd floor via stairs.
Room was quite clean and beds were OK. We want to turn the air-condition ON, as it was quite hot in the room - 25DC outside, but at least 28DC inside the room. But nothing has happened. So I called the reception and have been told, that she will send someone to check it out. Same guy came in and told me, that he will show me another room - to check that the temperature is same. I told him, that I dont need to see another room, but I want the air-co working in mine, and I went downstairs to complain. Mind you, this is a 4 star hotel. Receptionist have told me, that there is nothing she can do about it, and asked me, whether I want to take a fan with me. I replied, wether she really expect me to carry the fan by myself in 4 star hotel. So she has sent the same guy upstairs with the fan. But it was no good at all, we were sweating - as the room was under the roof. So I called her again, and after a while she replied, that she will give us a junior suite. So, we had to pack our luggage again and move one floor down. Unfortunately, this room had only one double bed. Receptions replied, that its the only available room she has... The room was colder, but again - no air con working...

Another reason why we had to move from 3rd floor to 2nd floor was the WiFi connection. On the 3rd floor we were not able to connect at all, although the WiFi was visible (tried on 2 laptops and 2 smartphones.) We have been told, that there should be no such problems in junior suite, as its close to router. But, unfortunately, that was not true. Our problems with connection continued. It has taken several minutes to connect, and only one or two devices have been able to connect same time.

Breakfast - another surprise for us. As 4 star hotel, you will expect something decent. So, they had 3 kinds of ham, one kind of salami, one type of sausage, scrambled eggs, some vegetable, cereals - and that was it. How did they get 4 star hotel rating by serving such breakfast I have no idea.

Luckily, we only stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ig0rk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Godunov Hotel
#108 of 316 in Moscow
123 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard by Marriott Moscow City Center
Tverskaya
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#98 of 316 in Moscow
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alliance Ulanskaya
#162 of 316 in Moscow
86 reviews
Philistine
Garden Ring Hotel
Garden Ring Hotel
#287 of 316 in Moscow
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sretenskaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sretenskaya Hotel

Property: Sretenskaya Hotel
Address: Sretenska St., 15, Moscow 107045, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Moscow
#71 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#77 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sretenskaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sretenskaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sretenskaya Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing