We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finnish standard -young staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #25 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finnish standard -young staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spend 3 days at the Vasilievsky hotel. The hotel is very much like sokos hotels in Finland, clean, new and quite modern, but expensive. Beautiful room, must say, was quite small though, but had a bathtub. Our room was facing the other rooms (no courtyard), so it was a very quiet one. The hotel has one of the fastest elevators I've even been in.

The staff is very young and quite unexperienced -some of them had their first day at work. Spoke good English but the Russian style of working "takes time". Also the cleaners had forgotten to take out the caps on soaps and bring new bottles of water.

The location could be better, the drive to Nevski prospect gets to be expensive..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnishLady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback! Sokos Hotels is a chain that operates according to the set standards. By following our standards we can provide a nice and comfortable stay in any of our hotels.

We would like to excuse ourselves for any inconvenience that you may have experienced within your stay with us. It is a fact that we have quite a number of trainees and permanent new staff member starting with us all round the year. This may sometimes impact the consistency of our service level. Anyhow only by recruiting new and young potentials we may ensure our success and smooth operations in the long term. We have a systemic training program put in place and all our new staff members have to go through it in order to provide a professional and smooth service from the day one. Thank you for your understanding – we are trying our best to make your stay as easy and caring as possible.

Regards to the local of our hotel we would like to share a couple of helpful advice and ideas. Nevsky Prospekt is located approximately two kilometers from our hotel. There are very good public transportation options available in our city. Metro station is only seven minutes walk from our hotel and additionally the bus stop is only two minutes by foot. What is best is that the metro costs only 27 Rub and bus around 23 Rub one way. From this point of view it is not an expensive way relocate yourself for example to Nevsky Prospekt. Of course in case you would considers taking a taxi every time it would be somewhat more costly yet easy and convenient.

We would be more than happy to see you again in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    377
    95
    21
    6
See reviews for
149
344
69
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel in St. Petersburg was a lovely hotel, I loved the decor and our room was large and very comfortable. We also loved the Sauna, a beautiful clean and relaxing area. We ate there the 2 nights that we stayed, the food was second to none and as we hadn't any energy left for the night life it was lovely to eat and sit with a drink in the beautiful surroundings. The restaurant Manager Ivan and the waitress Natalia were exceptional. Extras which we didn’t pay for included a champagne Kir, extra desert and a music CD which I have yet to listen too. We would have liked if it had been more central but there was a frequent bus service very near.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandymountIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear guests,

It was such a pleasure to read you review of our hotel! Being the person in charge of the restaurant, it made me especially proud to hear about a good care Natalia and Ivan took of you. To make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable is more than just a job for us here. We are really about the hospitality :)
I really hope now you can recommend our hotel to your friends who are planning to visit St. Petersburg. I also hope you will have a chance to come back in the summet one day, when our city is totally different and after a long stroll in the city you will be able to enjoy a refreshing drink on our summer terrace!

Thank you for choosing us and for reviewing Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.
Have a great spring day,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for three nights. We had a standard room, which was nice, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is big chain hotel, so things work nicely, but there is no personal touch. Sometimes that can be a good thing :-). The staff was very friendly and helpful, ready to suggest nice restaurants etc. The breakfast was good and the bar had nice atmosphere. The location is not that good, though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EL681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Mrs. E. R.

I would like to thank you for your kind feeback regarding your stay with us in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky. I am happy to hear you have found our hotel and it's service nice and up to the standards.

On the other hand I am sorry to hear you did not feel the personal touch this time. Serving and meeting guests as individuals and bringing our own personality into our service are extremely important for us. We believe the personal touch you described is exactly the very one thing to distinct us from the other hotels. This is something we will definitely be working on now and in the future.

Hope to see you again with us and promise to do our best to surprise you positively next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Really good hotel. Superior service and rooms! Really nothing to complain. If u r an party animal the birdges might disturb...but only at summer season. For business, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maheesmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Mr. Matti,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

Hope to see you and your family back again with us soon in St. Petersburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We got our trip through a package on the st Peters ferry lines from Helsinki ( Great package value when you travel here this way).
The staff were very helpful for everything we requested.
We tried out the new Russian dinner menu, and with 2 starters, 1 soup, 2 main dishes, and 1 desert, this was a perfect set dinner to share for two. For the value... At a total cost of around 80€ with all the drinks we wanted... It seemed a good deal. Must admit, we got 20% off the food because the menu is new, and for a Valentines day gift they through in a free jazz CD.
The service was good, if a bit too fast, when enjoying every bite of your meal.
In the hotel we had a standard room, which was quite nice.
The breakfast for us was included and very nice.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoFoLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear lovely couple,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important for us to get honest and direct feedback to make our hotel a better place to stay day by day. I have shared your comments with the whole team of Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and from all of us I can just say: "Thank you. We are proud and happy that you had a nice stay with us!" I am glad you like "From Russia with Love" selection on the menu of Repin Lounge restaurant :) Also, I apologize for the service to be "too fast". I hope the sounds of Russian lounge and jazz on that CD will remind you of our hotel and St. Petersburg.
Hope to see you again here. Next time you should come in the summer, when we have a terrace outside the hotel, where you can chill after a stroll in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very nice, quiet and clean. Good service, good food in the restaurant. Marinated salmon and herring available for breakfast, very finnish stuff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Kjarro,

Thank you so much for your feedback! The whole Vasilievsky team is happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in a complete manner. At Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky we try to provide as easy and caring experience to our guets as possible. It sounds like you have met the true spirit of our hospitality that is all about relaxed people and contemporary atmosphere as well as products. In a few days, on next Tuesday, we will be launching a new refreshed American-Italian menu in our Repin Lounge restaurant. We wish you will find your way back to us again and get to try our new menu as well. Hope to see you soon again in St. Petersburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at hotel in December 30 - January 1 and even got a small present from the hotel for New Year! The staff was very friendly, the room was a bit small however we loved it! We could choose any floor and the view from the window, on January 1st hotel had a late check out for all guests. Surprisingly the food in the hotel was very tasty! They also have a taxi service and are always glad to help!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dash_ka_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Dashka,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are truly delighted to hear you have enjoyed your New Year celebration at Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky. We do however apologize for the slight lack of space in your room. Next time I would like to recommend you book one of our stylish Mansard rooms or luxorious Suites which are more spacious than than other rooms. We would be more than happy to advice you on the topic as soon as you will be going for your next booking.

Thank you so much for you restaurant feedback! Food and restaurant services in particular are extremely important for us. In fact we have been on top of the whole hotel chain in several customer surveys. Also I would like to remind you that we are constantly developing and renewing our menus and products in order to keep you, our dear guests, positively surprised even more often!

Hope to see you with us again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#41 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#48 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#58 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Address: 8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing