We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Moscow Metro
Moscow Metro Tour
133 Reviews
from US$35.50
More Info
from US$205.10
More Info
from US$130.60
More Info
from US$87.00
More Info
Reviews (14,919)
Filter reviews
5,648 results
Traveller rating
4,101
1,273
201
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,101
1,273
201
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews station names circle line stained glass central stations trains run rush hour brown line cyrillic alphabet works of art park pobedy soviet era red square mosaics chandeliers mayakovskaya stops platform
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,648 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited Moscow for a week, and made sure to get a metro pass.

I cannot say enough good things about the Moscow Metro.

For starters, the staff at the metro station spoke English.

What is amazing about the Moscow Metro Is that the trains seem to arrive at a frequency of about every three minutes. You literally are always walking up to the train arriving at the platform.

The MetroCard allowed us access to both the metro and the buses, making every corner of Moscow accessible to us.

Your Google maps app Will tell you when the trains and buses arrive with great precision.

And a number of the metro stations have notable architecture and are a site to behold.

Thank TheMcLeanVAFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

I have tried to explain to people the hows and why the Moscow Metro is incredible. Sure it was created in the 1930's and yes, it is one of the most-used subways in the world...but it is much much more. We did not see two stations look alike as each had it's own unique decor; animal sculptures, mosaics, stained glass, gothic columns, ceramic art, incredible chandeliers and more. One thing that sticks to mind most...zero trash. Yes, zero trash! I see more trash at the first street I pass near my home than I did in all of the Metros. Just amazing.

Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Amazing socialist-realist artworks, for the price of a metro ticket. It is really beautiful to get on the metro, stop at every stations in the city centre, to see the wonders created in the middle of the last century. It is a sight that nobody should miss when in Moscow.

Thank The_Red_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It is quite interesting to rate an underground public transport as an attraction but I suppose due to the history and some of the artistic value of some of the stations, I would rate it as very good. It is efficient, well organised and luckily not very busy when I used it

Thank rickyspa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Very good value, a day pass is only about £2 and fantastic value. Make sure you have a good map with English translations of the stations the first time you try.
It soon becomes much easier with English prompts for approaching stations,
Very safe and clean.

Thank grascots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

We did not visit all stations but the ones we did see were just amazing...almost art galleries... must drive the locals crazy with the tourists stopping to take in the art

Thank LoveTravel803352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The stations are beautiful with art work & heritage architecture. The transport facility is efficient & economic in this large city. Very convenient for travelers with all major attractions covered.

Thank Kaushik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is the jewelry of Moscow. Piece of the art made for people by hard and creative workers . Must visit for anyone !!!!!

Thank costic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Didn't take any tour but googled Moscow Metro and picked the mpst interesting stations to check out. Each one is a piece of art, well worth spending 1-2 hrs wondering Moscow underground. Doing some metro tour and getting litle bit of background and interesting stories would probably be good idea as well. Ticket to metro is 55 rubles (70 euro cents app.) and when you enter you can stay as much as you want.

1  Thank RobertGOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing I have ever seen before. When one mentions a metro, one thinks of crowded places, sometimes dingy and filthy. The metro stations of Moscow are exceptional. They truly live up to their image as the "palaces of the people."

Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews