We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insinuated that my girlfriend was a prostitute. Classy.”
Review of Peking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peking Hotel
Ranked #73 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Insinuated that my girlfriend was a prostitute. Classy.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A hotel has serious issues when the front staff encourage guests to write reviews in all the booking sites so that the management can become aware of their problems. So as a favour to the front desk staff and all other guests, I will.

Backing up a bit.

On 14.4.2013 at 14h25, my girlfriend and I checked in and found out that the room wasn’t made up yet. We went back downstairs to get a new room and instead of hiking back up to the new room, my girlfriend decided to hang out in the lobby.

I’m up in the room and 5 minutes later my girlfriend calls me with a distressed voice.

Turns out, the security guards accosted her as she was trying to go up into the elevator.

“Are you a guest in this hotel?” asked one security guard. “No she isn’t,” responded another. All the while they made it glaringly obvious that they took her as a prostitute and ignoring the fact that we’d just passed them together only 5 minutes previously.

My girlfriend was a mess, balling her eyes out.

So I’m wondering, how can hotel security staff be so arrogant and poorly trained that they cannot politely, respectfully and unobtrusively ensure the safety of the hotel?

How is it possible that guests can be accosted in such a way that they feel like a prostitute?

And how can the management be so poor, that the front desk faction encourages guests to post reviews such as this one, in order to bring about a change of attitude and better customer service?

Obviously it’s hard to get this type of experience out of your mind and we just checked out of this poisoned place a couple of hours later and went somewhere else.

p.s. As for the hotel itself – dated stuffy decor, low quality beds, the smell of smoking in the hallways, 1,200 RUB ($40) to use the sauna for 1h, obviously crappy hotel security.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fizzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    215
    107
    30
    19
See reviews for
43
95
58
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and mainly because of the location. I was expecting a ghastly old soviet hotel, we got a beautiful, large roomed, elegant place. Not five star, but very good. I would heartily recommend it and i would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SharkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hotel is definitely amazing looking from the outside and the architecture is historic on the inside as well, but simply put...it's just old. The bedding, beds, couches, carpets are all old and not comfortable given the nightly rate. The water went out for an entire day and when it was running, it was yellow. What did make this hotel worth our stay was the location, the fact that even though it was EXPENSIVE by western standards it was still cheaper than others in the same location, and for the most part the staff were friendly. The food in the hotel restaurant was way overpriced - a $35 hamburger!!! I'm not sure that I'd stay here again, but I'm also not sure that I'd go back to Moscow again. We much preferred the more rural areas of the country.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside do not get free wi-fi and suites are only on the outside. The walls (even exteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkreeves4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

There are several reasons to chose Peking Hotel:

1. Amazing location: 5 mins walk from Mayakovskiy Metro station. It's also easy when you come by shuttle bus or speed train from airport to one of the metro stations. Also it's close to the city centre so you can walk or use metro to reach your destination in several minutes;
2. A special historical place: in Crazy 90th all Russian mafia and bratva had a style to meet in Peking hotel for negotiations. And the building still has the spirit of the not-calm past. Also very tall walls of Stalin epoch and big light rooms with old-style furniture and wooden floor make you a part of history as well.

And a couple of minor negative points:
1. The internet is too slow;
2. The breakfast is not included into room cost, you have to pay additional money for it.

So if I have a choice in the future which hotel to chose, I would go for the Peking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gradara, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here two years ago; Peking hotel is an architectural monument of Stalin and it is a a good position, near the metro stations Mayakovskaya and only 15-minutes walk from the Red Square. The furniture are quite old but the hotel is clean. Intercontinental breakfast like nowhere else I've found!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Peking Hotel is an old Soviet hotel, but most of the building has been refurbished. I had a large room with a very tall ceiling, the bathroom was very nice. Comfortable bed. The staff at the desk was service-minded and polite. The main reason I chose it was the location, close to many sights, restaurants and right at the Garden Ring road and Tverskaya street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Birger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a rather central hotel in Moscow and I booked it because of special offers available. Everything - from the red carpet on the floors and tiny elevators in the building to furniture and amenities in the rooms - reminiscent of the soviet times, hard core. The rooms are comfortable, but small. The bathrooms have been remodeled entirely, but its the only feature that appears to have been changed.
Rather strange feature of this place is to host a number of offices on the same floors as the rooms. Thus, you can see people coming visiting the building during the office hours, which I found bizarre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Courtyard by Marriott Moscow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patriarch Ponds
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#28 of 316 in Moscow
308 reviews
Patriarch Ponds
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
#59 of 316 in Moscow
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Hotel

Property: Peking Hotel
Address: Ul. Bolshaya Sadovaya d. 5, Moscow 123001, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Presnensky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#59 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#74 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After more than half a century, the Peking has not changed. High-rise building with multi-reliefs above the entrance is decorated with a clock tower and spire created 50 years ago. The hotel Peking is known for its location in the heart of the capital, on the Triumphal Square. It is situated near to a striking monument to Vladimir Mayakovsky, and one of the oldest cinemas in Moscow Khanzhonkov House. Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, Museum of Musical Culture named after Glinka, Theater of Satire and Mossovet Theater, which are located across the street, side by side near the famous hotel, and Patriarch Ponds. Currently, the hotel and office complex Peking includes more than 144 rooms of different ranks, a meeting room. On campus there is an SPA-center, and a beauty salon, several restaurants and cafes. The room renovation began in 2000 and completed in phases by 2010, however, the hotel is improving its conditions constantly. The hotel management put all their efforts to provide maximum comfort and high quality service to their visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Peking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing