We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 13:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lenin's Mausoleum
from US$149.00
More Info
from US$70.60
More Info
from US$79.49
More Info
from US$179.49
More Info
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveller rating
560
427
255
64
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
560
427
255
64
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews embalmed body kremlin wall queue starts glass coffin red square soviet leaders metal detector armed guards surreal experience yuri gagarin closed on mondays security check soviet union take photos russian history on display worth seeing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very disappointed to be closed until 2013. I was looking forward to this attraction as I had heard about this for many years. I am afraid he will not be there much longer.

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank plakmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Been there a few times years ago. This this time decided to go because it will be closed sooner or later. Gave a me a feeling of something coming way behind from the past. Nothing fearful but nothing fascinating. Something that we had and that has to go.

Without burring Lenin's remains we'll always be stumbling over our past.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank MBTSt_Petersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had read good & bad about this, but I figured I would only be in Moscow once. The location of the start of the line to enter Lenin's tomb is around the back side of the red brick history museum near the gate to Red Square. It's not near the front of the mausoleum building. You cannot take cameras into the tomb. Women can't take handbags in either. You may leave them at the museum for a fee (which was about $6 US). There are guards along the way who will ask you if you have cameras, purses, etc. (By the way, they're not very friendly). Our guide had already alerted us to this, so we left them at the hotel. Although the line was long, it only took about 30 minutes to finally enter the tomb. Once inside, no talking, or even whispering is allowed. Guards are present inside the tomb as well, and they will chastise you for any speaking. The lights inside the tomb are dim, and Lenin's body is eerily lit. The guards don't let you tary at all. You must take a lood at Lenin, then move on to the exit. It went fast, but it is a piece of history that a person may only see once.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank 758RichardH758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It worth to be seeing even only becouse it is a history, epochue which can dissapear.
It is a strange and very saldom monument - one from those, where tourists go "to see" in ages after - like in China or in Egypt or somewhere else :)

2  Thank IraIvanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I went the first week of September and there were no queues. You cannot take any bags in with you (except a small handbag) and you are not allowed to take in a camera. There is a kiosk where you leave your bag and get a plastic number for collection (no fee). It is pretty dark when moving from bright sunlight to the darkness and you need to be careful on the stairs while you get used to that. Then you are directed around Lenin. You are not allowed to stop, if you do so, the guards click their fingers at you to make you move on. It is all over in a flash. Good tip would be to walk slowly from the beginning so that you keep a slower pace and have more of a chance to see as you go by. Strange but worth seeing before Lenin is moved (as rumours have it). There is a separate queue back at the kiosk on the left hand side to collect your bag again which makes it efficient.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank 765Cassk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews