We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finnnish hotel in SPB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Average hotel in SPB...location a little bad and also a little difficult to find if coming by own car but check it beforehand and look small signs on the road near hotel .
they have nice parking garage but expensive (in my opinion)...restaurant average but food was ok.Breakfast in the mornig average but also expensive...should be included.Rooms ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

Clean and smart with a combination of styles.
Room functional and modern. The staff were very helpful particularly the reception and bar manager who coped admirably with a crowded house filled with Shipping execs drinking whisky.
The restaurant was excellent at breakfast with a huge array of food. Dinner was mixed, service was average and when I ate possibly short-staffed with no greeter. Chicken Kiev was poor, dry and overcooked.
The female concierge was efficient and helpful. Order a cab to destination and return from her if possible. Some of the street taxis just make up a figure half the time. The fare can vary up to 300% for the same trip! Particularly bad are the taxis that punt for business outside the exhibition centre. If you have to get one from there check the rate and negotiate.
2 local restaurants I went to were Russian Kitsch, an unusual place but worth a visit. garish but stylish. Food good. The other was The Old School House, the food was better and more up market on presentation. Fresh seafood on display. The maitre de, ( owner ?) was quite a character and had the personal touch, and welcomed every diner at their table and even sang in the small stage cabaret. Not cheap but good value. Pictures of English royalty who had visited were displayed in the foyer.
Quite unusually there were ice-cubes in all the urinals. What's that all about?....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VASFOManager, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Mr.John!

Thank you for leaving your review about Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and sharing your unusual experience in the restraunts of our city! We bring our apologies that chicken in the restaurant wasn't good enough and for the average service during the dinner. We are doing our best in training the staff, so that all our guests feel personel touch. We hope, that if you stay with us next time you will see the difference. You are always welcomed back to stay with us during your next trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed in interconnecting rooms with my 3 children. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms and quiet location. We had free use of the swimming pool and saunas at Sokos Palace Bridge and my kids loved it. Staff was excellent and very helpful when making our reservations and throughout visa assistance. During our stay the service was impeccable. Only recommendation is do not use the taxis outside of the hotel. We were taken in the opposite direction of our destination.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were excellent. New and clean furnishings. Good amenities in standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VASFOManager, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback about Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and our service! We really try to improve it day by day and that's why it is pleasant to realise that you appreciate what we are doing! Your recommendation about the outside taxis is really useful for the other customers. We have our own concierge who can help you anytime to organize a transfer for you and offer other services.
It will be our pleasure if you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Spent one night in this hotel and liked it very much. Our double room was nicely decorated and everything was spotless. There was a small fridge in the room and a safe. Bathroom had a bathtub with a shower.

Our room was quiet, no noise from the street or other rooms. Breakfast was included with the price and there was plenty to choose from, even Russian champagne!

Staff was friendly and spoke English. They didn't even mind us sitting at the lounge area after the bar was closed.

Hotel is located near Neva river and Vasilievsky metro station is nearby. On foot it takes about 20-30 minutes to the Winter Palace down the river side.

I especially loved the decor and relaxed atmosphere here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VASFOManager, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Travelling Cat!

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay as Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky. We will be delighted to see you again in our hotel during your next trip to St-Petersburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a quick overnight stay for business. The room was a reasonable size, clean and well featured. The free wireless internet was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VASFOManager, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear AdventureLive!

It is very kind of you to leave review about Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky! We are very glad that you liked to stay in our hotel! We hope that next time you will have more days to experience our cozy atmosphere! We sincerely hope to see you again during your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Location: Conveniently located close to the metro and walking distance to some of the major tourist sites and a couple good restaurants.

Rooms: The rooms are typical for Russia / Europe. Quite small, but convenient. The beds were very comfortable, the heating system worked great, plenty of hot water, good water pressure, safe, iron/ironing board, two bottles of water, LCD TV with on demand and a few english speaking channels. Room service was timely and very thorough. Laundry service was timely, but expensive.

Restaurant: The breakfast was a standard fare buffet, with a small variety of items to choose. If I were staying for more than a week, it would have gotten kinda old, but for a few days, no problem. The attached pub was nice. OK selection of beer and the food was decent. Better to go to a really good restaurant, called Russkiy Kitch (25, Universitetskaya Naberezhnaya), which is very close (5 minute) walk from the hotel.

Concierge: Full service and knowledgeable concierge. My only complaint is the "Taxi" Service. I needed a taxi from the hotel to my office, which was only 1.5km away. It cost 550Rbls (~$17) for what amounted to a 3 minute taxi ride. And the driver was just some local guy with a crappy car. I'm sure the hotel makes a lot of money on this service alone.

Other than that, I would say that this was a great experience and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank homework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel was very comfortable, clean and relaxing. The reception staff went out of there way to assist us. The room was done very well and extremely comfortable. The hotel had a great area for breakfast (and large spread including some pancakes!), but also has several areas in hotel bar area where you can sit and relax. Location is good and near a lovely pedestrian street, but you do need to take the metro (which is on the pedestrian street) to get to any sites.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#28 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,578 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#38 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,072 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#36 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#42 of 362 in St. Petersburg
626 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#11 of 362 in St. Petersburg
685 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 362 in St. Petersburg
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £38 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing