We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in Arkhangelsk”
Review of Pur-Navolok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pur-Navolok Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arkhangelsk
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice and clean hotel situated on the river bank. The hotel staff is well-trained and welcoming.
Rooms are not small, equiped with working table and chairs + bed (i had a king size one but not sure about other possible options). There is a bathtube in the bathroom. Bathrobe is also provided.
Breakfast is not bad, buffet type. You should try wide range of typically Russian jams.
WiFi is free of charge, speed is enough for working.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with river view at the reception. If they have room it is free of charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Sergeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

I first met my wife in this hotel in June 2001. We went back the other night for a drink in the bar to recall our first meeting. The bar was poorly stocked; and the barman was totally disinterested to serve us and the two Norweigan professors, who were in town for their first visit. The professors had each ordered a G&T, and been charged more than 1,000 Rubles (USD33)! But they did not get either tonic or a slice of lemon. When my wife took up their case and complained to the bar man he was rather less than polite. His response was ***** you!! I then went to reception and the receptionist did not speak English. This undoubtedly is the best hotel in Arkhanglesk. My advice is don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I recommend this hotel and suspect that it is the best option in the city.

However, in order to appreciate the Pur-Navolok, you must set your expectations properly. For its location (a relatively small, industrial port city in northern Russia), this is an excellent hotel. If you are expecting a boutique-style hotel like one finds in many European cities or a business hotel like one finds in major cities around the world, you will be disappointed.

The hotel is well maintained. It is very clean, has a nice lobby area and everything works. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.The breakfast buffet has a good variety. The "sky bar" on the top floor has a fantastic view of the Dvina river and decent food (though it is over-priced). The location of the hotel couldn't be better. Most of the Arkhangelsk sites are within walking distance, as are a number of stores and restaurants. There is an ATM in the lobby, as well as a little gift shop and a small bar.

But remember, this is a relatively small, industrial port city in northern Russia. The rooms are fairly sparse. You won't find art on the wall, a mini-bar, coffee-maker, hot water kettle, ironing board, coffee table books etc. The beds are functional, but not super comfortable. The rooms aren't air-conditioned and the heat is difficult to control to you personal preference. (Alas, I was in the city during a stretch of 28-30 celsius days and had to open the window, which let mosquitoes in all night). On the other hand, the rooms have a safe and a blow-dryer. Mine had a flat screen TV with a decent selection of channels. I didn't have any trouble at all with noise (as some other reviewers did).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here for a week at this hotel, nice place, although quite basic. However the walls are paper thin and the rooms are quite noisy. The sky bar on the top floor is very good with great views. Would use again if i return to Arkhangelsk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I've been there in early April for a business trip for a couple of days. The first room assigned was a smoker's room, so I changed to a non-smoking room. However, it was heated up to +30 degrees centigrade (outdoors around -10°C)!! Solution number 1: Call a plumber to close the radiator valves (the knobs were all removed!), but this didn't help much. Solution number 2: Open the windows. Reminds of past sovjet times... The bedroom compartment was miniature and absolutely inconvenient (no bedside table, no telephone to receive a wake-up call, no light switch to turn off the lights). The next day only I could change to a better room.
The breakfast restaurant in the mezzanine is too small for the many rooms they have. Don't be surprised if you have to share a table. The choice of the breakfast buffet was ok. On the last day I had to checkout very early. The staff organised a generous breakfast package to take out.
The dinner restaurant on the top floor was ok.
The hotel staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Check the room before you take it! Leave the luggage at the reception meanwhile, because the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global_freq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spent one noght on a business trip. Said to be the best hotel in Arkhangelsk.
I travel a lot and I am used to this mid--90-ies "new Russians" chic style. Do not expect it to be anywhere near 5 or even 4-star Western Standards.

The building itself is very impressive, overlooking the Dvina River , with a magnificent panoramic elevator inside. My office has booked a Deluх room for me whicn had a bedroom and a sitting room. As usually with Russian upstyle provincial hotels, the designer did not put any thought into what he did - whats the use of having a Deluxe room if it overlooks a sidestreet? No magnificent view to the Dvina river-no way! The dressing room is at the far end of the suite from the bedroom, there are no glasses so you have to drink your drink from the minibar either from a tea cup, or from a glass you take from the bathroom. There is a fruit basket -but no knife!

The bathroom is deisgned to foolishly that you have to be an acrobat in order to manage to get into the bathtub or reach the bathroom shower.

Otherwise clean, comfortable but for the awful pillows, quiet.

Breakfast for the Deluxe rooms is in the Sky Bar, with a magnificent view again.Nothing special about the breakfast, except they get you a nice cup of espresso instead of an awful brewed coffee usual for Russian hotel breakfasts.

Well, good for a one-night business trip stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel is located by the river Dvina, just a block away from the main square and main street. It is clean and warm, and the breakfast is excellent. Everything works and the free WiFi is working in all parts of the hotel. There is nothing fancy about the hotel, but everything is really OK there. That is all you can expect.

Room Tip: Ask a room facing the river; the other rooms face the backyard, and there is really not much to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saivayrynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arkhangelsk
0.5 mi away
Dvina Hotel
Dvina Hotel
#3 of 8 in Arkhangelsk
311 reviews
0 mi away
Stolitsa Pomorya
Stolitsa Pomorya
#2 of 8 in Arkhangelsk
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artelekom Hotel
Artelekom Hotel
#5 of 8 in Arkhangelsk
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#7 of 8 in Arkhangelsk
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belomorskaya
Hotel Belomorskaya
#6 of 8 in Arkhangelsk
60 reviews
20.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Severodvinsk
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pur-Navolok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pur-Navolok Hotel

Address: Severnoi Dviny Emb., 88/1, Arkhangelsk 163000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > Arkhangelsk Oblast > Arkhangelsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arkhangelsk
Price Range: £34 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pur-Navolok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “Pur-Navolok” Hotel is located in the center of Arkhangelsk in the heart of the cultural and historic district along the bank of the North Dvina River. Almost every room has a fantastic view of the river. Walking 50 meters along the pedestrian zone of the levy, you will come to Prospect Lomonsov, which intersects all the main transport routes of the city. The hotel has 164 rooms of 4 classes: Comfort, Studio, Deluxe, and Superior. Room sizes range from 16 to 79 square meters. All rooms are equipped with a telephone, satellite TV, electronic safe, fan, and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pur-Navolok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing