We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Service Earns the Stars - Treated like a Tsar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petroff Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“World Class Service Earns the Stars - Treated like a Tsar”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The service at every level of this Palace is world class and exceptional. The staff at this hotel not only helped accommodate each need, but they found innovative ways to save money they could have easily remained silent about. From the front desk to the kitchen to the Asst GM they have 1 overarching goal - customer service. I was blown away with what they did. Having to get to the air port early they prepared a breakfast box at 04:15. They modified my reservation even though it was my issue. They were quick with directions and advice. Just stunning.
Now, be advised that the rooms are nice, BUT you are not staying in the Palace. You reside in the outer buildings. That is alright. The grounds are nice. The subway is the ONLY way to travel in Moscow. The price is 1/2 what you pay in City Center. A great deal.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    82
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
98
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel and had partial satisfaction.The whole complex is magnificent and well kept from the outside.Very impressive.
The rooms are nicely furnished with copy antique furniture , however resembling the period of the hotel.
Bathrooms , severely in need of renovation.
Restaurant has a socialist flair still , dull however . Food is decent if you have to dine there in the evening..Breakfast, not impressive..
Corridors of the room section smell as the ancestors are still decomposing.Very unpleasant.Luckily the rooms do not have that smell. I tried opening the windows , but shortly afterwards they were shut.
They have a very nice pool , Turkish bath and sauna , however the water temperature of 26 degrees is not inviting.I had to try simply and survived.This hotel needs just a few more things and it will be magnificent.
I do not regret being there at all despite everything but wish someone in charge of the hotel with decision making capacity read this and improve this hotel to a stunning place it can be.

Room Tip: If you could afford , the presidential suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasmina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you are looking for something a little different then this maybe for you. A beautiful hotel with a real palace atmosphere. Our standard room was spacious and the décor lovely. The large bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep could be had as the rooms were doubled glazed. Located less than 5 mins walk from Dynamo metro, you could be in Red Square in approx. 15 mins. The only down side was the area that the hotel was in. It was very built up and not what we had experienced when we stayed in the south side a week earlier. More real Russia I suppose. Our bathroom although large needed the toilet and shower surround replacing otherwise clean and tidy. We got quite a good deal so felt value for money. The breakfast was as expected -continental. Fine in comparison to others we had had in Russia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We loved this hotel. The buildings are beautiful and it is very quiet and peaceful, despite being located near a main road which was a great contrast to the bustle of Moscow's tourist attractions. It is just a few minutes walk from the Dynamo metro station where you can reach central Moscow in about 10 minutes on the green line. The rooms were beautiful and felt quite opulent in keeping with the 'palace feel'. All the staff spoke good English and were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the spread at breakfast, which was not vast but was sufficient and frequently replenished. We used the spa only once and were provided with towels and locker keys. The pool was rather cold for swimming, hence only one visit and would have been the only thing I would change about the hotel. We thought it was great value, compared to the 5 star hotels in Moscow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is an old palace that looks fabulous. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the service is ok. Breakfast is ok.
The price of the rooms is very high even compared to 5 stars hotels in Moscow.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fadfodeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The place is very strange. But more in a good way nether in a bad one.

Little bit of history: The Palace was built by the order of Ekaterina II in 1776-1780 after successful completion of Russian-Turkish war. It was built to give the most importuned people to rest after the long road from Saint-Petersburg, and enter Moscow rested and prepared. Later on palace was used by Pavel I, and Nikolay II. Napoleon stayed at the palace for 4 days watching Moscow burn.

All that makes the place very interesting place to stay. On another good side: free underground parking, free WiFi with solid speed and stability, 5 meter ceilings, warm floor, and good bathroom. Unfortunately all that is a result of total reconstruction which left nothing from the history. It looks close to original, but... Staff is very friendly.

Now to the bad part: it is a museum and popular place for weddings. On the 3rd night we decided to get our self some food in room, and turned out that kitchen is out of everything except fish for one dish. SPA does not provide nothing, you need your robe, slippers, towel.

Now strange thing about the place, is in 3 days which I stayed there, on the day 1 there was a wedding, and on the other 2 days, I haven't seen a single live soul around. Non. Feeling was I was completely alone in there, which is kinda funny, but... In one of the halls tray with someones breakfast stayed for whole day.

Another importuned thing: to get from your room to the "lobby" you'll need to walk some distance, ether under open sky, whats not so good when its raining, ether by underground paths.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexter_Bear_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The place is very strange. But more in a good way nether in a bad one.

Little bit of history: The Palace was built by the order of Ekaterina II in 1776-1780 after successful completion of Russian-Turkish war. It was built to give the most importuned people to rest after the long road from Saint-Petersburg, and enter Moscow rested and prepared. Later on palace was used by Pavel I, and Nikolay II. Napoleon stayed at the palace for 4 days watching Moscow burn.

All that makes the place very interesting place to stay. On another good side: free underground parking, free WiFi with solid speed and stability, 5 meter ceilings, warm floor, and good bathroom. Unfortunately all that is a result of total reconstruction which left nothing from the history. It looks close to original, but... Staff is very friendly.

Now to the bad part: it is a museum and popular place for weddings. On the 3rd night we decided to get our self some food in room, and turned out that kitchen is out of everything except fish for one dish. SPA does not provide nothing, you need your robe, slippers, towel.

Now strange thing about the place, is in 3 days which I stayed there, on the day 1 there was a wedding, and on the other 2 days, I haven't seen a single live soul around. Non. Feeling was I was completely alone in there, which is kinda funny, but... In one of the halls tray with someones breakfast stayed for whole day.

Another importuned thing: to get from your room to the "lobby" you'll need to walk some distance, ether under open sky, whats not so good when its raining, ether by underground paths.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter_Bear_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
2.5 mi away
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya
5.2 mi away
Mercure Moscow Baumanskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Golden Apple Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Belorusskaya Hotel
1.8 mi away
Moscow Marriott Tverskaya Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petroff Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petroff Palace Hotel

Property: Petroff Palace Hotel
Address: Leningradskiy Ave., 40, Moscow 125167, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Petroff Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petroff Palace is a gem of Russian architecture, located in the modern downtown of Moscow. Built in the 18th century, the Palace has changed its function several times during its long history. It was once used as military headquarters, a museum, and an educational institution. Today, after a global reconstruction, the Palace has restored its original function and welcomes both business and leisure travelers as a new Hotel & Business Center in the heart of Moscow. The Petroff Palace is run by the Moscow Metropol Hotel's management, which is, undoubtedly, a trademark indicating top quality. The same level of service and hospitality is now available to you in the Petroff Palace. The Petroff Palace's business facilities allow you to use it as a meeting venue for a wide range of various events, such as press conferences, round table meetings, exhibitions, and congresses. Behind the historic walls, you will find all the cutting-edge technical facilities: fully equipped conference halls, press rooms, and high-speed Wi-Fi. The Petroff Palace is a perfect place to celebrate your wedding or another significant event. The Palace's comfortable rooms are perfectly suited to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing break. The Hotel's own Restaurant and SPA-center complement the ultimate concept of an ideal Hotel & Business Center. If you are looking to relax and rejuvenate after busy days of hard work, you will find everything you may wish for inside the Palace. Enjoy the pool, the infrared steam room, and the hamam. Refresh yourself with healthy cocktails from the Vitamin Bar or visit the Fitness Room at the Petroff Palace's SPA center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petroff Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing