We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or airport? Rude security and metal detector...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and basically nothing changed, they are still a top hotel in Moscow that is for sure.
Nevertheless maybe the fact that nothing has changed is what has bothered me on this occasion. Repeatedly everyone comments me what a pity it is that there is not enough staff speaking foreign languages. A luxurious limousine picks you up at the airport, but the driver would not speak a word in other language than Russian?
Another thing that bothered me is their security. I got used to the metal detector every client needs to walk through on the way in and out the hotel, but this time the security men were checking clients' handbangs every single time and that without any comments. While I understand and also apreciate the security in the hotel, I think it's unacceptable for clients paying 700 USD (and having Virtuoso status) for a standard room to have their hangbags controlloed without any explanation or apology by rude security men.
It's a pity as the location is fabulous, so is the restaurant, Spa, gym and the excellent O2 lounge upstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ipanema7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Truly loved my stay. First time in Moscow, first time in Russia. Ritz was a comforting home base. Service was excellent, food was also excellent, room was impeccable. Only small detail was that you could hear some engine vibration in the shower / toilet cabinet. Nothing dramatic, just a small tiny annoyance. Loved everything else! Will visit a Ritz again for sure.

Filmed a video of my room. Link below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scP88FMypks&sns=em

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank steilkurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

if you read my reviews you will know I am all about location. With the exception of the soon to be opened 4 Seasons, the Ritz has location covered being across the road from the Kremlin and Red Square. It is also walking distance to some great restaurants and of course the Bolshio theatre.

Hotel wise is has all the trimmings of what you would expect from a Ritz, the smallst rooms are large and the club floor rooms are very large. Paying for a club room is a good investment with comp F&B all day and night. Bar and restaurant on top floor is great as are all other f&b outlets. Bank on ground floor is handy and all staff speak excellent English.

Room Tip: try and get a room with view of red square, st basils and the kremlin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A bit of an oasis in the pretty much endlessly oppressive Moscow scene.

Once past the metal detectors, the omnipresent glowering security folks, and the equally omnipresent 'staff' (with earbuds??), the experience is actually very very nice. Great service at check-in, nice room (w/ view of Red Square, tho that itself is overrated), and really excellent Club Room on the 11th floor. In fact, go there for the Club access (as well as the spa). The Club serves excellent breakfast, lunch, tea, snacks, drinks until 10pm. All part of the room rate. The spa has a very beautiful pool, plus the usual (e.g. very good) services
And the staff, once they had seen you more than once, was actually charming and very helpful

PS If you've heard of the famous O Bar on the top floor, forget it. It's lost its luster. Empty for the most part. The scene has moved on....

Room Tip: Book a room at the club level. Costs a bit extra, but the Club space is excellent and the food a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We came here as part of a tour group last summer, and staying at the Ritz was def one of the highlights.

The hotel itself seemed very new and modern (just the way I like it - spoilt me for stpb!). The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Though not quite as 'modern' as you would expect from the outset.

The location is excellent. Only a few underground blocks away from the Red Square where everything is. We went there two or three times on our own on between tour activities. I did see hotels even closer to Red Square, but I don't think they were as nice!

They also have an Ozone bar on the roof, with an excellent view of the red square. We went there for drinks one night, and it was great. Seemed to be a very hip spot!

The breakfast spread was also delicious! Good selection and high quality food. Prob the best meal of the day. We looked forward to it every morning.

On the few occasion that we needed assistance the concierge was also very helpful.

Overall a very good experience, and I would recommend this as a great place to stay in Moscow.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank barneysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just back from a weekend break in Moscow, and had 2 nights here and everything was perfect. Room was very luxurious, great view of the Kremlin, and the Guest Relation Manager (Anna Anfinogenova) was superb - gave us advice on what to visit, and made us feel very welcome. I don't agree with comments that the hotel is more like a standard Marriott - I stay in Marriotts (JW and Renaissance's) 3 days a week, and this was much more stylish and well appointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed in most of the 5-star hotels in Moscow but this one has to top them all if I am to look at it from a global pt of view! Service is very attentive , staff remember you even though you haven't been back for a year or so, the rooms are very big and comfortable, you simply can't fault it....

Room Tip: I like my room to be VERY quiet, so check if you can get a room looking onto the atrium or the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,183 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 327 in Moscow
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow

Address: Tverskaya St., 3, Moscow 125009, Russia (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Moscow)
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Moscow
#5 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#13 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £273 - £654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Red Square, next to the Kremlin, in the heart of cultural and business center of Russia's capital, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow features the largest guest rooms and suites providing cutting edge technological amenities. The hotel offers a string of luxurious amenities including world-class dining options - O2 Lounge with summer terrace on the 12th floor with breathtaking panoramic view over the Kremlin and Red Square, Café Russe presentic European cuisine and some Russian highlights, Pan-Asian restaurant Novikov Restaurant & Bar, a beauty salon, barber spa, Fitness Center and spacious full-service The Ritz-Carlton Spa featuring 14 treatment rooms, as well as a heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam rooms. With more than 1,100 square meters / 11,436 square feet of meeting space including the Ballroom accommodating events of up to 700 guests, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow will welcome attendees in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Hotel Moscow
Moscow Ritz Carlton
Ritz Moscow
Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing