We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Ranked #15 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Let down by restaurant”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's very comfortable and the room standards are very high. The breakfast is one of the best we've had, but the evening meal is overpriced and poor quality. We had lamb which was completely tasteless, and my vegetables were rock-hard. The bill was, I thought, extortionate by comparison with what's available elsewhere in Moscow. The competition is very strong indeed. Some of the staff have rather poor English, which surprised me, and we had problems with the room key. We'd go again, but eat in only for breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Kremlin are I suspect very expensive. Ours was on the side but perfectly accep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davideast2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    219
    88
    30
    12
See reviews for
110
307
57
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing location, just 10 min walk destination to the kremlin and as the result had a fantastic view from my room. I don’t know how it does look during the winter but June was a great time to enjoy Moscow…
Particularly in the hotel I really enjoyed kind of homier atmosphere. So staff is pretty welcomed and ready to help (obviously people friendly on the streets too)
What I really liked, it’s a “Russian” breakfast with the caviar and blinshiki)))
So, definitely next time…

Room Tip: Ask for a "kremlin" view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Управляющий at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear TimJozi,

We have read your comments about our stay with us and we greatly appreciated that you took the time to share them with us on TripAdvisor, as our guest’s satisfaction is one of our highest priorities.

We are delighted to hear that you spent a memorable time at the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow. With great pleasure we will share your positive comments with our Teams.

We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards,

Andre Vedovelli
Executive Asst. Manager – Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I went to Moscow on a business trip to attend the 21WPC, it was my first visit to Moscow, we had a major delay in the airport and I was almost sure the hotel car has left, to my surprise when we exited the airport there he was Mr Kim, he was one of the first of many things that made me fall in love with this hotel, the reception staff are great and efficient, concierge is professional and very very friendly, rooms are spacious and clean, housekeeping staff are amazing, room service is always on time and absolutely professional, the Kempinski has definitely made my first trip to Moscow both enjoyable and worthwhile. I would like to thank the management on such an outstanding job, and special thanks to Mr Kim for waiting almost 3 hours at the airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Manal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Управляющий at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Manal A,

Warm greetings from the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback and comments with us on TripAdvisor.

The valuable comments and feedback from our guests will assist us to constantly improve our services and move from "good to best".

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards,

Andre Vedovelli
Executive Asst. Manager – Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had the chance to sty at the Kempinski Baltschug a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights during a business trip to Moscow. Overall a positive experience, the price/quality ratio in Moscow is difficult because you either have to choose the new super swanky chains (Hyatt, Ritz) for completely ridiculous prices, or go with the second tier 5* hotels, of which I consider the Baltschug to be part of. Second tier does not mean bad or worst, it means that it is perhaps more simple and better for those not willing to spend blindly on a hotel room. The lobby, at first sight is a little kitsch, but this is Moscow after all! It turned out to be an important spot during the three days, for discussions, meetings, etc... The only criticism I have there is the waiters can be a little slow if you are not directly next to the bar. The concierge was very helpful, organised everything we needed diligently and with a smile. The rooms are ok, not really 5* Kempinski standard in my opinion, but fine for a 3 day business trip. I had a superior room (which in fact is a standard room) with, unfortunately a view on the atrium, which is the breakfast restaurant. The restaurant was always empty, I then realised that breakfast was about USD 60 per person, no wonder it was always empty. The main restaurant also had the same pricing problem. As someone that works in this business, i feel the hoteliers are losing this battle. Very good medium priced restaurants are popping up all over moscow. The days of eating a USD 100 marble beef steak are over. The Baltschug should note this and change its standards. Only then will customers, and hotel guests start using the hotel facilities. Overall I would recommend, but not at any price. Make sure you ask for specifically for the bed you want (twin or queen, etc.) as you might be surprised, same goes with smoking and non-smoking rooms (although moscow will be non-smoking this month!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside of the hotel. The view of the river much better than a view of the atr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koolshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This has been an excellent hotel. It is in the best location right near Kremlin and the Red Square. Big rooms, and very comfortable. The service was fantastic, in fact it was my husbands birthday and as a lovely surprise they gave him a birthday cake, which was fabulous. The gym and pool are fantastic and also the breakfast not to miss.
If visiting Moscow this hotel is a fabulous choice.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Администратор at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Irena D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay (particularly our breakfast, Baltschug Health Club, new rooms, restaurant, bar, etc.) and will share your opinion with all relevant staff members.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure your stay is effortless and enjoyable - or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow soon.

Kind regards,
Anna Ratnikova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the best hotel we've ever been with my wife. The service was great, breakfast options perfect, wellness area great and the location perfect! watching on Kremlin and Red Square from room windows was very cool. so, this is for sure 5 star hotel with everything you need!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPestik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Управляющий at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MartinPestik,
Warm greetings from the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

First and foremost we want to thank you for sharing your feedback and comments about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service delivery was up to your expectations.

Our common goal is to provide unique, attentive and personalized service. With great pleasure we will share your positive comments with our Team.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Once again we thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

With kind regards,

Andre Vedovelli
Executive Asst. Manager – Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here: it was only 2 nights, but the sleep quality was brilliant.
The Red Square is a 5min walk from the hotel, but an hour's taxi ride from Dom Airport.

The room was HUGE! Clean and comfortable - I especially loved the changing area :)
I appreciated the complimentary shoe cleaning service - nice touch (as was the free Wi-Fi).

There are some nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, which is always a bonus.

I was running a corporate event at this hotel - Maria and her team were fabulous! My guests/delegates had a great time and enjoyed the wine and canapés.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sairah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Baltschug, Управляющий at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear DXB2GB,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to learn that the corporate event you hosted was fruitful and enjoyable.

With great pleasure we will share your highly appreciated compliments with our team, especially with Maria from our Sales team.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Lady in Red - Kempinski's brand ambassador who is at your service to ensure that your stay is effortless and enjoyable or me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Once again we thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow.

With kind regards,

Andre Vedovelli
Executive Asst. Manager – Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow

Property: Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Address: Balchug St., 1, Moscow 115035, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated five-star Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow offers spectacular views of the Kremlin and St Basil’s Cathedral. The property is located across from the Moskva River, and is nearby Moscow’s fascinating sights and premier attractions. The building dates back to 1898, and features contemporary decor and up-to-the-minute amenities. The hotel has 227 elegant rooms, including 36 suites and unique Design Suites. Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow boasts restaurant The Baltschug Grill, as well as the refined Cafe Kranzler, Lobby Lounge bar, Beauty Centre Baltschug and a Health Club. Impeccable service and perfect comfort make Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow The Place to Be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing