We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
23
26
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
26
20
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I arrived at this place with no problems, but could not locate the hostel.It is located around the left side of the building and the name on the door is Barbados Hostel- not Optimum Hostel as I booked. Internet was very slow. The girls at day staff were very helpful with good English. The guy for night staff was rude and unhelpful. I noticed several parties coming on different days that had confirmed bookings but there was no room at the hostel.
On the upside, I had a locker and it is really close to the train station.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria O, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Optimum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Hello! Thank you for your reply.We are very pleased that you have chosen our hostel.We will consider all comments and correct deficiencies. We will wait for you to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

If you take the train to Vladivostok, the hostel will be the best choice! Just 5-min-walk from the station.
However, the room was just okay, but the shared bathroom was so filthy.
I spent 5 days there, but they even didn't change my sheets one time!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank friedajiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria O, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Optimum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Hello! Thank you for your reply) We are very happy that you have chosen our hostel! Sorry if you have experienced discomfort due to our fault! We will be glad to see you in our hostel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Nice and clean room. Very convenient location in city center and near the train station. Free Wifi. The guy who welcomed us spoke very good English. Common areas (toilets, bathroom and kitchen) were clean. You can also eat in your room (Microwave and fridge, plus cuttlery and plates

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jchauvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria O, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Optimum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Hello! Thank you for your reply) We are very happy that you have chosen our hostel! We will be glad to see you in our hostel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. Optimum is located a few minutes down the road from the train station and a few blocks from all the major sightseeing spots. Beds were comfortable, there is free wifi, clean bedding and towels included. The bathrooms are a bit dirty and the staff doesn't speak much English, but seems like the best option for a cheap stay in Vladivostok.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binnymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Really, Don't stay in this hostel, specially in Winter. Reasons
1: it's terrific hard to find out where it is, even my local Russian friends drove me to search .
We Still took 20 minutes , cell phone google, Map , several phone calls plus 5 times heavy
luggage up & down their car. If you travel alone, without local friends help, you would be frozen and no place to hide before
you find the hostel. nobody knows where they are, even you ask the taxi drivers downstairs.

2 they won't allow you to keep your bags for a while after 1200 check out time, and could push you and your everything after 1200.and the female
house keeper would loundly shout at you , even if you made a slight sound while washing plates.
They don't know how to respect guests and do services.

3 Room Cold in In Winter, No air conditioning allowed to be used. Got a cold.
Suggested to find neighbor decent hotel , standard room for approxi 1200 rub. This hotel charges you 700+ for a 8 bed room
room is narrow and got no space to anything , except climbing onto your bed.

4 Suggested to go another hostel, if you don't want to get too much hassile and difficulties. I can compare. coz I stayed in other
hostels in vladivostok before. nobody speaks English here, and Hostel housekeeper see you as a prisoner , not a client, shouting at
you from morning to night.
I'd rather to take a taxi or walk to go somewhere else. 100 rub, you may reach lots of others /differences.

Room tip: room and unit space is narrow. hard to turn around.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank new947
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews