We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice when in Moscow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Moscow City
Ranked #23 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice when in Moscow”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Novotel, like TripAdvisor reviews, are on the surface pre-packaged events. You see the review rating, you read the first 100 words and you think, cool... that hotel sounds OK I'll book it, equally you walk into a Novotel and know the bed will be of a high standard, there'll be a minibar with room service and the staff will speak English... But deep down is that really why you choose? For us the Novotel Moscow City represented excellent value for money by Moscow standards, the rate averaged $180 AUD per night, which for its location and quality is almost an unbelievable price. In addition to this they threw in complementary accommodation for our daughter, (including all her meals gratis) and a gift on arrival, (a wrist band which she is still chewing). They also supplied a cot and were exceptionally helpful in meeting her needs.
Further, the hotel itself is almost brand new, the rooms top notch with lots of space and light, but it is the hotels location that is a real draw card. Situated above two Moscow Metro train stations, you can with a bit of wit, negotiate the metro system for a fraction of the cost of taxi, the Kremlin is but four stops away and on route to the station you pass through the Afimall City shopping mall, food courts to top quality restaurants, shopping and supermarkets.
The foyer is 5 star and the ease with with we could organise a car for the airport or quality dining experience made our stay even more enjoyable, the bar felt homely yet modern and the Wifi is free.
Clearly with proximity, quality and service this Novotel stands out from the rest, I'd like this review to do the same and suggest the 4 stars I have graded this establishment do not do this hotel justice. Accordingly I am employing a sub review scoring system based on what I look for in a hotel, particularly when a hotel is a 4star++ but not mind blowing like my absolute favourites, thus sub 5 stars.

1. Service and ability for the hotel to deal with our issues, baby related - AWESOME
2. Value for money - room rate was EXCELLENT, dinner was OK, coffee was far too EXPENSIVE
3. Room service - little SLOW
4. Location - EXCELLENT
5. Room quality - EXCELLENT
6. Staff friendliness - BRILLANT (Amazing for Moscow)
7. Business centre - OUT OF INK

Bottom line I would stay here again and totally recommend it as a choice Moscow location for both business traveler and tourist

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the inside with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly2NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a great review. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the NOVOTEL Moscow City.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you again at NOVOTEL.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    446
    109
    30
    26
See reviews for
99
206
79
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights from 2014/07/02 in room 762.
The good and bads as follows:

Good:
- Free WiFi
- Very new, built in 2013
- Friendly people and good infrastructure
- Good location, near a huge shopping mall

Bad:
- Restaurant is too small for the scale of the hotel. Had a very difficult time is finding a seat to sit for the breakfast

Room Tip: Stay in high floor rooms for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirantnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and for all the positive points you have mentioned. We are very glad that we were able to meet your expectations in all of those areas. However, I am sorry that your experience at breakfast was disappointing, and would like to apologize. Let me assure you, that this issue was an exception to our usual practices and all the necessary actions have been taken to avoid a reoccurrence.
We hope to welcome you back at NOVOTEL soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Novotel for 5 nights, end of June. The hotel gave me immediately a very nice impression: huge lobby, smiling receptionists, very nice room. Unfortunately in the room there was a bad smell of dirty water, probably coming for the canalization. I asked at the front desk to fix it and they sent soon men who tried to repair the problem, which was not solved. As there was not available a similar room (same price, fronting on the main street), they offered me a superior room for the same price. I suggest to stay at the Novotel which is located not in the centre but very close to the metro station and in a very safe area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiminiTheconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great feedback and your recommendations. I would like to apologize for any discomfort you have experienced during your stay due to the bad smell in your room. I am glad that my colleagues were able to help you and resolve the issue. I have informed our maintenance team about the issue in your room. Please, rest assured that everything possible will be done to address the matter.
We do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thaïlande
Level Contributor
279 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First stay at Moscow city hotel Novotel , located a bit outside the city center in this new business area , plenty of restaurants around as a big shopping mall is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Staff are very professional and nice , hotel is quite new , rooms are nice and well decorated in a very contemporary style , breakfast is very expensive but this is Moscow , count around 30$ for it .free wifi internet is proposed to customers . This Novotel is so much better than the Novotel Moscow center I used to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time and share you feedback about our hotel. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Moscow City.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed Monday through Thursday on a business trip. Hotel was clean and comfortable, like most city hotels it doesn't have any individual style / personality but is modern, clean and good reception staff. good wifi coverage throughout (free). If this is the area of Moscow you need to be in then it is close to some decent restaurants ( Shinok, Mamon and Sixty). The hotel bar in the lobby has great staff but it is disappointing that they only have a beer license and so don't serve spirits. Breakfast was good. It rained during the stay and the concierge had plenty of complimentary umbrellas which we were grateful for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services met your expectations. I do regret that we couldn’t serve you a decent drink and would like to apologize for that, but we are hoping for this issue to be resolved shortly. We do hope you will be back soon and will be able to witness some great service at our bar and restaurant.
We will be happy to welcome you back at NOVOTEL in the nearest future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you enjoy showering and shaving in stone-cold water, this is definitely the hotel for you. For all its outward glitz and glamour they were unable to provide one of the key, basic human comforts. Seriously, I did not feel a single drop of warm water during my entire 3-night stay (3rd - 6th June).
Were they concerned? Not a bit. They simply replied it was a technical problem, that the entire hotel was effected and they were trying to fix it. There was no official announcement, no message from the manager, nothing. Simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an even number, then you'll get a view of the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyF1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry that you have encountered issue with hot water during your stay. I would like to apologize and express my sincerest regrets about the matter. Unfortunately we had an unexpected technical issue that needed an immediate intervention. Our technical team reacted very fast, and was using all efforts to resolve the issue, but it took more time than we estimated. I am truly sorry that you did not receive a message, but I want to assure you that all our efforts were concentrated to resolve the issue as soon as possible.
We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable. The AC was efficient in 30C heat and the WiFI very quick. We had a river view from our room, and the building work going on around the hotel did not impact on us at all. The shopping mall is a two minute walk. The staff were friendly and efficient. Could not have asked for more for a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunieP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia F, Quality Manager at Novotel Moscow City, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Moscow City.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,489 reviews
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Novotel Moscow Centre
#50 of 315 in Moscow
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Moscow City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Moscow City

Property: Novotel Moscow City
Address: Presnenskaya Nab., 2, Moscow 123317, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Presnensky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Moscow City 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Moscow City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing