We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”
Review of Yunost Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yunost Hotel
Ranked #278 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Please learn on others' mistakes. Dont visit this hotel. I was there with my team working on an event in Moscow. We booked about 20 rooms. The service, prices and staff all horrible. Everything in that hotel reminds me he soviet union and cold war times.
Staff - Only one person speaks English in the whole hotel. They blocked our key cards many times for no reason. Receptionists are often rude,
Rooms - quite tidy.. but - aircondintion is in one of 10 rooms, elevator do not stop at 2nd floor, WiFI is only at sixth floor. Heating is always on in a bathroom - we were there in a summer which makes the whole room extremely hot and the bathroom itself impossible to stay in.
Breakfast - low quality products, and they do not add anything over the time... again service very unpolite.
Resrvation - they messed up all the rooms andkeep charge us extra. All they care is to get your credit card.
Pricing - the hotel does not deserve for the stars and the price is also too high.

Room Tip: Choose the room on 6th floor and demand air condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XDanzigx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Yunost from 9th - 20th August 2013. We chose the hotel, despite its poor reviews, for it's proximity to the Luzhniki Stadium where we attending the World Athletics Championships. It really couldn't have been more convenient. It is only a 5 minute, traffic free, walk. And on the days we didn't have two sessions of athletics we could get into the centre of Moscow very easily. The Metro station is about 50metres away and using the red line you are at the Kremlin in 4 stops and Red Square in 5. We were staying on the 8th floor, the "suites". OK they are not suites by normal standards, but the room(s) with a king bed and sofa bed was plenty big enough for a family of two adults and 2 children (6 and 10). The room was boiling hot on arrival, this was because it was hot in Moscow at the time, we were on the top flor and hot air rises, and the towel rail in the bathroom could not be turned off, contributing to the problem. Fortunately our room (809) did have air conditioning and we had it on for our entire stay. The room had an empty fridge, perfect for keeping our drinks in. There is free wi-fi on the 8th floor which was brilliant, and I suggest for all those not in the free wi-fi area to take the lift up there and sit at the table and chairs directly outside the lift, where you can also benefit from it! We had access to the spa and fitness centre, and we swam every day of the holiday, we hardly saw anyone else in there. If you are wanting to use the sauna, it's always worth letting them know in advance as they don't turn it on as a matter of course, and it takes an hour to warm up. Now to address some of the other issues. Yes, check in can be painfully slow, but I had done as much preparation as possible, conversing by email, in English, with Julia, so they had scans of our passports / visas so they could prepare the guest/resident passes. This is a requisite of being in Russia, not of this hotel. The bizarre rule that only one person gets breakfast per room is strange, but we knew this before we came. My husband said the breakfast was "woeful", nuclear sausages and half-cooked pancakes. I would go out to the supermarket (not the nearest Billa, but one 2 blocks behind the hotel) and bought fresh muffins, fruit and milkshakes for me and the kids, that was much better suited. The area around the hotel is not the nicest, I went out for a walk at 6am on a Sunday morning and saw drunks and prostitutes a couple of blocks behind the hotel, but I never felt threatened or scared. There is not a huge choice of restaurants nearby, but you are only a couple of stops aways from the centre of Moscow and all it has to offer. I was really pleased to stay at this hotel with it's proximity to the stadium and it's swimming pool which was a god send in the hot weather and with 2 children.

Room Tip: South facing rooms will be hotter, but have an excellent view of the Luzhniki Stadium and the Moscow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My UNFORGETTABLE memory in Russia started from this hotel, not Kremlin or Red Square.

Location - It is next to a Metro in a residential area
Hotel Decoration - Soviet Union style
Sightseeing - Novodevichi Convent is near the hotel
Shopping - There is a supermarket next to the hotel

Disadvantages
1) No air conditioners - I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and the room was very very hot although the hotel provided us a fan. The air circulation was poor so that you feel you were trapped in a room. You will find yourself more comfortable and cooler on the street.
2) Poor management at the front desk
When we checked in, we pay the hotel fee. On the 2nd night, they said they calculated the room charge wrongly so that I paid the balance by credit card. They didn't give the receipt back and I forgot to do so as it was midnight and a lot of guests were waiting for check in.
On the 3rd day, we checked out at 6.45am as we planned to take the train to Vladimir at 8.15am. (the next train will be at noon) When we checked out, the front desk said 1) we have booked 2 rooms and 2) we didn’t pay the balance.

Incident 1) At that moment, we discovered the registration sheet the hotel gave us on the 1st day showing the room was not the one we stayed. The room number was a WRONG one. So, they said we stayed two rooms.

Incident 2) They stop us from leaving as they asked for the extra balance payment but the front desk didn't give me the receipt back before so that I could not provide. We argued with the front desk lady. The lady on the front desk phoned to another reception A, I talked to reception A, she insisted we never pay the balance. 25 mins later, the reception called reception B who handled the payment at night finally agreed that the payment had been settled.

After the 30 mins argument and clarification, we were already 30 mins LATE!

In hot summer, we took two big suitacases to go upstairs and downstairs in the Metro!
My husband and I worried to miss the train. We ran and sweated in the metro, finally, we got on the train which was 1 mins to depart! (Next train will be 4 hours later, so, we must catch the train!)

We stayed in Russia for 17 days and stayed for 4 hotels. Glad that Yunost gave us an unforgettable memory during the trip.
Please think twice before you book this hotel.

I sincerely recommend the hotel provides special training for the staff at the reception.

Room Tip: Book an air conditioning room if any during hot summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 723SuzanneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Yunost hotel in Moscow as we were attending the Rugby 7's world cup Tournament held at the end of June. We were a group of 10. The hotel is definitely still in the cold war age !! There is no air conditioning - and it was BOILING HOT. We were not allowed to enjoy our own supplied cold drink in the small garden of the hotel - as they insisted we had to buy a warm drink from their cafe. They offer breakfast at a price of Rr600 from their cafe - but it looked absolutely awful. There was a lovely boutique hotel up the road called "Blues" which offered a very nice buffet breakfast for Rr350 !! Check in and paying for the rooms was done on an archaic system - and took HOURS to sort out. I think the biggest problem at this hotel is that they have never heard of service and they don't speak any English...... The only good things about this hotel were their swimming pool, access to the stadium and the metro. Plus the little pub next door was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suevonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its close proximity to the stadium. We were quite a large group attending the Rugby World Cup 7s. It was very convenient walking to the stadium and back but other than that I have nothing positive to add. The service was shocking! Barely anyone spoke English and paying for the rooms took over 1 hour! The rooms were very old school and uncomfortable. The bathrooms have permanent heated towel rails that heat up the entire room. We didn't receive any air conditioned rooms and were boiling! The entire stay was uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend it especially in Moscow's 28 degree summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaness21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A group of us came to Moscow to attend the Rugby World Cup 7s to be held at the Luzhniki Stadium. It is less than 10 minutes walk from the stadium and very convenient especially as there were children in our group. It had an indoor pool which was very modern and different from the rest of the hotel which seemed like something out of the USSR period.

Other than that, there is not much else going for the hotel. The reception staff were not very helpful and only two that we know of spoke English. It took us at least 1.5 hours to check in. The rooms were small and comfy but of the 5 rooms we booked, only one had air conditioning. The average temperature at the time was 28 degrees Celsius. It was a sauna in the rooms during the day.

Also, there was only internet on the 8th floor and nowhere else.

Overall, I would not recommend this place unless location proximity to the stadium is a priority!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisshamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My father & I visited the Yunost Hotel in Feb 2013. We were visiting Russia for sporting purposes and the hotel is in close proximity to the Luzhniki Stadium - which made it the ideal hotel for us. An added bonus is the hotel is also a few hundred metres from the local metro station which made Moscow city centre very accessible (only 4 or 5 stations).

The hotel, as the title suggests, is very pleasant yet it is in serious need of a refurbishment.

The rooms were a decent size (2 singled beds, dressing table and TV) and a clean bathroom. However one major gripe of the bedroom is the radiator was built into the wall & despite the sub zero temperatures outside we were uncomfortably warm! We even had to sleep with our windows open at night ( A problem I never envisaged when visiting Russia)!

The hotel had a few amenities such as a food hall, gym and beauty salon although we never got the chance to experience these services during our stay.

The reception staff were very friendly and made the effort to explain our hotel arrangements in English. However, the security staff stationed on the door, made us feel unwelcome. In their defence, this may have been due to the sporting event involved and security was extremely tight within the area (although this is just an assumption).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap stay for a couple of nights. Although if looking for a bit more luxury i would suggest booking in Moscow city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Khamovniki
Spektr Hotel
Spektr Hotel
#155 of 327 in Moscow
40 reviews
Khamovniki
Blues Hotel
Blues Hotel
#45 of 327 in Moscow
160 reviews
Hotel Sputnik
#257 of 327 in Moscow
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khamovniki
Grafskiy Hotel
Grafskiy Hotel
#184 of 327 in Moscow
3 reviews
Hotel Universitetskaya
#255 of 327 in Moscow
120 reviews
Akademicheskaya Hotel
#194 of 327 in Moscow
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunost Hotel

Address: Khamovnicheskiy Val St., 34, Moscow 119048, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunost Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yunost Hotel reflects almost half a century of Russian traditions of hospitality and highest European standards. Today, the Yunost Hotel represents the most advanced European approaches in the hotel industry. We understand the needs and expectations of your guests and their right to exceptional service. This understanding is backed up by our longstanding experience in this area. The Yunost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yunost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing