We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most expensive facility in Europe, but cheaper for such rate in Moscow.”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #92 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Be ready to use taxi every time - hotel is quite far from public transport (metro, bus).
The new SCKA footbol stadium is under construction next to hotel - it can be noisy even at night. So, avoid rooms on the lobby side of hotel - those windows overlook the construction site. Actually, hotel staffs several times (over a 5 days stay there) refuse my requests to move to an opposite site room (they call it Beergarden side). On my order for bottle of hot water (I had made my own tea) - they took me ones with coffee smell:)
Rooms is clean and you will get 2 hours of sauna for free. Reed carefully all conditions in room - the owner charges for any trifle!
Food was really various and testy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank separatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel for five nites. Art Hotel is a clean and basic hotel. Spoke to the lobby staff during my stay there and understand that majority of the guests are Germans.

The hotel is clean and tidy but rooms are small. Location sucks and there is nothing much around.

Bring your own toiletries as they are not provided for. The TV is the smallest I have ever seen with just two English channels. I was quite disappointed that the service staff did not clear my glass of juice that I left on the bedside table to be cleared. Our trash bin in the bedroom and toilet was also not cleared for a few days.

The currency exchange machine at the lobby only worked after many attempts. It says max
US$450 at one time but it didn't quite work even with US$100 at a time. So imagine I had 2 other colleagues with me and each time, we had to waste a lot of time at the machine. Oh .. One more thing which I need to comment abt the room is that they only provide two complimentary bottles of mineral water in the room when the guests check in. They do not replenish it.

There are two restaurants in the hotel n they serve excellent food. They have the biergraden which is open till sep and the indoor restaurant. Breakfast was acceptable with the same variety of food every day.

Hotel staff were friendly, particularly this young African guy called HOPE. He could speak English and was the one who helped us a lot during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

First of all, I had to spend two hours from Domododevo Airport to hotel with a taxi. I asked for a taxi service from the airport and they told me it will cost 1500 rub + price of parking. At the end I had to pay 2600 rub. (Due to VAT which was not mentioned at the beginning)

The walk to nearest metro station Octobrskaya Pole is at least 25 minutes.

The size of the room is typical of Moscow hotels, even worse is the size of the bed. I had my feet out of the bed. But, at least the bed was comfortable. The room was quiet and peacefull.

Not many options with the satellite tv. Mainly Russian speaking channels. If you want to spend a few hours by watching tv.

They did not have soap, shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom. Instead, they had a magical liquid contains all..

The breakfast was fine, especially scrambled eggs cooked infront of you by the cook was delicious. That is what I haven't seen before in Moscow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

A hotel having it's own garden restaurant in Moscow is rare. But as it is not in mid-central Moscow it is a trade-off. If you are not familiar with the public-transportation system of Moscow you will need to have your own car, or get a taxi. Do not try to get mid-central by car, as it is rush-hour all day and probably also the night. Better to get familiar with the public-transportation system. Bus-stop is just outside the door, or you could get to the nearest metro (Sokol) which is 15-20 minutes walk away. For our work we were picked up each day, and not going to mid-central, so it can be good for business people not having this in mid-central.

The standard rooms are average and without air-condition, so you really need to have the window open if it is hot outside. My room was facing the garden, and the garden restaurant stops playing live music at twelve in the night when open in the summertime.
Sleeping with the window open there is some noise from the cars in the night.
The mini-bar in the room was also a bit noisy for my taste.
Beds are good, size of room and bathroom is average and clean.
You also have the choice between free slow-speed and or 400 Rubles a day fast-speed. If you need Remote desktop, VPN or Skype go for the fast-speed.

The restaurant in the garden is not value for money. I ordered lamb which clearly had been laying a bit to long. Some of the pieces where not good at all, overcooked or had to much fat on them, for a price that was above European restaurant. The German beer (Paulaner) was good.

Breakfast was served in the indoor restaurant. Good service is that they sometimes have porridge served. And if the chef is there, you can get served fresh-made omelette. Another positive point was that the reception organized take-away breakfast when we where leaving before the breakfast-buffet was opened in the morning.

The best thing about this hotel, is that it has good beds and that paid internet high speed. The worst experience was the food in the garden restaurant, even if the atmosphere of being in a garden was informal and good.

Room Tip: Rooms towards garden in summer can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBratteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

From recent reviews of the Art (all translations into English) was not quite sure what to expect. What I got was a lovely hotel in a quiet, safe tree-lined Moscow neighborhood. I booked on Expedia and got an excellent rate that included breakfast.

Positives: Ultra-clean room (smallish for two but fine for one) which was truly non-smoking; no smoking in hotel public areas; friendly, accomodating staff who spoke English well; great buffet breakfast (including made-to-order omlettes); walking distance to Megasport Arena (throuh a lovely area, I might add); several bus routes right outside hotel; 24 hour bar/restaurant.

Negatives: If main reason for visit is to explore Moscow, hotel is a bit of a trek to the nearest Metro station; I was charged 250 Rubles for extra (threadbare) towels, without advance warning--though I was charged for only one day out of three; and finally, the absolutely awful wi-fi, for which the hotel charged an extra 400 Rubles/day.

When I complained about the wi-fi upon check-out, the clerk smiled knowingly and it was quite clear they hear about it all the time. She did mention the hotel is working on it but made no effort to reduce the charge.

All in all, a great stay with the positives far outweighing the negatives. I highly recommend the Art Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nycbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2006

The Art Hotel Moscow is a small hotel that mostly caters to German businessmen. Is located near Leningradskij Prospekt, 10 minutes away from Sokol subway station, that makes it convenient to get everywhere in Moscow. The area is quiet, and never had any trouble even coming back from the subway at night.

The hotel is not too fancy, but have everything you need to be comfortable in Moscow. Rooms are fairly wide, very clean, and are not as hot as happens in most hotels in this city: heating can be adjusted, and it works!

The restaurant is a bit dark (they may be looking for an... intimate atmosphere!) but food is generally good and you have a good choice of international/russian food. Buffet breakfast is OK, wide choice and the dishes are continuously filled up, so you won't run out of your kefir. In a nutshell, a good hotel with a very good price/quality ratio, especially in a city where everything is too expensive. Will stay definitely there again.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Уютное и тихое место.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 194nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sokol
Hotel Sokol
#143 of 326 in Moscow
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis Moscow Oktyabrskoye Pole
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Moscow Panfilovskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Moscow Dynamo Hotel
Ibis Moscow Dynamo Hotel
#36 of 326 in Moscow
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kassado Plaza
Kassado Plaza
#194 of 326 in Moscow
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Class
Comfort Class
#176 of 326 in Moscow
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: 3rd Peschanaya St., 2, Moscow 125252, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £33 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel was opened in 1996 by a team of German professionals. Our main perspective is the idea of “German oasis” in Moscow. We do our best to make you feel like home, and successfully combine German quality and Russian hospitality. The individuality of every room and the hotel as a whole is realized by the one-of-a-kind works of modern Russian art, which you can buy as a souvenir or a present. In 2014, our hotel was renovated. As a result, we can offer you 84 renovated rooms, 3 conference halls, common areas, sauna and restaurants with new interior and technical equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing