We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there & Love it”
Review of DA! Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DA! Hostel
Ranked #28 of 1,587 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I don't know what you're expecting from moscow at all but i'm pretty sure that whatever it is you can find the easiest way to reach it just by asking the staff working in this hostel. Their wide spectrum of diversity will help you around moscow and you'll be getting tips from the experts. Good beds ,cheap prices , great location and extraordinarily warm environment ... Definitely a catch ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wtfWhiteRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Владелец at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hans, Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed, we will be waiting for you again. For simplicity finding the hostel we specially painted signs at the Arbat, and you can find a brochure with detailed map on our website..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good location, right off Arbat Street which has lots of cafes, restaurants and street-sellers. Five minutes’ walk to Arbat Metro. 15-20 minutes’ walk to Red Square.

However, the staff were relatively unfriendly and really unhelpful with things to do and nightlife around Moscow and seemed as if they just couldn’t be bothered.

The hostel is split on two floors. There is a kitchen for cooking and a fridge only on the first floor, which can get really crowded and dirty.

The common areas aren’t really inviting or comfortable and are not conducive to socialising and meeting other people as there are only small tables for one or two people.

We had a private room which had a double bed with a single bunk on top. The room was big and we got good internet reception in the room (which was on the upper floor). The dorms looked cramped.

However, the bathrooms were not particularly clean and smelt slightly and the toilets kept getting blocked.

All in all, the hostel was all right, mostly because of our spacious private room. If we went back to Moscow, we would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had a private room which had a double bed with a single bunk on top. The room was big and we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Владелец at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Francesca , thank you very much for your review. We are diligently working on anything that might prevent you to feel comfortable in our hostel . Living room on the 5th floor - a place for relax, where you can read a book , watch a movie or take a break from a busy kitchen on the 4th floor.
We apologize for any inconvenience with our toilets , we have repaired them in few days. We really care about the cleanliness, so we regular clean all parts of the hostel.
Our tables are designed for 4-6 people , and they can be moved for a big company. And our comfortable ottomans which take places on both floors promotes to the great dialogues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hostel has a great location, close to metro stations and in the liveliest street of Moscow. The common rooms are also nice and have good entertainment. The only negative part of this hostel are the rooms, which are super crowded. Bunk beds are crammed in there, which leaves very little space to change or even get out of bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Владелец at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Eva, thank you for your review. We have a 10-bed room in which, unfortunately, is not so much space as we'd like, but we're working on it. Next time, come to our 10-bed female room: it's very spacious, light and it has own bathroom also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel entrance is not very apparent; but after reading reviews and reading the information given on their website we had no trouble finding the door.
The rooms were clean, as were the bathrooms. The living room / kitchen space is very pleasant. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helpfulSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Владелец at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed staying in our hostel. Come back! We'll be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

it was hard to find the place.
the showers are tiny, and very damp with many puddles.
toilet trouble all around - couldn't lock doors sometimes, at times no toilet paper - had to ask the staff - which was buy socializing.
the good - the location.
and the so so - had a bit of a local crowd there... as in russians living there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayofjay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Rayofjay84!
Thank you for your review!
We are located at the center of Moscow, on famous Arbat street. We have the map and clear directions on our web site and booking engines. Every shop and cafe around would show us.
The showers are standart size. Puddles could be from previous guest, we clean them several times a day.
We are sorry you encountered a locker and paper problem, it was in 1 of 10 toilet stalls, we fixed it in 2 days.
We love all our guests from all over the world, even russians from other cities (now we have 80% foreigners). And we have face control, which deals not with nationality, but with behaviour and appearance of the person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed 4 days with friends. As we hat late flight we came in Da Hostel deep night. The check-in was fast. Rooms are not so big but clean and nice. And we were so lucky to have friendly neighbors from France. We spent nice holidays all together. And we liked design so much!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanART108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

pro:
1. good location: near to supermarket, metro station, restaurant, ....
2. The staffs are helpful and friendly.
3. Fair price for backpackers
4. Clean and tidy.

cons:
1.Broken elevator: We walked all the way up to the fourth floor (the reception) with bulky luggage and when we got there, we were completely out of breath. Avoid to stay here until March. The staff said the elevator only will be repair in March.
2. Very hard to find this place, even the taxi driver took 25-30 mins to find this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsha1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Marsha, thank you for your review!
We arу very glad you liked the place.
Everything is working now and our guests are enjoing numerouse facilities of Da! Hostel.
As of the location, we are right on the Arbat street in the center of Moscow!
Please, see the map and directions at our web site and booking engines. But you know how to find us next time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Vinegret Hostel
Vinegret Hostel
#19 of 1,587 in Moscow
84 reviews
Landmark Hostel Arbat
#25 of 1,587 in Moscow
104 reviews
Arbat
Hostel Boxtel
Hostel Boxtel
#105 of 1,587 in Moscow
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Davydov Hostel
Davydov Hostel
#30 of 1,587 in Moscow
59 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Art House Hostel on Polyanka
Art House Hostel on Polyanka
#12 of 1,587 in Moscow
68 reviews
Fasol Hostel
#2 of 1,587 in Moscow
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DA! Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DA! Hostel

Address: Arbat St., 11, Moscow 119019, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,587 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: £9 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — DA! Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DA! Is a modern, spacious, and cozy hostel located in the historic center of Moscow.Award winner "RUSSIAN HOTEL AWARDS. MOSCOW 2013" in category "BEST HOSTEL".We all worked out to the smallest details: comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, enough toilets and showers with all necessary for you, free Internet access, relax-zone, large TV and PlayStation 3, lockers, sheets & towel & hair-dryer - all included in price. When checking-in, the hostel will charge a Deposit of 1000 rubles (25 EUR) which will return to you when you will be checking-out.And of course double outlet with a shelf and a lamp for each bed! :- )Reception is open 24/7!You want excursions, culture life, or chill out at night club? We will lead you in the sea of Moscow entertainments! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your DA! Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing