We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #28 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I had the luck and pleasure to stay at this hotel for 3 nights in august and it was a very pleasant experience.
Location- the hotel is relatively close from the main points,15-20 min walk to Hermitage along the Neva river,which is a real joy if the weather is good.
Quite large rooms,very clean,sleep quality -excellent!!; bath with soap and shampoo(only),all the things that one is used to find in the bathroom of a 4 star hotel could be bought from the reception,this is a (very small) negative point,but it really didn't bother me at all since all the other things were irreprochable in the room.
Nice decorated lobby and bar,very pleasant place to stay for a cup of coffee or glass of wine.
Very nice staff at the reception and concierge,extremely helpful and polite,I say "Hi" to all of them!
Nice and clean sauna,very comfortable relaxation room,we would have enjoyed it more if we had had more time! Very recommandable! Pay attention to the schedule of the sauna,women have more hours assignated than men :-) - I would like to rememeber the timetable,but I don't.
Just to mention,when we arrived there,we were asked by the girls from the reception if we wanted street view for both our rooms,we said “yes, please”,but both our rooms were inner court view :-). From the same “movie”,we asked to get two rooms close one from another,we were assured that was exactly what we got and…or rooms were as far as possible :-)
The strongest point of this hotel is,from my point of view,the Repin restaurant,I have to mention that even we had come to StPt very informed about places to eat, we came "home" every night for our restaurant and the fabulous stroganoff(best ever!),Kievskaya chicken,the "borsch" and so much more.Natalia is the pearl of the crown,very nice,speaking extremely good English,I would go back there just for her and the restaurant :-). Hi,Natalia! The only thing that I would change at the restaurantb is the local red wine,being there we wanted to try only local products,which were all excelent(food,vodka,champaigne-well,sparkling wine better said),but the wine-well,no.No and no.
Pub of the hotel-also nice,good food,good prices,very friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast-I don't think that one can ask for more.Cold and hot meal,fresh vegetables and fruits,fresh salmon,even sparkling wine,local sweets,big choice of cheese and ham, traditional and also russian tea and so much more.
As a conclusion,I would recommand this hotel for good rooms,good restaurant,helpful staff,without any doubt.
One more thing I need to mention:problems at the airport made our airplane land at another terminal and we were taken to the domestic flights offices,along with the russians, for the formalities.This made the meeting that we had with the driver of the hotel impossible(we had asked for the car of the hotel to pick us up),so we were forced to take a taxi. Nevertheless,the management of the hotel took responsability for this and a a compensation,they took us to the airport when we left.Thanks again for being helpful and fair!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest

our whole team in Vasilievsky is more than delighted to receive your lovely feedback! It seems that we have not succeeded with everything during your stay but the open and warm hospitality of our team has won all the hardships and made you feel like home. This is exactly what we are aiming to everyday - make your stay comfortable, caring and easy!

Regards to your comments on our restaurant we are honored say that our food and especially the local specialties are high appreciated by not only the international but also by the local audience. I have sent your greetings to our executive chef Denis Klimontov who is in lead of preparing our simply delicious dishes. In addition i am happy to inform that Natalya, my friendly known as "Natasha" had been given a beautiful set of red roses to thank her for the excellent service she has provided you with.

We truly hope you will find your way back to us another time. Welcome back to St. Petersburg any time!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

I've done a lot of travel over the years but this really must be the best hotel I have ever stayed at.
"Very" comfortable beds with huge pillows, rooms are clean, well maintained and good decorative designs. Breakfast is excellent, a big choice ranging from hot, cold and sweet and sparkling wine for your morning bucks fizz. The Repin restaurant in the hotel is very good too, a good menu selection so good we ate there every night, as well as good food they had the best chocolate cake I'd ever eaten. Staff in the hotel particulary in the restaurant arevery friendly and polite indeed, they work very hard hard but always maintain a smile.
Attached to the hotel is a British style pub "8th Line" which also attracts locals, once again great service, very good value and a decent glass of wine which is rare in Russia and shows live sports too.
Location just a 15 minute walk across the bridge from the centre of St Petersburg, always felt safe and un-threatened, and despite some scary stories I'd read prior to my visit saw nothing that would warrant such claims.
Possibly the best hotel I've stayed

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest

this is possibly the best feedback we have ever received! We are more than happy to hear you have found our hotel with all it's staff and service to be of an excellent level. For us it is an honor to take care of our every guest as good as we ever can. I could not agree with you more on your comments regarding to our extremely cozy rooms and especially with the amazing food you serve in our restaurant. You can be sure i have sent your greeting to the whole Vasilievsky team and we have celebrated together for making your stay such a pleasant experience. St. Petersburg is definitely a place worth visiting and there are hardly any threats or dangers around the corner nowadays. As an international individual i dare to state that St. Petersburg is by far the most cozy and safe more than 5 million inhabitant city.

The whole Vasilievsky team is hoping to see you with us again in the future - welcome back to St. Petersburg!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in the Sokos Vasilievsky for 3 nights in October 2012. It is on the Island called Vasilisevsky and therefore not in the center of town but do not let it bother you: it is a 20 minutes walk away from the Hermitage (or a short busride of one single stop). It is also 20 min to walk to the Marinsky theatre. One street away is a pedestrian area with lots of shops and restaurant and the area seems to be safer at night than around the Nevsky street. Do make sure that you do not get stranded on the wrong side of the bridge at 3 in the morning though if you intend to have your nightlife on the center of town.
The rooms are relatively big and very comfortable. Everything is kept very very clean and although we did not always put the towels on the floor to be washed, they always were. There is free WIFI and it worked well. There is an ironing board in the room and every day we got two bottles of water. The rooms are very quiet and the only bad thing that could be said about the room is that there are no toilett accessories except a soap that smells lovely. You can buy accessories though for 50 rubal each.
The staff is very nice and are always ready to help you out with whatever strange requests you might have. We never had dinner (wanting to try the restaurants instead) but the breakfast was very pleasant and the choice of food was excellent going from Russian specialities and tee from a samovar to sausage and eggs and tea in a tea bag. Add to this dark bread, the best butter I have ever had, vegetables, fruits and porridge.
The hotel is , in short, warmly recommended.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all rooms are equally good but it might be more quiet in the back (but then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for warmly recommending our hotel to the fellow travelers. It seems that we have done our job fairly well. Of course there is always space for development and i can assure you we will do everything we can to make your next stay even more remarkable than the first one.

Regards to the bathroom amenities we are happy to hear you have found our soap pleasant. Regarding to the other amenities we are happy to tell you that the full set of good quality toiletries are available in our higher room categories for no extra charge. For your next visit we recommend to upgrade your room into a superior, stylish Mansard room or even into a suite with the most spacious and cozy interior. In addition i am happy to inform you that we are currently planning on upgrading our rooms to be of an even highly standard with all the possible commodities you might ever need. More info on this topic will be announced later during the spring 2013.

Hope to see you back with us in no time!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Sokos Hotel was a very pleasant surprise for our first visit to St Petersburg. Whilst located on the island of Vasillevsky it is still within an easy walk to The Hermitage. The staff were fantastic particularly Elena on Concierge. The rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was informal with an excellent menu. All four of us really rated the Hotel so absolutely NO hesitation in recommending it for a very relaxed stay.

Well done Sokos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLewisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Peter Lewis Surrey!

Thank you so much for choosing Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky during your visit to St-Petersburg! Your review is the best award for us, it is really great to hear that everything we do is so highly appreciated by you and is recommended with NO hesitation! We promise to keep the level and hope that you will come back to us someday!

WIth best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights this september.The rooms are a good size with good amenities and the beds were very comfortable.The first night we werent feeling very adventurous so we thought we would eat in the hotel restaurant.We were pleasantly surprised,the staff were pleasant and the food and the service was very good.Plus they have an english style pub adjacent to the restaurant which we went to afterwards to round off a good first night.
We decided to eat and drink in the hotel in the evenings for the remainder of our stay and we were never dissappointed.The staff were always very friendly and the food was very good.
There is a good selection of food at breakfast also.
The only negative point is that we had 3 whole days there and on the second day we went out sightseeing about 10 am and came back just after 3pm to find the room hadnt been serviced.So we decided to give it a bit longer and went downstairs for a few drinks.we came back about 4.15 pm and it still hadnt been done so we stayed in the room and at 5.05 pm there was a knock on the door and the maid wanting to do the room.This was far to late so we told her to leave it.It was a bit annoying especially as we had been out most of the day.There was no problem the next day and but for this one incident it would have been the perfect stay.
If you are going to saint petersburg I would recomend this hotel most highly.Its about a 20 minute walk to the centre but you get great views on the walk over the bridge plus there are things to see on this side of the river also.If you have time have a walk round the local area.Its not as geared towards tourism as the centre so gives you a different perspective on this fine city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Padsmcginty!

We really appreciate to get your review about our hotel! It is very important for us to get your evaluation and understand our weak and strong points. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Our executive chef does his best to make an impression and as we hope he succeded in this. We always train our staff to provide the best service and we happy that you felt this.
I would like to bring my sincere apologies for the fact that your room wasn't cleaned on one day. We have a rule in our hotel to clean all staying rooms until 6p.m. I will take it into consideration and we will try to find the right solution for this issue.
It will be a great pleasure for us if you will choose our hotel again next time!

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I spend 3 very nice nights at this hotel. The standard room is nice, very clean and I really loved the bed because had soft mattress and pillows. Another thing I loved about the room that it did not have a carpet, just wooden floor. I consider hotel carpets very unsanitary and smelly. The rooms have no amenities - a big minus for a 4 * Hotel(if you want you can buy them from the reception -) only dispensers with soap and shampoo. I appreciated the staff very much. The are very friendly, knows good English and very polite. I also appreciated the concierge. The Pub is nice, and the restaurant Rapin is good! Also the breakfast is plenty and varied. The hotel has good free WIFI everywhere( as all restaurants and cafés in St. Petersburg have).
The location of the hotel is good, on the Vasilievsky island near Neva river and the city center. 20 min walk to Hermitage, Palace Square etc.
Notice: The bridges opens after midnight for navigation and if you have a night out in the city center, or have an early flight inquire early about the program of the bridges, if don't want to be stranded on the island or lose the flight.
About taxis: When you arrive at Pulkovo Airport you will find taxi stands in the interior. Go there, ask for a taxi and you will receive an invoice with the cost of the taxi from the airport to the address you want). From the airport to Sokos its about 1000 rubles = 35 USD. They only receive rubles. There is an Exchange office in the airport ( In September 2012 1 usd = aprox.30 rubles).
In conclusion I recommend this hotel for it's cleanliness, staff and very nice restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Alexaci!

We would like to thank you for choosing Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky during your stay in St-Petersburg! Your feedback is very important for us as we can see how we met your expectation. And we happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and hotel facilities. I am really sorry for the fact that dissapointed you about missing bathroom amenities. Unfortunately, we do not provide them for the standard room. But we will take this in consideration and we will try to find the solution for this issue.
You are always welcome to Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

WIth best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. We have seen better ones in Russia, but it is not bad. The service in the bar is very good, and the restaurant is better than average for Russion standards.
The beds are far too soft to my taste and they also give the sensation that they are higher in the center than on the outside.
All in all, an average hotel but more inclining to the positive side of the balance than to the negative.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adolf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton V, FO Service Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding time to write a review about our hotel.

Thank you for the high appreciation of our staff and the quality of the restaurant.
It's a pity that you didn't appreciate our beds. Lots of our guests found it very comfortable. But anyways thank you for your candid comment. Hope to see you again in our Sokos Hotel chain.

Best regards,
Anton Volodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#31 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,514 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#48 of 359 in St. Petersburg
614 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#45 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 359 in St. Petersburg
677 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 359 in St. Petersburg
920 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 359 in St. Petersburg
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £40 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing