We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sky Hotel
Ranked #144 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in this hostel at the end of march. It was part of our Peking Express trip (starting in St. Petersburg). When we were there we were supposed to get our traintickets to Moskou and Ulaanbataar. They did arrive, but not for my boyfriend. It had nothing to do with the hostel (it was a tourcompany who was responsible for our tickets) but the girl at the recepcion (who spoke really good english) tried everything to get us both the tickets! She called the company several times and in the end when it didnt work out she told us about all our alternatives to get to Moskou in time. (In the end the tickets did arrive, so it wasnt necessary). But what Im trying to say is that she was really helpfull! The room was small, but for us that didnt matter at all, it was clean, including the linnen, the toilets and bathroom (shared)! Breakfast was included (in another building close to the hostel) and was more than we expected from a budget hostel! Tip for the crew, do show your hotel sign better and make it easier to come in the first time you arrive. For us it wasnt clear, but there was a friendly old Russian lady who let us in the building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirthe T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were happy with your stay with us and certainly thank our front office team on your behalf. Thank you for your comment about our sign displayed in the street. We shall think what we can do to make it clearly visible.
We wish you all the best and will be happy to welcome you again soon.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    86
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
70
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in the beginning of May, price was really less than average for the same class of hotels. The heart of city, all major attractions are in 10-15 minutes walking. Room was small but clean and enough to keep backpacks and feel yourself comfortable. Was nicely surprised by the people workng there, Alexei was friendly and always ready to explain all necessary details about the city. It always makes your being abroad easily and remarkable when you meet the person s like Alexei. I got complete satisfaction from staying in Peterburg.In London where I live you hardly find for this money even a hostel. I'll stay next time only here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jura2002s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass your words of gratitude to Alexey. We thank you for choosing SKYHOTEL and hope you will provide us with another opportunity of welcoming you some day soon.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

NEGATIVES:
We stayed in this Hotel at the beginning of October 2013.
The first impression was awful: you enter a shared corridor in a really poor condition.
The receptionist, Mr. Aleksej has been very rude to us: he pretended that there weren’t rooms with private toilet in the Hotel, treated us arrogantly, until I decided to call the agency.
We were tired from the long trip, and he left us waiting in the middle of the corridor for more than 1 hour; after that, he finally “found” us a small, but cleaned, room at 7th floor WITH private toilet.
The heating was so strong that we slept all night with the windows open, as there was no chance to regulate it.
What’s more, they serve you breakfast in another building, 100 m away, and they haven’t any luggage storage.
POSITIVES:
This Hotel is definitely in a strategic location: is near to Nevsky Prospekt, the Saviour Church, the Stroganoff Building and the Hermitage.
If you want to sleep just a couple of nights near the city center and save up money, than it's ok.
Last note: the other receptionist we met, Irina, was extreamly loveable and useful, she gave us loads of tourist information.

Room Tip: room at 7th floor with private toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcy872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing SkyHotel and for taking the time to post your review. We take our guests’ comments very seriously, investigate and follow up every feedback. Ours is a very small property with only 15 rooms: 7 rooms with shared bathroom facilities and 8 rooms with private bathrooms. The rooms are allocated according to the guests’ requests and it can be difficult to change the room upon guests’ arrival as the hotel is usually pretty full. And that’s exactly what happened: all the rooms with private facilities were occupied at the moment when you arrived at the hotel, and we had to wait for an hour before one room has been vacated and cleaned up for you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, but there was hardly anything we could do at the moment. SkyHotel is very small and does not have either breakfast room or luggage room. This information is available on our website and on the websites of our partners. However we have other hotels in our hotel chain, and if you could consider giving us a second chance we would be happy to welcome you to our other properties where all the rooms have private bathrooms and where breakfast is provided on site. We apologize again and sincerely hope to restore your faith in Nevsky Hotels.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The gentleman at the reception was very helpful and polite. The room was unbearable because of the heat. There's a blasting heater which is not controllable by anyone. He said the city provides the heating - what a waste: blast heat and then it can only be regulated by leaving window open all night. Luckily they found me another hotel the next day. Breakfast buffet had oatmeal and buckwheat but both were in the same container as sausage so were unbearable for a vegetarian. But I had 2 oranges for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you had to face the heating problem which we could not remedy as we have central heating at all our hotels, which we cannot influence upon. At the same time we are glad that we managed to find an alternative room for you, which we always try to do should our guests experience any problems and require room change. It is our policy to always do everything within our power to offer our guests maximum attention and personilized service. We wish you all the best and hope you will choose one of the Nevsky Hotels for your next trip to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was just great! Perfect location, great value, good comfort and cleanliness, nice and polite staff, tasty breakfast. Shower room was a little small but it wasn't a big problem.

I want to say a special thank to administrators Irina and Aleksey. We has 20 years reunion with our friends who stay in different hotel across the street but hotel was the part of same franchise chain. Administrator Irina allowed us to eat breakfast at our friend's location.This way we had more time to spend together with our friends. We would recommend this hotel to anybody who travel to St.Petersburg and next our trip we going to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Alla,
Thank you for taking the time to share. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass your words of gratitude to Irina and Alexey. We thank you for choosing SKYHOTEL and will be happy to see you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Is it customary to be charged 200 rubles for "visa registering" when one checks in....employee did not provide receipt but instead gave official looking slip.
I had prepaid room on line.
On 3 day no visa excursion with St Peter Line ferries from Helsinki.

Otherwise good location, bathrooms clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to post your review. We wish you all the best and will be delighted to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

For a hostel I was really impressed with everything!!
Tv, wifi, communal kitchen, helpful and friendly receptionists. Comfy beds. Very safe- 2 entrances- one opens onto a 100m walk away from the hermitage without the crowds! (Closed from midnight and for the other a code is needed). Electronic key card for building and rooms.
Clean (I think I saw the cleaner most, if not every day!)
The only things that could be improved (and im being picky!) are ensure lockers have working keys in dorms, the strength of wifi in some rooms, more literature available for local attractions, for all receptionists to be as good as the best/lead ones as some didn't even say hello or goodbye (in any language!!) when coming and going.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrandon22482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#142 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#68 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#71 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#108 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 17, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Hotel is a new quiet mini-hotel in the historical center of St. Petersburg, the so-called "Golden triangle". There are: Nevsky prospect, Palace square, the Hermitage, Russian Museum - сlose to the hotel. Also, embankment of the Neva River , the Admiralty and Kazansky Cathedral are near. Leaving the hotel You are at one of the most beautiful and romantic streets of our city, where are located the world's most famous brands and Department store DLT. Nearby are many restaurants, bars and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing