We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise..you get more than what you pay for.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sadko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sadko Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
albury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Surprise..you get more than what you pay for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed 2 nights in August, agree with previous poster.Staff do not speak much English, but gee they do try to communicate with you and always gave me the impression they were doing their best for me.
At $AUS65 the room was small and basic but fresh and modern.
Agree that the öther side of town is probably better as that is where the action(!) is, however i enjoyed the 15 minute stroll across the river and through the kremlin.Breakfast was extremely good buffet, 15 or 20 choices of all types of food, bwd.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank demonsAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    86
    53
    9
    8
See reviews for
47
40
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Staff doesn't speak much English, but I can't fault them for that. They work in a Russian hotel that caters to travelers from all over. Almost better than speaking any other language, in my opinion, is their willingness to communicate. The job gets done.

Rooms aren't the smallest I have had in Europe. Cozy but big enough.

Breakfast was included and quite good.

Hotel is very clean.

Location isn't as big a deal as some make it to be. About 15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride to the Kremlin. It's like anywhere else in the world - want closer? Pay more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JefeBernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have stayed in this hotel for three nights and overall experience was ok, the hotel looked new and very clean. We had to wait for 30 minutes for our room to get prepared because we arrived a bit earlier than check out, but they were keep informing us that it's gonna be done soon, so it was fine. The location is in walking distance to Kremlin and restaurants, just 15 minutes from train station.

We disliked our tiny beds and the room was so little that we didn't even know where to put our luggage too. The breakfast was very nice and offered a lot of different pancakes. We enjoyed it a lot, but didn't really try any other food there.

We had very unpleasant situation with water cutoff: the staff told that there is a breakdown out of hotel that why we not going to have water for several hours. They recommend us to save some water in the tub, but the thing is that we only had shower, so it was impossible.


About Veliky Novgorod I can say that the city is very quite, not a lot of things to do, but we would recommend you to visit restaurant Tsar(Царь)-it was like the best restaurant ever. Also it's very cheap to take cab there-should be no more than 50-70 Rubles, so don't let them rip you off.
Also we had dinner in the hotel center Yurievskoe Podvorie(Юрьевское Подворье)-I will recommend this place to foreigners, since you can experience Russian culture, very nice authentic design of the restaurant, the food is nice and authentic too. It actually very close to old wooden monastery and during our stay they had nice fair close by - the residents were selling wooden toys, beautiful hand made things very cheap!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We recently travelled to Novogorod and having read the reviews decided to try this hotel. Howevere, the receptionist was so rude and uncompetent that we had to cancel our stay and find another hotel.

First there was a very limited number of rooms available to us since we were travelling with small children and we were told to pay an additional 30 USD just for using the fold sofa for the kids.

Then we were forrced into providing all details even from the childrens birth certificates (never happened to me in 11 years in Russia).

Then a tour group arrived and we were simply put asside aand this was simply too much for us.

Instead we stayed at AKRON right in the centre for a fraction of the price, much closer to the kremlin (Sadko is miles away from trh centre especially if you are with small children).

I do not recommend at all SADKO in Novgorod.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FGNONNENMACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Veliky Novgorod hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Århus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

After having stayed in St. Petersburg some nights in a pour and expensive hotel the Sadko hotel felt like coming to heaven!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great place, easy to find and get to. Sort of reformed Soviet hotel. It was clean and room was spacious. Bed was good. The shower had us a bit confused and was hard to get the angle right so the water would go on us and not the wall. Other than that all was good. staff tried hard, even with limited English. the restaurant was really good, some of the nicest Russian food in our trip. the breakfast was good as well. Everything was easy and comfortable

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

It is important to know what to expect from the average three star hotel in Russia: a simple but adequate bathroom, one or two good beds, fairly thin curtains. No air-conditioning, and often central heating (central for the whole city, not just the hotel!).
Sadko has this, but everything is very simple. It is a mid-size hotel in a residential area of Novgorod.
NB: I was a member of a small tour group. We had adequate breakfast in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Happydutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliky Novgorod hotels
1.2 mi away
Volkhov Hotel
Volkhov Hotel
#2 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intourist Novgorod
Intourist Novgorod
#3 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
Park Inn Veliky Novgorod
#1 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Novgorodskaya
Hotel Novgorodskaya
#7 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rosa Vetrov
Rosa Vetrov
#6 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acron Hotel
Acron Hotel
#4 of 9 in Veliky Novgorod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sadko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sadko Hotel

Property: Sadko Hotel
Address: Fyodorovskiy Ruchei St.,16, Veliky Novgorod 173000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > Novgorod Oblast > Veliky Novgorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Veliky Novgorod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sadko Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Sadko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sadko Hotel Novgorod Oblast/Veliky Novgorod, Russia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing