We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magic staff, warm athmospher and all things nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cuba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cuba Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magic staff, warm athmospher and all things nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

after having spent the last four months living in Moscow. i decided to hop on cheap flight to St. Petersburg (Alone) . the moment i entered Cuba hostile i was greeted with warmth and genuinely interesting conversation.
the place has been decorated beautifully with lots of Little details and pops of color that make you feel as though you may just be in a house in Cuba not Russia. The kitchen is well equipped and there a super nice and homey dining room that you can enjoy your meal in with new found friends.

the staff have a really great energy and i was looked after so well by them. i even went out on the first night with Anna, who took me for a drink and dance at few local places that are not touristic but buzzing with with creative people and music.
and Julia one of the great girls that works there helped to find a cemetery just out side of st peters burg that was tricky to reach for a person like myself who speaks no Russian.
And when i stupidly got my camera stolen at a park in St. Petersburg one of the lovely staff came with me to the police station to translate (it would have been impossible with out her) my misfortune to the police man.
The communal area is super chilled out with fast internet and free tea/ coffee and if your lucky biscuits. They will also wash your clothes and have them dried and ready within a few hours for a small fee.
i would most definitely stay here again. i arrived alone and left with friendship and fond memories....
joletta thorburn (UK)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoletta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
2
15
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cuba hostel is located a few minutes walking from the Nevski, next to the Kazan Cathedral. Everything is walkable from here; for example the Hermitage and the Neva are about ten minutes away. During my stay I experienced a very friendly and open staff, always ready to help or talk when you ask for it, even in the middle of the night. They make this place very relaxed and give the feeling of being welcome and home. There's free thee and coffee available, and other drinks for a reasonable price. The dorms are simple but clean enough, the showers have hot water, and its absolutely safe to leave your stuff behind. For this price per night you will have what you need, in the middle of the centre of the city. I would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingdutchman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is easy to find, some of the staff are very helpful and friendly. The showers are decent enough and the toilets seem clean.
Their hair dryer is free, Internet is fast, the one shower I stuck to is hot, they have a washer AND dryer service, and they sell drinks at a reasonable price.
However, the lockers are too small for a small suitcase but enough to fit your small valubles, there are no bedside lamps just one big light, alot of taps didn't work which wasn't a big issue for me, the oven was broken, and I constantly felt like I was stepping on bits of dirt in my room if I was barefoot.
the location is fantastic, its within ten minutes walking distance to most of the main highlights including the hermatige and church of spilled blood.
However, I also got a room close to the reception area and could not sleep from the noise!
The people partying in the comon did leave at a reasonable time. But the hostel worker insisted on taking phone calls loudly all night, stomping around In his heavy boots and talking rather loudly/not telling the people who also were to quieten down after the 11pm no noise curfew. So just for the lack of consideration I probably wouldn't stay here again, or would request the upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I visited in this hostel at spring 2013. Mostly I enjoyed the time. First night was bit weird because some americans had sex in bunk next to mine but after I got smaller room and payed bit more I enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Staff was very nice and helpful. I also got own locker for my valuables. Location is also great the hostel is 200m from main street so you only need to step out of the door and your in the city center. Minus was from registration because it should be free but Cuba hostel charged few hundred rubles from me and as a student it is a problem.

Over all I can recommend this place for every one who want to travel cheaply and likes to be near to center.

Room Tip: I recommend that you choose a bit more expensive room so the "party animals" wont desterb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location is just great and the facilities were in good working order.
It is very close to the main street "Nevsky Prospect". From the main street you turn into Kazanskaya Street and it is the building number 5 on right side of the street.
You pay 200 rubles as a deposit for the key.
Overall it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogussahinoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Excellent location and very good and clean ambient. The staff was very friendly. The building is a little bit old, and have to climb a few flights of stairs to get to the Hostel, but It's not a barrier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo Henrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
283 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hostel is very average but I can't complain because for 490 rubles, its as good as it gets probably. Good Value, great location but not somewhere Id spend more than a few days.
Lets start with the good things:
-very friendly staff and English speaking
-free powerful wifi
-free clean sheets and towels
-free coffee and tea
-incredibly suitable location
-printer available

Now the negatives:
-kitchen is limited, the oven wasn't working
-some of the showers weren't working
-out of 4 taps, only 1 was working (of course the cold one)
-ugly building and smelly reception area
-not very nice toilets

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoDaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Baby Lemonade Hostel
#3 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
#1 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hostel Vaskin Dom
#4 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Hostel 1912
Hostel 1912
#2 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Admiralteisky
Simple Hostel
Simple Hostel
#9 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Vladimir
Taiga Hostel
Taiga Hostel
#11 of 1,536 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuba Hostel

Property: Cuba Hostel
Address: Kazanskaya St., 5 | 3 floor, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,536 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuba Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lifetime experience. There's a revolutionary inside of all of us! Recommended by LONELY PLANET. Author's choice Let's see if you're rrreally smart! Quizz: What does Rachmaninov have to do with Che Guevara? Answer: CUBAHOSTEL Cubahostel is located in the very same building where the famous composer Rachmaninov has lived and worked. Years later, it was made a Socialist Communalka. Nowadays, it is the right choice for those looking for budget prices in the very heart of St Petersburg. Best cost benefit rate since you are within walking distance to the Hermitage, and just behind Kazan Cathedral. A 3 minute walk from the subway - the famous Nevsky Prospect. Art, history and Russian culture with a few shots of vodka to spice! So, if you are rrreally smart, Cubahostel is the place for you! Night Life : The best lesson from Socialism is sharing! That's why our team is always keen to go out with our guests. Mainly to the places and parties that are NOT in the guidebooks, sharing experiences from a local point of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cuba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing