We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artist Home in Moscow”
Review of Indie House Hostel

Indie House Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indie House Hostel
Ranked #72 of 1,659 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I loved this place. Came back twice during my Russia trip. I immediately fell in love with this building. Played piano everyday, chilled on the sofa, met super nice people, artistic and open. There's also a gallery in this house open for visitors. In general this house is really famous for his artistic population, from Visozkiy and Achadulina whose husband is still having his studio there to whatever scting teachers to give classes in the theater downstair. Loved it!

Location is awesome, livingroom is the best ever. beautiful. Kitchen is nice. Bedrooms are beautiful. Crowded but in a positive way. Always somebody who's interested in eating, chatting, walking around. Batchroom is hot, but perfect. Hot water, toiletpaper. What else do I need?
Clean sheets, best staff ever.

Football evenings, musical days, kitchen meetings.

Couldn't have found a better place to stay in Moscow :)

LOVE YOU IHH

Room Tip: Well, I stayed in 10 ixed dorm and 16 mixed. Both are nice. Always depends on how many people are tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The positives
The price was very good compared to other hostels nearby.
The locations is unbeatable. A short walk to the Kremlin, the red square, and nice restaurants, bars and shops on Arbat street. Anastasia(staff) and the owner were super nice and helpful. The 10 bed dorm I stayed in was very nice, spacious, with a decent size locker and a comfortable bed that provided lots of privacy due to their set up.
They have a nice living room with a TV, computers, free Wi-Fi, and great to meet other travelers. I did not use the kitchen but it seemed well equipped if you want to cook your own meals.

The negatives
The only complaints would be that the bathroom needs some sort of ventilation system since it was very humid in there the whole time, and the showers were very small making it hard to change in them, also the towels provided were very small.
Security-wise I was not a big fan of the back door been open all the time and that everyone has access to all the dorms.

Aside from a few small things I thought this was a great hostel and I wished I would have stayed longer. I would definitely recommend it to other travelers, and if I ever come back I would definitely go back to this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we stayed in one of the private rooms - it was very clean, simple and nicely decorated
The location was great, walking distance to Kremlin and Red Square
We found the staff helpful but the other guests not friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, and generally found the hostel to be friendly and welcoming. I met lots of people.
There were a few downsides - the showers weren't great - there was very little space to get changed, you end up dressing in the shower which makes it difficult for your clothes to not get wet.
The people running the hostel were really nice and helpful, and the location was excellent. I stayed over Victory Day, so it's proximity to the parade route and red square made it ideal.
The 16 bed dorm sounded a bit grim, from the people I met who were staying there, so I'd recommend paying more for one of the smaller dorms if you can.

Room Tip: the bigger the dorm room the more noise (from what I was told)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahgoesrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I can't call this a hostel. Sure it has the bunk beds and two toilets shared between like 50 people, but it is rather a place where people who work in Moscow and can't afford the huge rent price tags stay. There are no excursions, there is zero party vibe, you hardly meet new people (I would say 80% of the residents are the Moscow dwellers who stay permanently), no breaky (as in most Russia) and I would rate it THE dirtiest hostel in the world. The upside is it is expensive for a hostel but cheap for Moscow and likely the only place you will be able to afford on a budget trip. So suck it up and see incredible Moscow then rush out somewhere to get a clean shower.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hostel has a great location. It's within walking distance of lots of different sites and close to the subway stop. The staff is very helpful and they try hard to keep the place clean. The common room and kitchen are nice and airy. The room that I stayed in was nice - clean with nice beds built into the wall. The bathroom is kinda weird- I think it needs a window or another fan. It always seemed wet in there. The safety of the place is not the highest- the back door is open most of the time and the desk is around the corner so they can't see who is coming and going. Overall, my experience at Oh So Indie Hostel was really great - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room by the kitchen has a window and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

You can't beat this hostel for the price or location anywhere in Moscow... located right in the center just steps from the Arbat and Red Square. The metro is also super close so it's a breeze to get anywhere in just minutes. There are dozens of great restaurants in the area (moo moo was a favorite for its authentic Russian food and great prices) plus there is a grocery store right across the street.

Nastya, Tejas and Nadia are amazing hosts... super friendly, personable and always available to help you feel completely at home and find whatever you need. We had a fantastic Russian New Years eve party in the hostel with authentic drinks, food, games and then a quick walk to Red Square at midnight to see the throngs of people and fireworks. As others have said, the shower and toilet stalls are a little small, but there was never an issue with privacy, hot water, or cleanliness. They have also updated the kitchen with bags and labels for you to put name and check out date on your food, so there is no more grossness in the fridge. Also the beds are amazingly private and comfortable, so no problem sleeping even with a room full of people. I spent a few days just hanging out with new friends at the hostel and there is so much space to just enjoy yourself (rooms are huge w/really high ceilings) or be completely alone if you want.

I would not hesitate for a second to recommend this hostel to anyone and will definitely be staying there again on my next adventure to Moscow. Such a great place to make new friends from all over the world.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of staying in one of the dorms, go for the room with 10 beds. It is tucked away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Sayany Hotel
#218 of 330 in Moscow
103 reviews
Patriarch Ponds
Mayakovka House
Mayakovka House
#8 of 632 in Moscow
123 reviews
Maxima Slavia
#97 of 330 in Moscow
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel at Myasnitskaya
#25 of 1,659 in Moscow
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indie House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indie House Hostel

Address: Povarskaya St., 20 | Arbatskaya, Moscow 105187, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,659 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: £8 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oh So Indie House Hostel Moscow is located on the most exclusive Arbatskaya, right in the center of Moscow. Indie House promises affordable prices, clean and comfortable stay. We offer Single Bed Rooms, Double Bed Rooms and Dorm Rooms. Our fully equipped kitchen makes sure that you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Indie House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing