We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbearably hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Hotel
Ranked #155 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
World
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“unbearably hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The gentleman at the reception was very helpful and polite. The room was unbearable because of the heat. There's a blasting heater which is not controllable by anyone. He said the city provides the heating - what a waste: blast heat and then it can only be regulated by leaving window open all night. Luckily they found me another hotel the next day. Breakfast buffet had oatmeal and buckwheat but both were in the same container as sausage so were unbearable for a vegetarian. But I had 2 oranges for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you had to face the heating problem which we could not remedy as we have central heating at all our hotels, which we cannot influence upon. At the same time we are glad that we managed to find an alternative room for you, which we always try to do should our guests experience any problems and require room change. It is our policy to always do everything within our power to offer our guests maximum attention and personilized service. We wish you all the best and hope you will choose one of the Nevsky Hotels for your next trip to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    87
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
73
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was just great! Perfect location, great value, good comfort and cleanliness, nice and polite staff, tasty breakfast. Shower room was a little small but it wasn't a big problem.

I want to say a special thank to administrators Irina and Aleksey. We has 20 years reunion with our friends who stay in different hotel across the street but hotel was the part of same franchise chain. Administrator Irina allowed us to eat breakfast at our friend's location.This way we had more time to spend together with our friends. We would recommend this hotel to anybody who travel to St.Petersburg and next our trip we going to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Alla,
Thank you for taking the time to share. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass your words of gratitude to Irina and Alexey. We thank you for choosing SKYHOTEL and will be happy to see you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Is it customary to be charged 200 rubles for "visa registering" when one checks in....employee did not provide receipt but instead gave official looking slip.
I had prepaid room on line.
On 3 day no visa excursion with St Peter Line ferries from Helsinki.

Otherwise good location, bathrooms clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to post your review. We wish you all the best and will be delighted to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

For a hostel I was really impressed with everything!!
Tv, wifi, communal kitchen, helpful and friendly receptionists. Comfy beds. Very safe- 2 entrances- one opens onto a 100m walk away from the hermitage without the crowds! (Closed from midnight and for the other a code is needed). Electronic key card for building and rooms.
Clean (I think I saw the cleaner most, if not every day!)
The only things that could be improved (and im being picky!) are ensure lockers have working keys in dorms, the strength of wifi in some rooms, more literature available for local attractions, for all receptionists to be as good as the best/lead ones as some didn't even say hello or goodbye (in any language!!) when coming and going.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrandon22482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in a twin room with our own bathroom, the room was really small but clean and enough space for our 2 big backpacks..
They have a chill out area with a microwave and a kessle to prepare your own food from the supermarket opposite the hotel ;).
Breakfast was served in the partner hotel nearby- basic , but with everything you need for a good start in the day, cereals, fruits, bread, juice...
Staff was friendly and helpful! Unfortunately we found out about the chill out area on our last day.
The price was less than 30€ per night and the location perfect at Nevsky Prospect.
We definitely would stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Hearing that you have enjoyed the SKYHOTEL experience was very rewarding for us! We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The key interests of this Hotel are its room rates and its location in the inner city right by the Nevski Prospect and the Church of the Savior. The hotel is actually located at the 6th and 7th floors of a quite old building but all the rooms have been recently refurbished. If you book a room on the 7th floor, then you'll have you own bathroom whereas if your room is located on the 6th floor, you'll not only spend a little bit less but also have shared (but clean) bathrooms (male/female seperated).
In the morning after you wake up, you'll have to walk to another Hotel (Aston hotel) located 100m away from the hotel in order to enjoy your breakfast (a buffet is proposed). Among the amenities proposed by the hotel, you'll find free wifi and a kitchen. The staff is helpful and can provide you with maps of the city.
Enjoy your stay and make the most of the city!

Room Tip: The hotel is actually located at the 6th and 7th floors of a quite old building but all the rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_D_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us and we are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. We wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The best location you can have in St. Petersburg. 10 minutes walk from the spilled blood church, 10 minutes from the hermitage, 20 minutes walk from the railway station and 1 minutes from the best shops. It is not a hotel: I rather say that it is a 5 stars hostel. The girl at the reception is very helpful and attentive, rooms and comunal areas are very clean and in 3 days I met just 1 girl in the share bathroom.
It is not an high level hotel but for 3 days it was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sardegnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best and shall be delighted to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#137 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#69 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#67 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#118 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#30 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 17, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Hotel is a new quiet mini-hotel in the historical center of St. Petersburg, the so-called "Golden triangle". There are: Nevsky prospect, Palace square, the Hermitage, Russian Museum - сlose to the hotel. Also, embankment of the Neva River , the Admiralty and Kazansky Cathedral are near. Leaving the hotel You are at one of the most beautiful and romantic streets of our city, where are located the world's most famous brands and Department store DLT. Nearby are many restaurants, bars and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing