We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloomy first-hand experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Belorusskaya
Ranked #129 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the period of 26-30.08.13 with my colleague on a business trip. The stay was prepaid by our company's credit card. The following statement was provided by the Booking.com after the credit card was cleared:
The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking.
With this in mind we set out for the trip fully confident that the hotel stay has been completely paid for. Little did we know.
Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were told by a receptionist that the credit card was used for booking purposes only and that we must shell out the complete price for the stay. The rationale mentioned was that the hotel used to be a victim of scams so they must make sure that the credit card belongs to one of the guests. Despite such a policy, they had not bothered to pay attention to the fact that the names on the company's credit card and guest names differ and they never contacted us before departure.
Aware of our total amazement and shock, they let us stay at the hotel while keeping us in tension throughout the stay by deactivating our keys every other day. In other words we were being treated like swindlers. They put forward a requirement that our company provides very sensitive information containing copies of both credit card sides plus a copy of the bearer's passport and a letter confirming bearer's approval of the payment. Quite naturally, our company did not agree to provide the above information. In view of the impasse, we were left with no other choice than to make payment with my own credit card.
The last bit of humiliation awaited us on the last day. We asked for late checkout. The hotel told us that we should make additional payment for that which we accepted. However, they would not let us pay at departure still treating us like full-fledged swindlers! Our attempt at persuading their senior administrator was in vain, so we had to pay on the spot.
Interestingly, two other hotels on that very trip did accept the payment on the day of booking and treated us respectfully.
For the sake of all other travelers to Moscow, please take care to not fall into the trap we fell into. The vestiges of their Soviet past are still very much in evidence. Please make sure before the trip they play by the Western rules.
On the other note, the hotel is quite far from the accepted western standards for a typical 4-star hotel. I will not comment on very kitschy interior in the rooms but the lack of tea/coffee and substandard breakfast and service do not measure up to 2-star hotels I stayed at in the West. The touted all-areas Wi-Fi did not work in the evening for hours on end.
BEWARE!

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariel857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The good:
- Hotel is next to Belorusskaya station, close to the center and to the express train to the airport
- It is not expensive (for Moscow)

The Bad:
- The hotel is not clean (white stains on carpet, etc)
- Facilities are faulty (flooding sink, hairdryer not working properly, ...)
- Breakfast is poor in choice and quality (plus slow service; no knives for 15 min, etc)
- Reception staff speaks very basic English, so if you have an issue there is nothing they can do for you
- My room was full of mosquitoes, so not much sleep at night
- You need to keep your curtains closed, because 5 meters from your window there is an office building
- During my stay I didn't have electricity in the room in the morning, so I went to reception to ask them to fix it. By the time I came back to the hotel (around 6pm) they still had done nothing bout it!

All in all, it is not worth staying here. I am sure there are better alternatives for the same price.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try to take something not facing the office building next to the hotel, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maastricht_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This new hotel has an excellent location near the metro station Belorusskaya and my room had a great view of the station (and overlooked a large construction site). Closer access to the circle line than the green line. The single room was small but had plenty of closet space, a fridge and AC. The bed seemed too hard the first night, but later used the comforter as a mattress pad. The shower had several different water settings (side jets, rain shower). Decorating features gilded frames and crystal chandeliers with reproductions of Baroque and Rococo paintings (female nudity). Breakfast is included as well as free wifi. Would suggest they consider providing a waste basket in the room and tissues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtTeacherOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a decent hotel near Bellorusskaya metro station which is very convenient in transport means. The rooms are very nice, with lovely teapot which touched my heart For rooms interior please see my photos. The problem is that the room are not soundproof at all. So as i always say-take your earplugs!)) The breakfast is very simple with instant coffee (Gosh it's killing me!))) and Stupid Russian music on the background. It seems that they put leftovers from dinner there. First time i see pelmeni (meat dumplings) at the breakfast and pizza))) The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tushkanchik220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A private hotel, not part of any chain. sometimes a bit of strange place but certainly clean and very well located - express train to the airport is just few steps away.
Breakfast is lousy, one is better off having a coffee at Sturbucks across the street, right in front of the white church

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Just as previous reviewers said, it is not an easy place to find. One may wonder why would a "Grand Hotel" try to maintain such a low profile and poor visibility? Basically the name "Grand Hotel" is quite an exaggeration - it is a typical new Russian 3- stars hotel located in a B-class shopping mall called "Gallery".
+ close to Belarus railway station from where you have commuter train to Sheremetyevo airport
+ the rooms are all plastic in some weird kitsch design but basically clean and comfortable
+ friendly girl at the reception
- the breakfast was poor to terrible
- in my understanding the joint is not worth its name and price

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterZashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It was very difficult to locate at first as the entrance wasnt well signed and it was at the 1st floor of a building. But the room was very comfortable and the breakfast more than adequate. For the price that we paid was good value, since the hotels in Moscow are mostly overprized for what they offer. It was a plus that it is near the metro station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Va C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Grand Belorusskaya Hotel
#188 of 327 in Moscow
7 reviews
Presnensky
Ampir Belorusskaya Hotel
Ampir Belorusskaya Hotel
#143 of 327 in Moscow
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Belorusskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Belorusskaya

Address: Butyrskiy Val St., 5, Moscow 125047, Russia (Formerly Gallery Grand Hotel)
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: £40 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Belorusskaya 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Belorusskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing