We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in the centre of St. Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #27 of 354 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money in the centre of St. Petersburg”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was fully satisfied with my recent stay. Great room, very nice interior. Pleasant staff. Great location. Your are close to the Winter Palace on the cosy Vasilievsky Island. You can work from your room and enjoy the benefits of restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and fitness.

Great for tourists and recommended for the business traveller who wants value for money, proximity to the centre of the city - you can easily access your business meetings and you can also conduct them at the hotel. Also fine opportunities for workshops for clients. And you can get the staffs assistance if you need to entertain clients at good restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mr. Sorensen,

Thank you for finding some time to share your thoughts of our hotel with the travelling community of TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you are pleased with Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and with what it has to offer. I personally also think it is a good option for both business and leisure travellers taking in consideration the location and the facilities we have.

Thank you once again for your kind words and recommendation.

Welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    406
    113
    21
    6
See reviews for
167
372
74
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Although it is located on the "other side" of the river from the historical centre, the Vasilievsky island is definitely worth staying on its own. It has some great bars, restaurants and shops with less tourist crowds than in the historical centre. Metro station is close by the hotel, and if weather permits, visiting for example The Hermitage by foot provides a beautiful scenic walk across the river. Breakfast is exceptionally good, mixing continental and local tastes. Sparkling wine included! You will most likely want to skip lunch after having your breakfast here. The rooms are personal and very comfortable, and there is a British pub serving international beers, showing football matches and serving great night food. Club sandwich highly recommended! All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko_Sari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mikko_Sari,

Thank you for remembering Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky after returning home and sharing your thoughts about us with the fellow travelers from around the world.

I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the hotel. What I like especially that you have mentioned the breakfast to be a "great" one. We know how important the breakfast for our hotel guests, so I am happy to announce that we have even a better one now: we surely kept sparkling there and also now we have coffee and tea service at the table and one may even choose between a darker and lighter roast of coffee there. we have also added some homemade items to the buffet to add a more home-like feeling to it. It is also nice to know that you have enjoyed the pub, where our beer selection is constantly expanded and upgraded, so once you are back, there surely will be more pints to taste!

Looking forward to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Vaunted as the Swedish Ambassador's former residence, the hotel, at first glance, does not exude any exterior elegance nor glamour, but once past the undistinguished lobby, one can still (if one looks hard enough) find few vestiges of its gloried past...i.e. a life-like patinated statue of a young half-naked woman lurking in a corner of the restaurant.

The room we got was clean and big enough, although we expected more since we paid extra (upon arrival and on top of what we had already paid the travel agency!) for a supposedly superior room with large windows and a better view than rooftops; at hindsight I should have complained but there never seemed to be any time to do so, what with a travel guide who was always on the go go go!

The hotel IS rather far from the centre - one had to literally walk miles to get a nice, decent meal, and I mean - no McDo; no KFC, no sushi bars etc.

At tour's end, we greatly appreciated the cool and calm atmosphere of the various den-like 'rooms' off the lobby with their comfortable sofas and inviting books where we could enjoy after-dinner cocktails and conversation, far away from the all too-noisy bar with its throbbing music. But regrettably on our last evening, all this calm was shattered when a meal for visiting rock group 'dignitaries' was prepared inside the room (why couldn't they have been served in the regular restaurant?) who promptly and noisily peppered their very loud conversation with four-letter words§

And oh yes, since this is a hotel geared for tours, expect traffic jams at breakfast and in front of the lifts! Once we had to take the stairs since the lifts were stuck and wouldn't budge!

Room Tip: Leave your suitcases in the lobby and inspect the room assigned to you ESP. if you are asked to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EloZ523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear FloZ523,

Thank you for finding some time to share your experience of staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

I appreciate your feedback and will pay attention for the areas, which, in your opinion need improvements.

Our location is mentioned to be a nice one by the majority of the guests and the restaurants in the area are plentiful in both style and number (Russain traditional food, grill restaurants, Italian cuisine, etc.).

We do have often some celebrities staying at the hotel, so may not talk about the particular rock band you have mentioned, in my interaction with them they all were nice and polite people, despite the fact, that, yes, the vocabulary they use might be a bit rough for some people's ears. Please, accept my apologies for that. Also, as you mentioned, you have liked that lounge area and so did the band and they asked us, if they could have a dinner there, so I do not see any reason, why we should have turned them down.

Thank you once again for the review and I will be happy to see you again at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is situated on the vasilievsky island which is far from the centre. However the rooms and very spacious. I was also surprised by the hospitality. We were allowed an early check-in at around 10 am. But it gets a little difficult to commute from the hotel to the main attractions specially at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isha9339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Isha9339!

We appreciate that you found some time and left your review about Solo Sokos Hotels Vasilievsky!
We are sorry that you found our location not very comfortable for you although we think that it is really the nicest view when you walk along the embankment, the Isaak's Cathedral is just few minutes walk, the bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel and there is enough transportation which you can use to get to the city center.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team - we pay so much attention to this and we train our staff on daily basis.

Maybe someday you will come back to our lovely city and will stay with us again!

You are always welcome!

With best regards,

Chirkova Evgenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The good: clean attractive rooms. A ten minute walk will put you on the Metro one stop from Nevsky Prospect. If you are willing to walk a little longer you can get to the heart of the city by foot. The pedestrian mall to the metro has a number of attractive options for eating and shopping. The concierge is knowledgeable and very helpful. Two bottles of water each day is a nice touch as we were advised to not drink the tap water in St. Petersburg.
The 'just ok" includes the breakfast buffet. Acceptable, but many hotels have much better.
The poor? The heating system in our room did not respond to the thermostat and it was VERY hot. A housekeeper responded promptly to our call to the front desk.... but she had no idea how to deal with the problem... ultimately resolved by ignoring the prohibition on opening windows (at the cost of substantial road noise).
A note on your departure: If you leave by a crack of dawn flight,you will have to leave the hotel VERY early in the morning as the bridges over the Neva are raised in the early morning hours leaving the hotel isolated from the rest of the city. Some of our party had to be up at 1:30 AM to ensure they made their flight. Keep this in mind when you schedule your departure.
We'd be willing to stay here again, but at the same time our experience leaves us willing to consider alternatives. The "Average" rating is my assessment of how this hotel bats against others in its class. Against the full spectrum of hotels it would rate four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Vandal72,

First of all thank you for staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and also for finding some time to share your experience with TripAdvisor travelers community.

I am happy to hear that you have liked many aspects of our hotel: the rooms, the location, and most important the helpfulness of our staff! We know that it is generally recommended not to drink tap water in Russia, still our filtration system is at such a good level, that basically you could drink it, but...no need to test your body, as we daily replacing bottled water in all rooms.
Our breakfast does not have the biggest variety in St. Petersburg, however, at Solo hotels we put quality over the quantity. Many of our breakfast items are homemade and of a top class.
Please, accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have faced in regards to the temperature in your room. I am investigating the issue now with our maintenance to make sure you will not face the problem once coming back to stay with us (and neither will the other guests).
As for you hint on the early flights: yes, those bridges is a one of a key attractions of St. Petersburg actually; however, one should also keep in mind that the navigation period (the period when the bridges going up and down in the night) lasts from April/May till November. During the rest of the months there is no issue with the bridges whatsoever.
I am very happy to know that you are willing to stay with us again and would like to insure that next time you will have a more pleasurable experience. If you have any other comments or issues you would like to share with me personally, please, feel free to contact me at dmitry.melnikov@shotels.ru
Thank you once again for your kind words and the feedback and welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was one of the best I have stayed in. It was not the usual business hotel - very much the same as all the rest - it was individual. The staff were very polite and very helpful; the Guest Relations Manager, Natalia, in particular. The food was very plentiful and of great variety. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear MaryT7,

First of all let me thank you for staying with us at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for finding some time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I am so proud and happy to read your review and to hear the compliments towards our team! I will make sure to forward your words to all the staff and to Natalia, our guest relations manager in particular.

Thank you once again for you kind words and hope to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for four nights in August and would definitely recommend this hotel. Didn't get off to a good start though as we had ordered a taxi from the airport for six people and unfortunately they only sent an ordinary car. Three of our party went in it and did not enjoy the journey as the driver was constantly using his phone and then suddenly swerved off the road into a garage to check the air in his tyres! Another taxi came fairly promptly to the airport to collect the rest of us. Had lunch in the hotel when we arrived and it was very good. Our rooms were very pleasant and spotlessly clean and we were left bottled water each day. The selection at breakfast was very good and it was interesting to see a small variety of traditional Russian food. My husband who can eat most things just could not manage to eat a little pastry filled with cabbage! The porridge was excellent! The breakfast area was always very busy as there seemed to be a lot of tour groups but we did not find this a problem. The reception areas and various lounges were nicely decorated and felt welcoming. We found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful. One of them recommended a good restaurant just round the corner from the hotel which we actually went to twice as we had been out sightseeing all day and didn't want to walk too far. Hotel is in a good location convenient to most of the sights. We had to leave early on our last day and the hotel provided a packed breakfast which was a bit disappointing considering what we had experienced the previous days. The sandwiches were just two pieces of white bread with a couple of slices of ham and cheese and no butter - not very appetising. Our experience with the taxi this time was much better - a six seater and it was also great to see the city early in the morning before it was bright as all the buildings were lit up and it looked amazing. Overall I would recommend this hotel as it provided a great base for our short but very enjoyable visit to St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gil1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Gil1956,

Thank you so much for leaving such a constructive feedback about your staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky. Unfortunately, your transportation wasn't organized by our concierge service, but I'm sorry to hear that you were not met properly. It is great that you liked our breakfast and variety of products we have - even now we changed it and have even more products available. One of the most important things for us is that you enjoyed the service - we train our staff on daily basis and they really care about you and your comfort during the stay.

Hopefully, you will have a chance to visit Saint-Petersburg again and you'll remember that you have a place where you're always welcomed!

With best regards,

Chirkova Evgenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#35 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,401 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#55 of 354 in St. Petersburg
963 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#53 of 354 in St. Petersburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 354 in St. Petersburg
652 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 354 in St. Petersburg
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing