We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peter I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peter I
Ranked #40 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed the rooms n the location. The hotel is tastefully done up. All key attractions in moscow are within walking distance of the hotel. The street is quiet n lovely. Close by there are plenty of eateries n bars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    277
    79
    22
    12
See reviews for
93
176
54
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked this hotel because this was a 5 star hotel for 200 US a night for a doble room, thats cheap. Moscow is said to have the most expensive hotel prices in the world, but this one is not. The hotel is central and i walking distance to the red square, gum, tsum, bolsjioj, shopping, and clubs at night. We spent 3 nights here and the reception was very helpful. The rooms are as expected on a 5 star hotel, but in my opinion this is more as a 4 star. Clean, spacious and breakfast included. They also have free wifi here. When ordering a taxi prepare to wait for hours. Instead try to take the metro if your not going to the airport.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floors facing the Russian National Bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobystolsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,
Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family and I spent 3 nights in Hotel Peter the 1st from 22-25.07.2014. We were located in standard room number 389, which I will highly recommend you to avoid !!! It is more the area where the room is located than the room itself which gives problems, because there is a very noisy restaurant located just below your windows, playing live and noisy music until after midnight...
We arrived in the evening by taxi from the airport on 22.07.2014, check in was smooth and efficient and portier (not a very smilling one...) assisted us with our luggages up to our room. Note that you will have to use your room key to use the lift. There was free wifi in the main hall but not inside the room. Most important points to know about this hotel are that location is very good, less than 5 minutes walk to reach Bolschoï Theater and 15 minutes to reach Red Square by foot. However, when looking at the hotel entrance from the main street, avoid to get a room located on the left side of the hotel as there is a very noisy restaurant playing loud live music until late in the evening, you will not be able to sleep peacefully... The hotel has a swimming pool at 28 degrees Celsius, a small jaccuzzi and a very hot turkish bath. They will provide you with towels at the pool reception, on request.

So, to resume our stay, I will say that :

Positive points :
----------------------
1) Free wifi at the reception.
2) 1 small bottle of water free of charge per day in bathroom.
3) Rooms are large with high ceiling.
4) Location is very close to Bolschoï Theater and to Red Square by foot.
5) There is always someone from hotel security at the entrance of the hotel.

Points to be improved :
-------------------------------
1) Very noisy restaurant on ground floor, located just next to the hotel, playing loud live music until late in the evening.
2) Pressure of water in the shower/bathroom was very low.
3) Only 2 bath robes were inside our bathroom, but we were 3...
4) Beds were not though enough.
5) No free wifi inside the rooms.
6) Room service did not replace the handkerchief box which was empty in our bathroom and removed one of our room key which we intentionnally left inside it's location next to entrance door.
7) No real view from the windows.
8) In the breakfast restaurant, red seats are getting used and old, better to change them soon...

Well, also be informed that traffic jam and general cars circulation in Moscow are awful ! People are really driving like crazy and you can feel easily unsafe, depending on the driver. We had 2 bad experiences but by chance no fights and no accidents, but it was very close to...

Well, that's it. We will most probably change our hotel choice next time, to see something new and maybe more quiet. I will soon add some photos of our stay so you see what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your detailed review. I certainly apologize for the problems that you experienced. We take these comments very seriously and will follow up on the problems you've pointed out. I would like to clarify that we do have free wifi in all hotel areas. Also you can rent an additional bathrobe at reception desk. We are sorry if these options weren't communicated to you properly by our staff. Nevertheless we are happy to see that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to be able to welcome you again.

Best wishes,
Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a beautiful old hotel within walking distance of shopping and restaurants...very comfortable overnighter for us...staff on counter excellent although the bar staff did not like us asking for ice ...very clean..bath was very high indeed...would be hard for the elderly....had a unique shoe cleaning device in the hall..which was excellent...full befit breakfast but had to ask for toast...Interpretation was a little difficult...walking distance to red square and The beautiful Gum shopping store on the edge of the red square a must to see.

Room Tip: I think all would be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Moscow! We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I would give Peter I five stars if it would be a 4-star hotel. Peter I’s location is superb, the service is friendly, and breakfasts are excellent. Nothing else deserves five stars in this hotel. We stayed in a “standard” room which was standard for a three-four star hotel. Clean and spacious but nothing outstanding. The bathroom is miniature with no bathtub. It looks like the shower is a later, poorly made, addition (three stars at most). The hotel has a strange system for the Wi-Fi access. The front desk gives you passwords for each computer. The passwords expire in three days. Then you need to get a new password. The main problem that computers (I had three) do not memorize passwords and you need to enter them whenever you start your computer. This is annoying. The good thing is that Wi-Fi is free.
Recommendation: if you need a taxi, order it yourself (there are plenty of taxi websites in Moscow). If you do this through the front desk, the price will at least double.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the problems that you experienced. We take these comments very seriously, and I can assure you we will be taking steps to make sure all units are working to optimum efficiency – we will follow up on the problems you've pointed out. We appreciate your comments, and hope that you will give us another chance to be of service.

Yours sincerely, Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights at this conveniently located hotel. Check in was pretty efficient. The room we had was reasonably spacious for an old refurbished building, clean with high ceilings. The bed was comfortable however the pillows a little too big for my liking. There was no pillow menu provided.
Bathroom was average sized and clean. There was no coffee or tea making facilities and as we were not using the mini bar, it was kept locked which prevented us from using the fridge. The bathroom heating was overworking so we had a “sauna” bathroom. Apparently there was no way of turning the heating down or so we were told. There was no ironing board or iron provided in the room.
There was a nice heated pool in the basement.
Pianist playing in the bar/lounge area which was nice when having snacks.
Biggest problem was the reception. Although there was a receptionist on duty, they tend not to answer the phone where possible.(after 7.00pm) Getting a bucket of ice was difficult and when successful took over 45mins to arrive. When we asked for the laundry to be picked up, we were told in no uncertain terms ….. “that it was not his cup of tea….?” We ultimately got it picked up the next day when we found the housekeeping staff in the corridor.
I do not recall seeing anyone one staff member smile and the only time the porter smiled was when I tipped him when we left.
Wi-Fi was included and was reasonably fast. Breakfast was totally forgettable.
This Hotel’s best point was that it was very conveniently located and was within walking distance to the Kremlin, Red Square,St Basil's church, Bolshoi theatre, GUM and TSUM shopping galleries and the walking mall with lots of shops & restaurants nearby.
Stay in this hotel for the convenience but do not expect any particular standard of service from room service and reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunburyTim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svetlana K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest!
I thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your visit at Peter I hotel.
I feel really sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours sincerely, Svetlana Khardikova
Peter I hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are visiting Moscow, whether for business or pleasure, you probably want to be in the centre. From this point of view Peter 1 is hard to beat. Just a few minutes from Red Square and the Kremlin, you can explore some of this fascinating city's most famous landmarks on foot. It is also very close to the city's metro system. Of course Moscow is expensive, and by European standards is an expensive hotel. In Moscow it represents pretty good value. The staff were very courteous and friendly, and quick to sort out any problems. My room was very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was good.
There is a nice small swimming pool on the ground floor. The hotel also has a nice boutique atmosphere. If you are coming to Moscow, Peter 1 is a good option for the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ksenia M, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Peter I, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback relating to your recent stay with us.
We are happy to know that we met your expectations and you enjoyed our location, breakfast and overall stay.
Your kind words about our staff were shared with our team who are also very glad to know that their efforts have not gone unnoticed. It is certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Peter I soon.

With kind regards,
Ksenia Marshavina
Peter I Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#23 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Tverskaya
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#81 of 309 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter I

Property: Peter I
Address: Neglinnaya St., 17, Moscow 127051, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#36 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#40 Family Hotel in Moscow
#57 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter I 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter I Hotel is located in the business and cultural center of Moscow just a few steps away from Red Square, Kremlin, St. Basil's Cathedral, the Bolshoi and Maly theaters and many other attractions of the capital. There are many metro stations near Peter I hotel: Kuznetsky Most, Okhotny Ryad, Trubnaya, Tsvetnoy bulvar. Peter I Hotel provides a full range of facilities for business and leisure: business center, conference halls, fitness center with pool, beauty salon, restaurant Romanov (Russian & European cuisine) and lobby bar. A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning at Romanov restaurant of Peter I hotel. The Lobby bar of Peter I Hotel is open 24 hours and offers the guests a wide selection of appetizers and salads, sandwiches, desserts and drinks. The Lobby bar is decorated with a luxurious white piano which complements the evening cosy atmosphere with the sounds of live music. VIP lounge is on the top floor of the hotel offers tea, coffee, pastry, fruits, light drinks and snacks for a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet service is available 24-hours in all hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peter I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter 1 Hotel
Peter 1 Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing