We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Meridian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meridian
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Murmansk
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have been to many hotels where there were issues of noise from other sources but never one which actively seeks to ruin the sleep of its own guests. This hotel runs its own night club on the second floor and on Friday and Saturday it shakes the entire hotel the whole night through until 6am. There is no escape, it is clearly audible from the most distant points. Also the walls between rooms are paper thin and noise from other rooms and corridors is an issue. In other regards I had no problems, location, service, rooms all fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank jon25b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hotel is in the center. Everything worked. Room was extremely hot - but just turn of the water to the over (red switch) and open window. Lots of shops nearby, and ATMs for cash. Bus stops outside. Lifts are slow. Breakfast is fine and efficient. Good choice of food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The rooms are tiny and with bad ventilation. They bring hookers right into the hotel and the bouncers let them in for a bribe. It is certainly not a place i will recommend. The reception was not helpful and did not react to my requests. The noise from the night club on the second floor was loud even on the 9th floor up until 6 am

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex30031975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is absolutely in the centre of Murmansk, so very conveniently located. It is very clean and functional (not exactly luxurious but is comfortable). Fast WiFi is free (unusual in Russian hotels) and all the usual amenities are present. The staff are welcoming and helpful. They also arranged my airport car transfers which all went very smoothly.
I had a standard single en suite room - this came with shower & wc (no bath - not a problem for me) and the bed was quite large for a single and comfortable.
My only real complaint is that the room was very hot and the only way to cool it down was to have the window open - which allowed the city noises in (especially one really annoying car alarm which persistently went off all night). It would have been nice if coffee had been provided to go with the kettle in the room. There are only 2 lifts (elevators in American) which means that the journey between room and lobby can take 5 minutes at busy times.
I had a meal in the bar - reasonably priced, surprisingly good menu, but they do have large screen TVs with the volume up high. Service was polite but rather slow.
Overall, a good business hotel for 1 or 2 nights and I will stay there again since it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meatcruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is located just in the centre. It is comfortable, safe, silent, reasonably priced. You can park your car in the guarded parking lot. The breakfast was reosonable. The restaurant (the name I dont remember) to which you go from the lobby very good. Remember the Russian way is to have starter, main dish and propably a dessert as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is modern, comfortable and convenient hotel for business trip especially. Very good location right in the city center. Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, with all the facilities. Wi-fi is free of charge. Breakfast is nothing special but quite good. Restaurant of the hotel provide some tasty dishes. Most of all I recommend lenten cherry strudel. Unfortunately, it is cooked only in lenten period.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoloto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights in July. I had a twin room with shared bathroom with another guest in the other room. Worked out fine as we were never "home" at the same time. When I walked into my room I got a "dorm feeling". It was like I was back in college again, but the room was nice and clean. Very central location and friendly staff. I would probably stay here again if I were to go to Murmansk again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, go for double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murmansk hotels
0.1 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Murmansk
AZIMUT Hotel Murmansk
#1 of 9 in Murmansk
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Poliarnie Zori Hotel
2 mi away
69 Parallel Hotel
69 Parallel Hotel
#4 of 9 in Murmansk
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ogni Murmanska
Ogni Murmanska
#5 of 9 in Murmansk
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rooms & Breakfast Mini Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glarus
Glarus
#6 of 22 in Murmansk
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridian

Address: Vorovskogo st., 5/23, Murmansk 183038, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > Murmansk Oblast > Murmansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Murmansk
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meridian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing