We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a dream but is okay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moscow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Russian Dream Hotel
Ranked #325 of 525 Moscow B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not a dream but is okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed twice during our visit to Moscow. The first time we had booked a twin without window, but were given a twin (bunk ) with window. The second stay we booked the double with window and it was better sized than the twin.
The rooms are small and basic. It is just a place to sleep. The rooms are clean and the linens clean. There are 4 toilets, 2 have showers. The 2 without showers are tiny but are useable. Hot water is inconsistent with the gas heating system. There was always soap and paper in the toilets.
The kitchen has all appliances but an oven. There are minimal cooking supplies, utensils, and dishes. We were able to cook with the one pot and skillet. However there were only about 2 spoons so you may have to wait for something if its in use. There is fresh drip coffee and tea free all day.
The staff was pleasant with us. They spoke english or used Google translation to converse. We were always greeted and they answered all our questions and requests. We arrived at 8am the first day and they were kind and accomodating. We checked in early, they quickly prepared the room and we were offered fresh coffee.
The location is perfect! Easy walk to Kremlin and metro.
We found the hostel quite ok. You don't spend much time at the hotel/hostel when in Moscow, so this place works out ok. One of the cheaper places around, too.

Room Tip: Window room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    10
    8
    23
See reviews for
2
17
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

When we arrived in the evening, the receptionist/night guard told us, that they had given our room to somebody else!
He claimed, that they always check in advance per telephone, if the reservation was still relevant. It says so nowhere on the website or the booking confirmation, though. It only says, that you have to pay, if you don’t show up. I did indeed change my Russian phone nr., but I checked my emails and we didn’t receive any mail from booking.com about an overbooking situation. Besides, if I didn’t have a Russian sim card, I wouldn’t answer my foreign cell phone anyways, because even passive roaming is very expensive!
I am sure, the staff member would have just sent us away (he didn’t even let us in, before telling us the news), if I didn’t insist on some help to find another hotel. So he let us use the computer in the kitchen. On request, I could also use their phone to call booking.com. The lady on the phone told me, that the hostel had to find another equal room in the neighborhood, and that they should pay for the difference, if the new room was more expensive. If they didn’t find any room in 30 min, booking.com would take over.
The staff member however refused to take care of the room search. He had to work, but he didn’t seem to call for help. He told me to search the new room myself and reproachfully interrogated me, when exactly I changed my phone nr. As if the whole situation was my own fault. After 45 min of quarreling and another call at booking.com, the self-proclaimed manager arrived. He was friendlier, spoke English, asked us to excuse the situation and to wait for 5 min, but didn’t explain, what exactly had happened.
After 5 min we could indeed check in. This was even more annoying. Did this free room appear out of nowhere all of a sudden? Why did we have to go through all of this, if the room was free all the time? We did want to stay there in the first place! We had booked the room at least a month in advance.
They claimed, that another guest cancelled. But the whole thing still seems weird. We stayed just because we wouldn’t know where to go, and to avoid any cancellation fees. The next day, the manager gave us some candy to say sorry. But anyways we lost one evening of our (already) short trip to Moscow. We wanted to meet some friends that evening, but had to decline their invitation because of the whole thing.


The whole hostel was very cramped (rest rooms, the rooms) - even the bigger room with window (space for luggage only on the windowsill!). The amenities were not as new, as I expected them to be according to some of the reviews. One of the toilets had a loose seat, one shower door didn’t close smoothly, one soap dispenser was simply an open plastic bottle and in the kitchen was no hot water. So you had to boil some water to wash the dishes properly. The linen didn't fit the bed - it was too small, so you could see the mattress.

By the way, the other two staff members seemed to be pretty nice and spoke English.

Room Tip: IF you stay there, only take a room with window!! Though even 7 squaremeters is very little space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valontisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel was in a great central location near Kitai Gorod, it was kept clean and the staff were very friendly. However, our room (advertised as an "economy double") was only very slightly bigger than the size of the bunk-beds in it, with no window and almost no ventilation. It was too small to even stand up properly, and it was far too hot - we resorted to buying a fan and also had to sleep with the bedroom door slightly open.

Room Tip: The budget rooms are terrible. Make sure that your room has a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi_H5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Initially I booked a single room (1200 rub a night) but after seeing how tiny, airless and hot it was I asked for an upgrade. The width of both rooms was just one width of a suitcase plus the width of the stacked (bunk) bed, but having a window in the new room (1600 rub a night) made a world of difference. It would still be pretty tight for two people, but for one it was enough. Everything – bed sheets, large personal towels, facilities in the shared bathrooms – was new and clean. The personnel was professional and helpful, always on duty, cleaning the floor, making free coffee etc.

Old and atmospheric Kitay-gorod is the best and most central neighborhood in Moscow, matched perhaps only by the Patriarschie Prudy and Chistye Prudy. The hostel is in a quiet lane, on a gentle slope, just a 5 minute walk from Kitay-gorod subway station. The neighborhood is studded with churches and chapels; early in the morning lovely church bells can be heard. On the big streets – Maroseyka, Pokrovka, Zabelina – there is a multitude of shops, cafes, chain stores, etc.

Room Tip: Pay more for the room with a window if you're prone to claustrophobia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Starosadskiy Hotel
#135 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Kitai-Gorod
#117 of 310 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Mini Hotel Magna Kitay-Gorod
#470 of 1,436 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Space Hostel
#421 of 1,436 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hotel Maroseyka 2/15
#2 of 525 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russian Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russian Dream Hotel

Property: Russian Dream Hotel
Address: Khokhlovskiy per 1, App. 4, Moscow 101000, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in Moscow
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing