We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy going hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #61 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Easy going hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Olympic Garden is on the way from airport to the city centre. It is close to metro line, so it's quite easy connect to the rest of the city. Hotel is relatively new and has comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wertti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Wertti5,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am glad that you called our hotel 'easy going' as easy is one of our core values.

Wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    341
    129
    29
    20
See reviews for
94
240
53
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

i reserved cruise tour from Helsinki to st.peter by st.peter line cruise and spent 1 night in Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden in July 2011 i reserved every thing from (Nordic Ferry Center agency )
the city was great and the room in the hotel was clean , beautifully designed , the food was too much and wonderful only 1 problem it was a Little far from the main attractions and very far from the port , the transportations was bad even the private bus service was bad and the drivers don't understand English .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islamshousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Manager at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Islamshousha,

Thank you very much for you feedback!
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The transportation was organized by Nordic Ferry Center and I am sorry you didn't like it. For the next visit I would recommend you to use our hotel transportation service to avoid any negotive impressions. Our hotel is situated a bit far from the port but has one of the best location on the way to the airport, central railway station and city center.

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel is mid-rated among 4 stars hotels. The rooms are decorated beautifully with classic furniture and equipped very well with almost every things expected. Air conditioning was not good enough in the hot weather of St. Petersburg summer.
Housekeeping services was not perfect and may be oblivious to complete their jobs everyday. The Reception was warm and welcoming but the restaurant staff were slow and unhappy. The hotel's restaurant was not excellent but it was good enough specially its breakfast. The hotel lobby was simple and not very big but there was good place in front of hotel to sit and relax.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoheilTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear SoheilTF,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you very much for your feedback!

I am very glad to hear that you liked our rooms and reception service. I am very sorry that you were not very much satisfied with other hotel services. We would like to do our best to improve it and I will appreciate if you kindly spend a couple of minutes sharing the dates, room number and maybe some detailed information about your stay. My e-mail is: rdmanager.og@shotels.ru , it would help us a lot for further development. Thanks in advance for your time!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Anna Chuklova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have now stayed in this hotel three times. The first time I thought it was good in respect of western standards but now realise that compared with the other hotels in St.Petersburg it is an excellent establishment.
All visits have been on business and some more than a few days. What I like is that it's locate is within a beautiful part of St.P with a small park surrounding it.
Reception is welcoming, bar and general restaurants are good value and good quality but the breakfast stands out with a good fresh range offering to all tastes. Perhaps this is why there is a huge international patronage.
Rooms are of a very high standard and for what you pay in my opinion are above expectations. When i had no phone charger and they didnt have one they kindly took me to the Mvideo store and explained my predicament and i got what i needed. Highly recommend to all business and holiday people

Room Tip: I stayed facing the courtyard. Extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for making our hotel your address in St. Petersburg!
I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden.

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemesos
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed 4 nights when attending some seminars in town. good choice. excellent attention. good dinners, rooms are good (junior suite), did not take breakfast opting to grab coffe at the seminar and sleep more!.

did not walk around too much as using it mostly to sleep and relax.

the internet wi-fi service for free offered is good. the passwords can be used around town with the same provider.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divermariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitry S, General Manager at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Divermariner,


Thank your very much for your positive comments!

Please note that next time when you stay with us you will have one more alternative to our breakfast buffet in case you prefer waking up later. In Fransmanni bar our morning offer including fried eggs is available until noon.

Please use our Finnish sauna before going to bed to relax and make your sleeping experience even better.

Regards from Olympia team!

Dmitry Shubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Sokos is a hotel that covers your basic needs for a couple of nights. The front desk is helpful and tries their best to offer a good service but struggles a bit with special requests or when issues arise.

The hotel is functional but lacks personality and charm. Its situated in a good place with walking distance to the metro that will take you to most main sites.

The breakfast buffet offers a good selection and variety but the quality is only ok. The restaurant seems to have a good selection for lunch and dinner but I did not try them.

I was upgraded to a superior room which was nice and clean and with all the basics in place. A good selection of news channels in many languages and a reasonable selection of pay per view. The wireless internet was free of charge and worked well throughout the hotel.

The fitness room and sauna are new and serves the purpose.

A few minor hick-ups included my laundry being a day late and the elevator getting stuck for a few minutes but was resolved without assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard and perhaps away from the elevators as some of my colleagues complaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed there for a business trip. Rooms are very quite, and recently refurbished. Modern confort, and well situated in the city: 5' walk from the metro, and 10' taxi from the center is the traffic is fine.
Breakfast quality was average, but good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gildo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#43 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Liteyny
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Radisson Sonya Hotel
#56 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#49 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#42 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Property: Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing