We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Much better than last time”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you read my previous review, you would see, that my only complaint was that the rooms were tired. Either there was a bit of a renovation done, or I got a better room this time - I wouldn't know.

What I do know, that this stay was on par with my expectations from Kempinski, and I've greatly enjoyed what the hotel has to offer.

You get 2 separate blankets on the bed, so if there are 2 people sleeping, no complaints about who is pulling the blanket :)

Somewhat surprised by their choice to use a bathtub with a shower head, vs a normal shower stall - the bathtub is very tall, and it can be dangerous to step out of it (and I'm a tall person, with long legs).

The real highlight was a complimentary shoe shining service, which I've discovered quite by accident - put your shoes outside your room before 3am, and get them back by 6am, professionally cleaned and shined. With what a Moscow winter does to your boots, this was a really classy touch.

Will repeat, if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Dr.Savant,

Warm greetings from the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

First and foremost we want to thank you for sharing your feedback and comments about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service delivery was up to your expectations. A good shoe shine service is indeed helpful and needed during the long freezing Russian winter.

Our common goal is to provide unique, attentive and personalized service. With great pleasure we will share your positive comments with our Team.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Once again we thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

With kind regards,
André Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    226
    90
    32
    13
See reviews for
114
316
61
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Kempinski hotel chain is so professional than even only the name speaks for it. Every single hotel is special and well-maintained. Good location, excellent food, perfect service. I cannot complain about anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Sergey S,

Warm greetings from the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback and comments with us on TripAdvisor. The valuable comments and feedback from our guests will assist us to constantly improve our services and move from "good to best".

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards,
André Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at the Kempinski, it was just starting to get Christmasy, the staff were busy building the large ginger bread house in the lobby.... Amazing!! Shame about the smoky lobby (wouldn't have wanted to eat the ginger bread after that).... Still having breakfast in bed whilst staring at St Basil's and Red Square takes some beating. Loved staying here, the room was enormous, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, well stocked mini bar, courteous and efficient staff, everything you could want from a top-flight hotel...Thanks for a great stay....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear LaraMark,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Baltschug Kempinski for your recent stay in Moscow, and for taking the time to write a review about the experiences you made.

We are happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and we had exceeded your expectation, especially with the service, the room facilities and the view to Moscows landmarks the Kremlin Palace and St. Basil’s cathedral.

With regards to your comment about smoking in our public areas, please be informed as per our latest information, a non-smoking law will be introduced in June 2014.

We all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards,
André Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am writing to express my appreciation, for the care and attention I received from your professional team during my stay at the hotel
It is the staff that make the Baltschug' so remarkably special. All the cladding in the world does not make the perfect hotel ! It’s the staff and their attention to detail that create an ambiance of superb quality.
In every department I received instant attention. In every case smiles and warm greetings were followed by gracious service. The team in each of the following locations must be commended: Restaurants, coffee lounge, front desk and concierge, as well as in room service and laundry.
I have been a frequent guest of many Kempinski Hotels.They all have one thing in common, young dedicated professional staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in a newly renovated Grand Deluxe room overlooking the Red Square ! Just amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Hans M,

We have read your comments about our stay with us and we greatly appreciated that you took the time to share them with us on TripAdvisor, as our guest’s satisfaction is one of our highest priorities.

We are delighted to hear that you spent a memorable time at the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow. With great pleasure we will share your positive comments with our Team.

Furthermore we are delighted to learn that you are a frequent Kempinski guest and that you have always experienced attentive and personalized service.

We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards,
André Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

i stayed one week at the Kempinski and i really enjoyed my stay.
the rooms are just huge, clean and nicely decorated.
what i loved about baltschug is the location. just a 5 minutes walk away from red square
the staff is super friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damontazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to have a room overlooking St. Basil's and the Kremlin wall. The views at night were spectacular. The rooms were under renovation during our stay, but did not impact our comfort. I did miss a cozy space or lounge for a relaxing glass of wine. The lovely lobby area functions as a bar, coffee/tea and pastry bar, a great place to see and be seen, but a bit cold feeling.

The

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marymm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwyz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 5 days over New Year's Eve at the Baltschug.
We had a spacious and renovated room, elegantly furnished
with a sensational view to the Basilius Cathedral and the Kremlin.
The breakfast buffet is superb, the food in the Grill Restaurant
of excellent quality. The service sometimes is a bit slow but always
polite. The Concierges André and Olga made our trips and restaurant
visits very easy with their recommendations.
The hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure. I was here several times
for business and this time for sightseeing with my wife.
A memorable event certainly was the Gala at New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Matthias S,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and the New Year Eve Gala with us.

With great pleasure we will share your highly appreciated compliments with our team, especially with Olga and Andrej from our Concierge team.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Once again we thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

With kind regards,
André Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,007 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow

Property: Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Address: Balchug St., 1, Moscow 115035, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated five-star Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow offers spectacular views of the Kremlin and St Basil’s Cathedral. The property is located across from the Moskva River, and is nearby Moscow’s fascinating sights and premier attractions. The building dates back to 1898, and features contemporary decor and up-to-the-minute amenities. The hotel has 227 elegant rooms, including 36 suites and unique Design Suites. Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow boasts restaurant The Baltschug Grill, as well as the refined Cafe Kranzler, Lobby Lounge bar, Beauty Centre Baltschug and a Health Club. Impeccable service and perfect comfort make Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow The Place to Be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing