We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast Food Russian Style at Stolle Pie Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stolle - CLOSED

Stolle
Cuisines: Russian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Fast Food Russian Style at Stolle Pie Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We visited Stolle for a late lunch as part of our organised tour of St Petersburg. Great quick meal where they have around 15 different meat / fish pies along with quite a few fruit versions. I had a half portion of their Rabbit Pie and a half of Apricot Pie. Both were delicious.

Highly recommended quirky visit with good quality food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirktoncoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013


We went to the branch near the Church on Spilled Blood (walking towards it from Nevsky Prospekt, turn left when you reach the church on your right - it is on the left hand side after a souvenir shop). It was around 2pm so found a table with relative ease - I suspect this would not be the case an hour earlier.

Bearing in mind how expensive St. Petersburg (and Russian cities in general) appears to be, this place is truly excellent; we each had two slices of pie - more than enough - and a beer for under £10.

Menus are available in english and the service is fast and efficient. Wish we could have visited more than once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stolle Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Excellent pies at Stolle. During our 5 day trip to St Petersburg we visited Stolle 3 times so impressed were we with the quality of this 'fast food'.
I'm usually not a fan of savoury pies but once i'd tasted the ones at Stolle it was hard not to come back for more. The sweet pies are very good too.
We went to 2 different branches and always had good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Great pies and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lots of branches in St Petersburg and, I believe, elsewhere in Russia.
Not fine dining but more Russian fast food, but fast doesn't mean average or boring. Great place for lunch and the range of pies has something for everyone including vegetarian options; we particularly liked the rabbit and the salmon. There are also fruit pies for dessert and a number of cakes, as well as other options/extras like salads and soups. The pies are clearly made on the premises and come out hot and fresh, then sliced (the basic offering is one large slice or 2 smaller ones of different types). You're usually served very quickly though there can be queues, and sometimes a wait before a particular type of pie is ready. There's a good range of drinks available, including several beers.
We thought the food very good, especially at the very reasonable price. Not surprisingly we were told that they're a real institution in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, Lunch or Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family loved Stolle Pie Shop. There are a number of them in St Petersburg (we went to 2, one near Mariinskiy Theater before the ballet and one on Nevsky, not far from the Hermitage.) The pies are great, we especially liked the cabbage and the mushroom pies. The dessert pies are good too and there are other non-pie items available. These aren't pies like we think of them in America, but a savory or sweet filling in a delicious breadlike crust. The best surprise for food in St Petersburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clementine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stolle also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing