We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #56 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Maryborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“More than happy to recommend”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are currently at Sokos Hotel Olympic Garden and are completely happy with everything here so far. There was a small problem with our shower panel, we reported it last night and we came back in this afternoon and it had been attended to.
The rooms are not as spacious as our Moscow room, but quite adequate and comfortable. The one small disappointment is no tea/coffee making facilities in room, but there is free wi-fi in room.
Location is great with only about 10 minutes drive to main city area, but with shops, chemist etc all close by.
Would ha ppily recommend this hotel for a nice stay in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Australiangroup,
Thank you for your overall short and positive comment. It is always great to read our guests have enjoyed their stay and taking time to post their experiences on Trip Advisor page.
I appreciate all the comments of our guests to maintain high standards of service.
Regarding to the rooms, I would like to say that our junior suites and suites more spacious than standards, and we have tea pots and coffee machines in the rooms from superior category. But I am taking your comments into consideration.
I am pleased you found our location to be suitable for St. Petersburg’s top attractions.
We hope to be of service to you again during the your future visits to this wonderful city.
Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    368
    140
    32
    20
See reviews for
103
258
56
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent three days in St. Petersburg and were really glad we chose this hotel. The included breakfast was good, the rooms clean and the view quite nice as well. The reception staff was exceptionally helpful and spoke very good english. For a first time stay in Russia it was very nice to have someone to guide you around, order taxis for you and get a fixed price for them. The hotel is just a few minutes away from the next metro so it was easy to get around the city from there. Will definitely be back there and to St. Petersburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Örn Ingvar Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Örn Ingvar Á!
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent experience at Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden.
I am glad to hear that your first time in St.Petersburg was an enjoyable one. Also I am very happy that you found our staff welcoming and attentive. Our team members take great pride in making each and every guest feel welcome during their visit here.
We are looking forward to being your host again on one of your future visits to St. Petersburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

the hotel is an avarage tours hotel. nice clean rooms - not big, clean, food (breackfast and dinner) OK nothing special. location a bit far from center in an uninteresting neighbourhood. if you come with a groop it's OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baeinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear baeinav,
Thank You for choosing our hotel for your trip and thank you for your feedback.
Even being located not in the main touristic area it is very easy to get to the center by underground. The location of our hotel is indeed very convenient both for the travellers and the businessmen.
We are very sorry that you found our neighborhood area uninteresting, because in spite of the fact that our hotel is located in a calm area, it is surrounded by diverse variety of a historical, cultural and entertainment attractions.
One of the most monumental cathedrals in Saint-Peterburg – Troitsky Cathedral that represents late classicism period in architecture of the city, can be found in a 10-minute walking distance.
Also on the Moskovsky avenue you can find a very amusing monument – a big board representing Mendeleev’s table of chemical elements that is placed on the wall of the building.
The hotel is located in quite a green area represented by two beautiful parks – Yusupovsky Garden along the famous Fontanka river, with cannels, ponds and flowerbeds. The second one, Polish Garden, is located on the territory of a former estate of a famous russian poet G.Derzhavin.
If you would like to travel in St Pete individually we will be happy to see You as our client again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tornio, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel was located near the metro station. The metro was easy to use thoug we didn't speak Russian at all.

Our room was very comfortable. The beads were excellent. It was nice and clean everywhere. The staff was friendly and they spoke English. The breakfast buffet was excellent too. There were salmon, vegetables, fruits, yougurt, porrige, eggs made in different ways, sausages etc... It was also possible to have warm milk with coffee.

The only minus point was a common sauna. There were no sauna for women only.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woman_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Woman_1965,
Thank You very much for the positive feedback of our everyday work. We always try to make our guests’ stay relaxed and spontaneous.
Our main concept really is to be easy and comfortable for the clients. Business and leisure travelers – everybody can find something for their own in Sokos Olympia Garden: starting from room amenities up to food and beverage variety.
Unfortunately we do not have separate scheduling in sauna for men and women but our sister-hotel Palace Bridge on Vasilievsky island have beautiful SPA and relaxing centre that all guests can use for free while staying in our hotels.
We hope that you will keep coming to our hotel whenever you are in Saint-Petersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Perfectly located in only 5-7 minutes from the metro station, it takes you only 3 stops to get to the heart of the city. Very cozy spacy rooms with GREAT soft pillows!! (what is also important for a good sleep). On the ground floor there is a restaurant and a bar which is also very spacy and with a possibility to eat on the terrace.
There is also a very nice fire-place and it's relaxing to sit in front of it with a glass of wine in the evening.
The breakfast offer was plentiful, one could find everything on the plate!!

Personnel at the reception is very friendly and helpful with everything.

If you decide to spend your time in this hotel, good time for you is quaranteed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violetta16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Violetta16,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. It’s a pleasure for us to know that we managed to make your stay nice and comfortable. The location of our hotel is indeed very convenient both for the travellers and the businessmen. And of course the equipment and design of the rooms helps our guests to feel relaxed and taken care of.
We are happy to know that you liked the new menu of our french-cuisine restaurant as well as its design. The territory both of the restaurant and the bar despite the fact of being very spacious, is divided into different areas what makes it cosy and charming. And of course the fire-place also plays great role in creating an atmosphere of a homelike place where you want to spend a good time with your friends and relatives.
We hope that you will keep coming to our hotel whenever you are in Saint-Petersburg and that the time you have spent here will always be a good memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Really liked this hotel and thought it gave us great value. The rooms are very nice, with beautiful wood flooring, nice bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. The bar and restaurant are quite nice, bar open til 5am! Every evening they had something going on in the restaurant it seemed, and the food quality was pretty good. The bartenders are great and they offer up some very nice beers on tap as well as all sorts of mixed drinks and booze, and I enjoyed having a nice after dinner drink upon our return from a long day of sightseeing.

The location is not right on Nevsky, but you are only 2 subway stops right from the center, and the area feels local but you can also walk to town in say 20-30 minutes if you so choose. There's a very nice church right down the road too that is worth a visit.

All in all an efficient and well run hotel and also very clean. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money, especially for St. Petersburg and Russia.

Pros:
-very nice clean rooms
-nice bar and restaurant area
-spa very nice as well
-good wifi service and many international TV channels with nice flatscreen TV
-good service
-location is decent - not too far from the center, easy acces via the Metro
-quiet area, not loud at all

Cons:

-location: as I said, I think it's fine, just a short walk to the subway station that's 2 blocks away, but not a centrally located hotel right on Nevsky. That's ok with me though given the great value this hotel offers - you could walk to the center in 25 minutes if you wanted too. It's really not that far out as the crow flies; (trust me I walked back from the Hermitage);
-bit of an older crowd, there are a lot of tourist groups coming in and out from Spain, Italy, Turkey, Germany etc. Didn't bother me though, was nice to have the restaurant full and the bar fairly busy.Much preferrable to having a bunch of 20-something carousers keeping me up all night

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny_C_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Johnny_C_NYC,

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is very important for us to get such detailed comments regarding our hotel and it would be also useful for other customers.
I am happy that you found the excellent value for money and you are absolutely right that it not common in St. Petersburg. Here each customer would have quiet clean specious rooms with really comfortable beds, free GYM which is opened 24 hours, free speed WI-FI, 2 types of saunas and such a nice small benefits as free welcome drink.
I am really glad that you would choose Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden next time and I hope to see you as our permanent guest soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel has mixed reviews but I liked the place. Clean, quiet and most of the staff were friendly and helpful. I believe if you approach the counter with a smile, you'll get one in return. And if you attempt to say thank you in their language, they'll love you forever! Friendliness works both ways. The good stuff: free wi-fi throughout the hotel. The buffet breakfast was very extensive with every kind of breakfast you could ever want: cooked, continental, salads, breads, sweet pastries, fruit juices, coffee and many kinds of tea. The restaurant is well laid out with room to move around the buffet serving areas and the seating arranged in small or medium groups. I had an evening meal twice in the bar and both times it was delicious and very reasonably priced ($57 NZ for both meals with soft drinks, including the bank's exchange rate commission as I charged them to my Visa card). The location of the hotel is quite good, with just a five minute walk to the Metro, which is really easy to use compared to Moscow's metro. All stations have the names in both the Latin and Cyrillic alphabets.
The not-so-good: No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. No problem, I took my own. An in-mug immersion heater, mug, knife, fork & spoon plus tea bags and milk powder. (Most of Europe does not have this facility). All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend as being value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear NZTraveller666,

Thank You for your feedback. With help of our guests we can always improve our services.

As you noticed we have free WI-FI internet which is available all over the hotel and we always care so everybody could use Internet timely for their needs. In case if somebody doesn’t have an internet-device we have a business-corner with several laptops and printer that are approachable 24/7.
I am very grateful to you for a feedback of our breakfast and bar service. Our chief and his team work hard for creating an opportunities for every guest to find preferable and delicious food and for fulfilling their various expectations.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room are available starting from superior room category which could be ordered for a small additional charge. You can always change your room type upon the check-in in case of room availability. Our reception staff would be glad to help you with getting better room.
Our main idea is to make stay of all our guests in Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden as comfortable and relaxing as their own homes.
Look forward seeing you in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#26 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,115 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#35 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#46 of 349 in St. Petersburg
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Mosko...
#59 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,247 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard by Marriott Pushkin
Courtyard by Marriott Pushkin
#36 of 349 in St. Petersburg
617 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#74 of 349 in St. Petersburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing