We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice. good resturant, perfect rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Lemesos
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent choice. good resturant, perfect rooms!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed 4 nights when attending some seminars in town. good choice. excellent attention. good dinners, rooms are good (junior suite), did not take breakfast opting to grab coffe at the seminar and sleep more!.

did not walk around too much as using it mostly to sleep and relax.

the internet wi-fi service for free offered is good. the passwords can be used around town with the same provider.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divermariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitry S, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Divermariner,


Thank your very much for your positive comments!

Please note that next time when you stay with us you will have one more alternative to our breakfast buffet in case you prefer waking up later. In Fransmanni bar our morning offer including fried eggs is available until noon.

Please use our Finnish sauna before going to bed to relax and make your sleeping experience even better.

Regards from Olympia team!

Dmitry Shubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    363
    138
    31
    20
See reviews for
99
253
56
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Sokos is a hotel that covers your basic needs for a couple of nights. The front desk is helpful and tries their best to offer a good service but struggles a bit with special requests or when issues arise.

The hotel is functional but lacks personality and charm. Its situated in a good place with walking distance to the metro that will take you to most main sites.

The breakfast buffet offers a good selection and variety but the quality is only ok. The restaurant seems to have a good selection for lunch and dinner but I did not try them.

I was upgraded to a superior room which was nice and clean and with all the basics in place. A good selection of news channels in many languages and a reasonable selection of pay per view. The wireless internet was free of charge and worked well throughout the hotel.

The fitness room and sauna are new and serves the purpose.

A few minor hick-ups included my laundry being a day late and the elevator getting stuck for a few minutes but was resolved without assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard and perhaps away from the elevators as some of my colleagues complaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed there for a business trip. Rooms are very quite, and recently refurbished. Modern confort, and well situated in the city: 5' walk from the metro, and 10' taxi from the center is the traffic is fine.
Breakfast quality was average, but good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gildo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The location is good - about 15 walk to the Sadovaya and also on the way to airport (close to the Moskovskiy prospekt). Metro station is about 5 minute walk. The rooms are not big, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very good with enough choice and everthing fresh. There is a bar/restaurant on the ground floor - enough room, nice interior etc. I liked it much more than some other hotels in St Petersburg on the same price level.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ullake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Sokos for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a Finnish hotel with a very Germanic ambience and interior which all Page and Moy guests appreciated. The breakfasts were excellent but, as the evening meal was part of the package, these were extremely disappointing and uninspiring. We had virtually the same food every night and had to complain to the Page and Moy courier. It made no difference and you felt that the hotel had some cooks but no chefs. I suppose the hotel management would say, if you want food out of the menu, you will have to pay for it. I would expect Page and Moy all the same, to take this matter up with the Sokos management. On one occasion, a friend told the waiter she did not eat the fruit salad provided and was told if she wanted anything else, she would have to pay. This was outrageous. Fortunately, the Head Waitress relented and brought ice cream but it is an attitude you do not expect when you paid a lot of money for the holiday . Our room was very clean, roomy and comfortable, the shower and bathroom were excellent and the television had lots of different national channels, including BBC World. The staff were all generally excellent and prices in the bar area were reasonable eg a pint of beer was £4.50. St Petersburg is a fantastic cultural city and its treasures are memorable. Our trip to the ballet was a highlight too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canoldir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Holland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.

Lobby is big, fast check-in and very friendly staff. English language is no problem and service by staff is friendly. In the lobby there are 2 ATM's. Paying by CC is no problem.

The rooms are clean, nice, standard but very modern. Bed is good of quallity and the bathroom is modern, clean, not spacious but big enough.
Door can be opened with a card, so no keys in your wallet.
The hotel can provide you in business meeting rooms, they are nice, good AC and light.

The restaurant is pretty good, food is nice and a menu that serves traditional and western food. The breakfast is as you may expect for a 4 star hotel.
The restaurant, breakfast area and the hotel bar looked very romantic during our stay (we had beautifull weather + lots of snow).
Surely I would return for an onther visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Well, this hotel is not bad, but taking into account that it's a four stars hotel, it's just fine. The size of the room depends on your luck: my husband and I got quite a spacious room, but our friends had a small one. But they have some more stuff in the bathroom (cream, champoo, etc.) by courtesy of the hotel, we only had soap. We actually didn't understand whether it was because our room was bigger or because the housekeeping was a bit oblivious. The other thing we weren't quite happy about was the size of the wardrobe, it was really tiny. The food in the restaurant is delicious but the waiters are sooooo slow! The bartenders had unhappy faces and never smiled. Finally, once when we asked for a taxi we were given a transfer car with a small boot. I guess, transfer doesn't cost the same as a taxi. Anyway...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#26 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,085 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#38 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,313 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 344 in St. Petersburg
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#37 of 344 in St. Petersburg
611 reviews
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Mosko...
#59 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,228 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#75 of 344 in St. Petersburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing