We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #28 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here as part of a COSMOS tour group.
Lovely hotel inside.
Room spacious and very nice.
Bathroom adequate and quite new.
Food was very nice - breakfast hot food could have a little more variety but overall very good options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Josie W,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your opinion about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

I am happy to know that your were delighted by the hotel and the services we provide here in St. Petersburg. Also, thank you for your feedback about the breakfast - I will consider the possibility to have more hot options on the buffer. Actually we have already decided with our newly appointed Executive Chef to have two porridge options and more changes are coming.

Have a lovely Christmas season and always welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lovely hotel, great location and wonderful hospitality. In particular the lovely guest relations lady Natalia was so welcoming and spoke perfect English and even though it was quite humbling not being able to speak any Russian everyone was so helpful. Very comfortable rooms and divine feather pillows - 3 each !! Russian champagne in the smoking area ,library with antique books etc ( not necessarily everyone's essential but fellow smokers would appreciate this ) and champagne was still flowing at 5.30 am. We ate twice in the hotel and the food was perfect. Overall experience was unfaultable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SELINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Selina C,

Thank you for staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for finding some time to share your experience with the fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and its services to be nice and "unfaultable". I will make sure to reward Natalia, our Guest Relations Manager in some way for a great work. What I praise the most in her is her sincere and natural desire to help our guests and to delight them.

Thank you once again for your kind words and welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

stayed at this hotel for 5 hours just to short sleep. Silent, nice and clean, next time I will come with family. It is a good hotel for children too. I was just surprised, that they asked me to pay 200 RUB for registration, last two years in Russia I never heard about this. I refused because, they have to inform about payments before and better is put this fee to the price ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdiver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Jdiver72,

Thank you for staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for writing this review.

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and everything went smooth. As for the registration fee, I know that some hotels "hide" the fee in the room rate, but some make it a separate payment. It is not that we are trying to squeeze every penny out of our guests, but we have to pay for every guest for registering a foreign person in Russia (with exception for some countries, most of foreigners have to be registered in Russia within 24 hours upon crossing the border, and unfortunately, if you are moving from one city to another you also have to make a new registration at a new place (hotel, B&B, etc.)). I personally would love to see this rule to be changed, but...

Anyhow, thank you very much for your kind words and welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend and for the first time in Russia. The hotel is nice and silent, the rooms have a nice modern decor and the front staff is great. It has good security and a box at the Mikhailowsky theater, if you want to see ballet. Even the streets of Petersburg are more safe than New York, Chicago or Barcelona, so I would even invite my grandmother to this hotel and city. It lays a kilometers walk from the Heremitage and it's a bit out side the touristcal area. The good thing about that is that there are several small grocery shops and local restaurants arround and if you fancy a beer, bars aren't that far away either. But the prices of the hotel restaurant are good as well and the place it self is quite cosy. Only the breakfast restaurant is of Norther European standard (read slow), there is no coffee mashine and I had to wait 10 minutes the first day and the 2nd day 30 minutes before I did see a waiter, so that I could get a cup... If breakfast is not included in the room, the price was 850 rubels, a price absolutley fair!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woaqzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Woaqzo,

Thank you for choosing Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for finding some time to write this review.

I am glad to hear you have liked the hotel and you discovered Russia and St. Petersburg beyond thaty stereotype "corrupted cold country". Yes, we have much more interesting things to dig :) I am especially happy to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast and worth the money spent (we also think so here).

Will be happy to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sokos Vasilievsky from September 14-18, 2013.
We enjoyed the Vasilievsky location even though it required taxis more often. However, upon arrival, our taxi driver dropped us off at the 5 star Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, not the Hotel Sokos Vasilievsky, which is considerably nicer.

Our initial encounter with the staff at the wrong hotel (Hotel Sokos Palace Bridge) was terrific and they were very eager to resolve our temporary plight.

Our experience at Hotel Sokos Vasilievsky bore no resemblance to Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge. At Sokos Hotel Vasilievesky, the reception staff was very stiff to the point of being almost robotic and seemingly uncomfortable with answering questions and/or fulfilling the simplest of requests. On the other hand, the wait staff in the restaurant area and the bar were most accommodating and hospitable.

The rooms are acceptable, but not well cleaned (unexpectedly confirmed by the need to move a piece of furniture), and the hallways (we were on the third floor) were extremely dark and unappealing. It's doubtful that the carpet had been thoroughly cleaned in the hallways for quite some time.

Our rating is generous until they refurbish the property and keep it well cleaned. The facts speak for themselves. If you choose to stay on Vasilievsky, select Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge without hesitation, and not Hotel Sokos Vasilievsky .

Side note...we arrived by train in St. Petersburg, and experienced the frequent taxi driver greeting of being significantly overcharged for our fare from the train station to the hotel. So, if you are new to Russia (and several other destinations), we would recommend always calling your hotel to get a general idea of the taxi fare from your point of arrival and negotiate the price in advance with the taxi driver. Also, for outbound taxis from your hotel, ask the hotel to order the taxi and confirm the price.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bjwdrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Bjwdrw,

Thank you staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for posting this review.

I appreciate your comments and will pay more attention to the details mentioned.

Welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and I am sure that time you will have a more pleasurable stay than this one.

With kind regards,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was fully satisfied with my recent stay. Great room, very nice interior. Pleasant staff. Great location. Your are close to the Winter Palace on the cosy Vasilievsky Island. You can work from your room and enjoy the benefits of restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and fitness.

Great for tourists and recommended for the business traveller who wants value for money, proximity to the centre of the city - you can easily access your business meetings and you can also conduct them at the hotel. Also fine opportunities for workshops for clients. And you can get the staffs assistance if you need to entertain clients at good restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Mr. Sorensen,

Thank you for finding some time to share your thoughts of our hotel with the travelling community of TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you are pleased with Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and with what it has to offer. I personally also think it is a good option for both business and leisure travellers taking in consideration the location and the facilities we have.

Thank you once again for your kind words and recommendation.

Welcome back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Although it is located on the "other side" of the river from the historical centre, the Vasilievsky island is definitely worth staying on its own. It has some great bars, restaurants and shops with less tourist crowds than in the historical centre. Metro station is close by the hotel, and if weather permits, visiting for example The Hermitage by foot provides a beautiful scenic walk across the river. Breakfast is exceptionally good, mixing continental and local tastes. Sparkling wine included! You will most likely want to skip lunch after having your breakfast here. The rooms are personal and very comfortable, and there is a British pub serving international beers, showing football matches and serving great night food. Club sandwich highly recommended! All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko_Sari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Mikko_Sari,

Thank you for remembering Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky after returning home and sharing your thoughts about us with the fellow travelers from around the world.

I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the hotel. What I like especially that you have mentioned the breakfast to be a "great" one. We know how important the breakfast for our hotel guests, so I am happy to announce that we have even a better one now: we surely kept sparkling there and also now we have coffee and tea service at the table and one may even choose between a darker and lighter roast of coffee there. we have also added some homemade items to the buffet to add a more home-like feeling to it. It is also nice to know that you have enjoyed the pub, where our beer selection is constantly expanded and upgraded, so once you are back, there surely will be more pints to taste!

Looking forward to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#31 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,514 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#48 of 359 in St. Petersburg
614 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#45 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 359 in St. Petersburg
677 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 359 in St. Petersburg
920 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 359 in St. Petersburg
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Address: 8 line of Vasilyevskiy Island, 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £40 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing