We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place, nice view to river Pregolya”
Review of Skipper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skipper Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kaliningrad
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good place, nice view to river Pregolya”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Central located, very closed to historic place of Kaliningrad, near the tomb of philosoph Immanuel Kant. Hotel itself is quite good, few small things like a very hot air in the corridors (didn't understood - was it lack of ventilation or saving money for airco's???), falling tails around elevator of third level, fastened with two wooden sticks... maked stay in hotel a little bit uncomfortable. I advice to have ready moskito's reppelents, because hotel is on the river side. Also, reception of hotel is very strenght regarding check-out, have extra 5-10 minutes for waiting your room will be checked by roomgirls. No breakfasts in hotel, however hotel offers breakfast in the near restaurant (caffee) for a quite a high amount. We got only hotel stay without breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with river view, have ready moskito's repellents
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    65
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
66
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

It's really hard to find a hotel in Russia which won't cost a lot and won't be horrible at the same time. This hotel is really a rear place to find. The room was very cozy and not too small with a fantastic view from the small balcony. It is located 2 min walking from the main cathedral and 15 minutes from the main square. I certainly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarpeDiem_Travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Skipper Hotel is located in what was once the centre of old Konigsberg, East Prussia. But nowadays, there are only waterways and pointless islands. From our room, we could see the Cathedral (rebuilt under orders of Yeltsin) and watch/hear the powerboats at 2 am going between the islands. From the Skipper Hotel, you can only imagine what the city once was.

To get Kaliningrad's "downtown" or go to the Amber Museum, it's a bit of a hike from the Skipper and so we chose to take a meandering tram or a taxi. Across the street from the Skipper, there's the circus (didn't go) and a modern supermarket.

Practical matters: Our room was clean and modern. The young woman at reception didn't speak English well and when I asked her (in my basic Russian) if other staff could, she answered that her English-speaking colleague would arrive soon. The hotel offers a pricey breakfast in the connected Lighthouse. (You have to go outside to get to it.) OTOH, the hotel has an excellent seafood restaurant for an evening meal.

The Skipper Hotel seems to be part of a project to revitalize what was once the old port.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gko35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nida, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Room was clean and warm, the wifi worked properly, bed was comfortable.
The main difference is breakfast what was really more than you can expect in Kaliningrad.
I propose to try salmon, pancakes and all these fresh sweets.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeringaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel turned out to be quite a dissapointment to me: since it looks quite nice from outside and is located in the city centre, you expect to find a nice and cosy room and good facilities. However I considered it was expensive taking into account the quality of room and facilities. A few pluses and minuses.

The room was large and overlooked the river which I believe all rooms do, and is good. We had an additional door in the bedroom on the wall between the rooms - it was locked but it felt odd. The furniture was fine, as was the bed, but the interior is shabby and there were two brown stains in the bedroom and hall - not looking nice really. The small sofa - very shabby - in the hall does not fit the presumably 'German' style, neither the rest of the furniture. The shower is old and shabby, too, I am afraid. However there were slippers and toiletries provided which I found very helpful. The TV is fixed very high on the wall so if you sit to watch it you get a pain in the neck in a few minutes.

The breakfast is not provided and we were aware of that. But given there is a restaurant downstairs I can't really get why. I'd prefer to have it rather than going out somewhere else - although there are several places around.

It was quite cold and muggy in the room - it was October! - but heating was not on. A conditioner did not work at all. On the bright side, the staff at the reception was helpful and brought a small heater to warm up a room.

The staff was friendly overall.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel had an excellent location and luxurious interior and exterior. The staff was friendly and worked with soul. My room was very cozy and clean and had incredible views. Free WIFI. The room was stylish decorated. Breakfast was not included. It was not the problem, cause near the hotel there were many good cafes with good price and service. The hotel had gourmet restaurant with high quality seafood, I liked service and meal there. This hotel, I think - fine place for the rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chernova_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff were excellent - the girl at the desk spoke very good english, and the staff in the restaurant and bar were very attentive and friendly. The owner was also on hand to ensure everything was running smoothly. We had a nice room with small balcony overlooking the river (they all do). The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, with all the necessities you'd expect. The hotel itself has some great features which all add to its originality and personality The highlight of the trip though was the restaurant - The Fish Club. We arrived back late from our trip to the Curonian Spit. The staff insisted it wasn't a problem as they serve until midnight. The dinner and wine menu is excellent. The terrace outside is also a lovely place for a drink - it overlooks the river and it was lovely to chill there after our arrival until our room was ready (we arrived early). Breakfast is also a novelty as its served in a lighthouse next door. All in all a very original and great experience.
The only problem is the noise between rooms. We were incredibly unlucky to have what seemed like 10 kids next door shouting, playing with the tv and running between rooms from early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploring365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaliningrad hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis Kaliningrad Center
ibis Kaliningrad Center
#3 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#2 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel
Radisson Hotel
#1 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paraiso
Paraiso
#4 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaliningrad
Hotel Kaliningrad
#9 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oberteich Luxe Hotel
Oberteich Luxe Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kaliningrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skipper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skipper Hotel

Property: Skipper Hotel
Address: Oktyabrskaya St., 4A, Kaliningrad 236006, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > Kaliningrad Oblast > Kaliningrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kaliningrad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skipper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking over the Pregel river, Koningsberg Island with its cathedral, this hotel offers cozy accommodations with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. It has a seafood restaurant with a bar.The air conditioned rooms at Hotel Skipper are decorated in naval style and have large windows facing the river. They are equipped with flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and have a private bathroom.There is a children’s playground for the younger guests to play.Guests can enjoy fresh seafood at the on-site Fish Club restaurant that offers fine dining with scenic views.Konigsberg Cathedral and the Church of the Holy Family are within few minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Skipper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing