We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close proximity ”
Review of Volkhov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Volkhov Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close proximity ”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights. This hotel was very close to the major sight seeing spots. Rooms are soviet style - basic and functional. We had two single beds placed together. The room was of a moderate size and contained a fridge and tv. The free wifi was always going to win me over. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    189
    105
    18
    10
See reviews for
67
111
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Novgorod is a small town, so there aren't a lot of options. This hotel has the best location, very close to the Kremlin, and even walking distance from the train and grocery stores. The rooms are very Soviet-esque. Beds are uncomfortable, small basic rooms, but it is a place to crash for the night. They also have a "museum" of left things, which is several cases of objects left in the hotel over the years. Odd, but seems to fit with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for just one night having the seen the hotel on a previous visit to the city.

Really nice property, friendly staff (always a bonus in Russia), and good size rooms - even the singles. OK breakfast, and a nice fresh bar in the lobby.

The location is perfect, within easy walking distance of the Kremlin and other main sites. By far the post hotel in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, you'll have to have the window closed otherwise. It's rather noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Right in the middle of town and accessible to most things you will want to see and do. The hotel is one of those previously grand Russian hotels that have not been upgraded. The staff is most helpful and even provided a box breakfast because we had to leave before the breakfast schedule.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This would be more like 3 star rating, except that it may be the best option in V. Novgorod, and the location and service were great. The location is excellent, it's near one end of the kremlin strip. So you can just walk out of the hotel and go straight to the attractions. And the hotel itself looks fine and is in a nice area with things near by. Also, the front desk people were very helpful (they do speak English). They registered us without us asking, provided all of the information we asked for, and were nice. And, when we checked out a half-day earlier than planned to catch a train, they switched our reservation to a half-day rate for that last day (without us even asking!). The room itself was very average, maybe even slightly below average. It was surprisingly small (our room in Moscow was bigger!), the fixtures were basic, and the carpeting was a little old with some discoloration. The room was worth 3 stars, but everything else moved it up to 4. Also note, I'm not sure there is a better place to stay in town, so this may be the best choice. To sum it up: I would stay here again, but I would investigate other options to see if there was anything that sounded better before doing that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Rooms definetely need to be restaured.
the shower taps were coming off the wall, a chair was falling apart, carpet and walls were very very dirty.
One of the receptionist was helpful, kind and speak good english, the others were quite cold.
The barmaid was rude: he never said hello, thank you, please or whatelse. He behaved like he wasn't there for customers.
With lots of customers there the bar closed at 10pm

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sardegnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A large hotel for what we thought was a small country town which turned into being a large town instead.

Arriving by bus trip from St Petersburg, taxi from the bus depot is only a short trip.

The Volkov is located in a good part of town, opposite Administration buildings and behind that, The Kremlin.

Plenty of inexpensive restaurants and cafes are close by and interesting walks for the evening. All very safe.

The hotel room was modern, clean, a good size bedroom, great bathroom, TV but no English speaking channel, Wi Fi, no valuables safe, no mini bar, heated towel rails, terrific beds for a good night's sleep and everything was spotlessly clean.

But, the taps did fall off the wall and the shower door did fall off. Upon closer inspection, although it all looked good, and was freshly decorated, it appeared to have been done on the cheap. Still, the plusses outweighed the negatives.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: There's really no views to be had from either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliky Novgorod hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
#2 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Intourist Novgorod
Intourist Novgorod
#3 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sadko Hotel
Sadko Hotel
#5 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novgorodskaya
Hotel Novgorodskaya
#7 of 10 in Veliky Novgorod
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tri Kota
Tri Kota
#1 of 18 in Veliky Novgorod
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valeria Guest House
Valeria Guest House
#4 of 18 in Veliky Novgorod
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volkhov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volkhov Hotel

Property: Volkhov Hotel
Address: Predtechenskaya St., 24, Veliky Novgorod 173007, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > Novgorod Oblast > Veliky Novgorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Volkhov Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Volkhov" is located in the centre of a historical part of Novgorod the Great, in immediate proximity from the ancient Kremlin and the Sofia embankment. The hotel includes all the components for residing at time of a business trip or travel: a modern technical equipment, service and the best conditions for having a rest. The closeness to the centre of a city business life and the convenient transport opportunities create comfortable conditions both for active work, and for a good rest which is needed after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Volkhov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volkhov Hotel Novgorod Oblast/Veliky Novgorod, Russia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing