We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I missed in Europe”
Review of Kavkaz Bar

Kavkaz Bar
Ranked #356 of 10,453 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nevskiy
Description: In the heart of St. Petersburg, a short walk from Nevsky Prospekt, 18 Karavannaja St, settled area of ​​the Caucasian hospitality. Satsivi, khinkali, pasties, chanakhi - even those few titles caress the ear like music, and even taste ... In the menu - a lot of kebabs, familiar to all basturma, kebab, soup kharcho prepared from an ancient recipe, stuffed eggplant. .. fabulous dishes seasoned with spices sunny south and the unique atmosphere of generosity that will warm your heart and soul. And, of course, the best wines of the Caucasus, France, Spain, Chile is pouring river. Hence it will not want to leave!
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just what I missed in Europe”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly Georgian atmosphere, excellent food and matching demisweet red wine. A pity we don't have this type of resto in Belgium... Service was excellent, no mistakes, good recommendations but a bit slow for Russia (fast for Belgian standards). The bill was below 90 Euro for two including wine, definitely worth the satisfaction received.
They also serve food 'to go', which could be handy for some. Location is just off Nevsky in an excellent walking area, lots of parking space.
Will be back for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tikhon-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    63
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very well made food, but a little slow.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We order 6 dishes between 2. All were extremely well made, and exotic (to us - as it was only our 2nd Georgian/ Caucasian restaurant). Very friendly staff, who spoke much better English than most in St Petersburg. Wide selection on the menu. If it just says 'meat', it means 'lamb'. Plenty of other meats and fish though. Very good range of vegetarian options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Georgian meal in st. Petersburg”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We tried this Georgian restaurant as it was in walking distance from the Corinthian hotel and off nevsky prospect. For a starter I had vine leaves filled with minced meat,called Tolma which came with a Yummy yoghurt sauce with garlic and was very good. Friends I was with had soup and they were pleased with the soups too.

For our main course We had shashlik, i.e. shiesh kebabs, lamb cubes on skewer on a piece of lavash thin bread. It was also very tasty, lamb was also tender and well flavoured. I had the 'famous'Georgian fizzy water which is supposed to be good for you, but it wasn't nice tasting! No alcohol for me and my bill for the three items I had was around $45 or £28 before tip which is average price in St. Petersburg. Overall a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, really bad service ”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Quality of the food was above average but we waited for an hour to get the main dishes. We got one of the entries after getting the main dish and the second entry is not here yet even though we already finished the main dishes. On top of this the waitresses were far from gentle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Massachussetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Georgian Meal”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was our first meal in Russia....and it didn't disappoint...a spirited wedding in back room (we loved it)...beautiful decor with tan colored linen tablecloths...small intimate room with great, well seasoned, complex tasting food and friendly English speaking waitress...and contrary to one review we didn't find the wine excessively pricey.There is a problem with the government prohibiting the excellent Georgian wines from entering the country...too bad for us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kavkaz Bar also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Kavkaz Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing