We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and experience. Just need to be Patient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palkin

Palkin
Ranked #14 of 10,182 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$216
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and experience. Just need to be Patient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall, this restaurant was a great experience. Total white glove service and excellent food. I had Cream Soup of Cep Mushrooms, Hare’s Cutlets with Foie Gras and Black Truffles, and Doe Deer and Wild Boar Dumplings. All of our food was delicious and given the service, I feel that the cost was well worth it. Part of the service was quite a show including using LN2 to make ice cream and to cool you down during the palette cleanser.

The only caveat was that it turned into a 5 hour affair, so you cannot be in a rush and must savor your time there. For us, celebrating a birthday, it was well worth it and I'm glad we went there. The walk afterwards during White Nights was also quite fantastic with the night lights on Nevskiy Prospekt

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    146
    45
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, but beer seems to be a challenge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was invited to dinner here and I must say the qualtiy of food was excellent, the staff also attentive. The restaurant was rather empty, however, which surprised me, I hope this is not an ode of worse things to come. One unusual observation - my partner and I ordered beers because it was hot outside and this somehow put the restaurant on the spot. The waiter was a little lost, then said he will "organize" it which he did (the beer itself was Russian and good), but on the bill, we found that it was written as a "special" extra, which seemed interesting (do they only drink wine and vodka there?).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“THEY HAVE RUSSIAN AND FRENCH OYSTERS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This restaurant has a turn of the century setting that is nearly convincing. It is very popular so RESERVE well in advance. There is something in Russia that we westerners are not very familiar. The doors to the very best venues are small and unimpressive, but when you cross the threshold you are in for a surprise. This is what happened with this restaurant ant most prestigious shops in the Nevsky Prospect. You see the door and you think to yourself "am I in the right address"? Go in this small door and you are in another world. The restaurant is on the second floor. Going up from a large staircase you enter the restaurant that is most impressive. The English speaking waiter (there is only one) is called Roustam and is from the Kafkases. A most convincing character he convinced me to have French oysters and get me one complimentary Russian cooked oyster. They were both fantastic, but you should see the size of the wild north sea Russian oyster. Our evening was very pleasant as there were a Russian group of people that had (and continue to have) some bottles of vodka and they were singing. The food is very well prepared and very tasty. It is served with great pomp. The food comes to table covered with lids, and they pull the lids counting to three. Most impressive. It is not cheap. A full meal, with desert, (although we promised ourselves not to have desert, we gave in to our weakness when we saw the deserts that were going around) will come to $300. Ah, I forgot to say Roustam advised us to drink a special vodka that was twice the price of the usual Ruskii Standard. To be honest we did not understood the difference but we had a good laugh when we got the bill. Be good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Well worth a fine dining experience with excellent food,commendable service and personalized attention.Artistic and eye catching decor in luxurious setting. The highlight was "The St.Petersburg Summer Winter Breeze" served in a bucket of ice with snowy froth.See pictures.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Last Night Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After four weeks of travel through this vast country we treated ourselves to the fine dining experience that we will remember for a long time. Amazing service, table cooking done with aplomb. Carefully considered extra like sorbet to cleanse the palate between courses, a delightfully little starter. Great home made breads with three types of flavoured butters. Amazing wine choice. Could not fault the place. They fillet my fish, made my crepe Suzette in front of me. Been a long time since I experienced such great service. They have recipes from the Imperial days, we sampled several and were left in awe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAZJMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palkin also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Palkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing